Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Subway Tycoon

by metjm - Jam Entry

The streets are clogged (not depicted) and all kinds of transports in our beautiful city have come to a halt.

Grasp the opportunity to undermine the city with a subway net to deliver the wares and make your first million dollars!

Controls:
F1: show help screen
Left Shift + Mouse Wheel: scroll through layers
Tab: overview mode
Escape: abort
Mouse Wheel: zoom
Middle Mouse Button + Drag: change camera angle
Right Mouse Button + Drag: move camera



This game was created by a team of 4 people with varying levels of programming knowledge (and with equally poor artistic skills) and probably too little preparation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#63Theme(Jam)3.84
#145Overall(Jam)3.57
#187Fun(Jam)3.31
#216Innovation(Jam)3.35
#530Mood(Jam)2.79
#562Humor(Jam)2.09
#654Graphics(Jam)2.55
#668Audio(Jam)1.50

Comments

eowindil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:47am

Great work working on this simulation !
A good gameplay, quite intuitive and no bug (so far).

But no sound and really poor graphics

Good work !

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Wow, i see a lot of work on it. With better graphics could have been a blast :)

DazKins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Just tabbed out for a second to comment because I'm having so much fun with this :D. Ok, the graphics aren't great and there are no sounds but the rest is great. Awesome simulation and awesome idea, well done!

soulrot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53pm

While I appreciate the quality of the application, I wouldn't say it is all that much of a game. I did enjoy my time in the game and the building system works rather well and intuitive, but in the end the gameplay is not very challenging at all. You place a few tubes and you wait (or place more tubes). Still, nice work! :)

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

It's a good base to start a great sim game. Congrats.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Seems cool, but I wasn't able to scroll through layers :(

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Ah, finally, a game about subways! It's nice seeing an approach of the theme that isn't underwater/mining.
Lots of work here, congratulation for your work.

igwb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

As stated before, controls are good and intuitive. I had no trouble getting into the game at all. Except for placing stations, I would like to be able to stay in station-place mode without the game switching it back to select. Also it seems that I can't place stations on shops very close to each other. Also I was able to place stations under any building when beeing in the underground view.

Besides that, the game suffers from something all simulator/tycoon games do: It get's repetative very quickly.

I would like to see more rail types and a way to create more complex routes. Also it is currently not profitable at all to connect shops that are far way from each other, even if there are no shorter connections to satisfy the demads. So a supply/demand calculation might be apropriate to determine your revenue.

+1 for the idea of an undergound transportation network. Very unconventional, therefor entertaining.

I'd love to see a post-compo version.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Very Nice implementation and cool idea. Unfortunately no sound, but the rest of the game is very solid.

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Great game! made my first million quite fast, really impressed how you got this so far, I have had similar game in my plans for a long time but never got it even near this quality!

CapsE says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Nice game. It's missing a target though. For a good simulation there are also needed more features but for a gamejam game this is pretty impressive.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29pm

nice one! worked like a charm and i had fun getting more and more income (- :

looking forward to your next game

neosam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Yes! Got the 1.000.000 $ :). Nice Game!

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Smooth gameplay. The graphics are quite poor.
The game is quite easy, there's really no way to lose.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:32pm

It was a bit complicated for me, but a good simulator nonetheless ;)

Wukkopi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I really like this kind of games and this one wasn't an exception. When I got the hang of the controls, I enjoyed this game very much. Planning tubes and making them go over and under. Wasn't that hard to reach million, but anyway this is for now the best entry I've played.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Very good basis to a sim-game, graphic could do a little bit of touching up but honestly for this to come out of an LD is really impressive. Good job!

hadesfury says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Keep on !

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I liked your game! Although getting $1.000.000 was not that hard, it felt good to go from roughly $2.000 left to $300.000 in a matter of minutes. I only used the first undergound layer though.
Some audio could have been nice, for example when confirming a station or railtrack. Also, some keybaord shortcut for building rails/station would have been useful, as those actions are often chained.
Other than that, great entry, congrats!

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Cool game, i like it! With a designer could be awesome

StoneMasters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Very brave to take on such a game project in such short time. Accomplished large parts of it also, that are working very well. GJ

CrackedP0t says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:51am

I got an error when running run.sh:
./bin/LD29: error while loading shared libraries: libjpeg.so.62: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
But I ran "apt-get install libjpeg62" so it's fine.

CluelessGames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:22am

Very good job for a game jam reminded me a lot of OpenTTD. well done on the great game.

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:00pm

interesting idea! very difficult to place stations on the right tile without centering the screen though, due to perspective

May 3, 2014 @ 7:00pm

What about laptops that don't have scroll wheels... I can't play.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Found out how to place stations with a laptop, How do you place rails?

metjm says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Thanks for all the encouraging comments, everybody! We are currently refactoring and polishing the code as well as the game itself and hope to reach a sweet post-compo version in the near future!

@yourlittlehelper: Playing properly (i.e. reaching the underground levels with the mouse wheel to place rails there) is currently not possible without the mouse wheel, that was an oversight we will fix in the post-compo version. Thanks for your report and understanding.
To place rails, first select the rails tool, then click on the starting station (when underground) and drag to the destination station.

@CrackedP0t: Thanks for the report, we will include it in future releases or add a note!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]