Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Candyland

by yokcos700 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Despite what you may be told, there is only one ending. Do not hunt for others for hours on end. That would make me a sad panda.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Humor3.54
#266Mood3.37
#358Audio3.07
#385Fun3.22
#439Overall3.30
#572Graphics3.15
#713Innovation2.85
#881Theme2.85
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

That was some weird stuff... :D
What happened at the cellar, what are those another endings, will I ever know?
Fun though

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Damn ! I was expecting more, so frustrating, good job though !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Don't understand why you would discourage people from looking a secret ending for hours. I would be ecstatic if people did that in one of my games! :D

Lots of neat details in this game, like the fun conversations, the red eyes behind the doors, and the cheery soundtrack. Game iself is super easy, if there is in fact no secret ending. I tried my best at finding it, but only succeeded at getting stuck in a little corner all the way to the right...

yokcos700 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:28pm

It'd feel cheap if people were searching for an ending which is advertised but in fact does not exist. I'd hate to search for something which truthfully, is entirely fictional.

01F0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:24pm

The cut-scenes were nice, liked the one where you faaaaaall down. The morbid humor was funny too!

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Fun game, very curious story line. I dunno how to get the other endings though.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Curious entry here. A lot of atmosphere, a lot of strange, bizarroness that really adds to the mood of the game.

Switchbreak says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:48am

Haha this is so good! Against your wishes I did spend some time searching for secret endings, kinda sad I couldn't find any.

Garris says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:52am

Excellent use of theme in more than just the obvious way.

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Can't play windows games. Any chance for a web version?

metkis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:12pm

What a weird game! I enjoyed it, great work!!!

dertom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Nice game! Felt good, even though I have to admit that most of the time I didn't knew what I'm doing, but it was fun :D Especially rolling around like hell :D Good job

Fragsteel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Fun little adventure! I can see where you would have improved with more time, and I wish that was the case as there was lots of potential here.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:06am

Wow, even with the one ending this is such a wonderful and twisted vignette! The cuts scenes were amazing!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]