Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Coal Not Dole

by badlydrawnrod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The theme inspired me to write a political game that is 30 years too late. As a teenager in Thatcher's Britain in the 1980s it was almost impossible to turn on the tv without seeing pictures of the Miners' Strike. This is the story of what really happened.

I apologize most profusely for the voices. My daughter said, "Dad, why are you doing a bad plumber Italian accent?" to which I had no reply. I just tried to channel my inner Ned Stark and ended up sounding like a dog selling insurance. "Oh, yes!"

My daughter's game is much better. You should review that too.

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=31739

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#55Humor3.76
#99Audio3.65
#390Fun3.21
#586Overall3.16
#649Theme3.16
#655Mood2.89
#1080Graphics2.31
#1172Innovation2.10

Comments

badlogic says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Nope

http://144.76.220.132/uploads/Screen%20Shot%202014-04-28%20at%2000.18.38-fLpGtF4XsS.png

Just kidding, will try it when i'm back at my Windows machine.

iceferret says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

I like how he yells coal every time he gets coal :)

ALobker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Very fun little game.

Is it possible to jump over enemies? I could not do it.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

That sound effects.. Nicely played sir.

mikedirl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

This is a fun game. I love the sounds. Well done.

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

The voice is hilarious! I really enjoyed this one.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

COAL!
Great game x)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33pm

@ALobker, yes it is possible to jump over enemies. You have to be close to them and they have to be moving towards you. It takes timing, but can be done.

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Coal coal coal coal coal... its over.

Loved the sounds effects. I didn't like the jump, but was a fun little game anyhow.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Coal coal coal coal coal, oh no :)

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Fun to play through. The voice-overs are pretty amusing, and the political context -- however slight -- made it that more interesting.

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

You don't like Thatcher much, huh? She's a strong female role model, dad!

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Liked the voices, especially the jump - it sounds like you are about to fall over.

Came here from the link on your daughters game, I think I have to agree with you, she beat you.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02pm

@pinion Oh, no!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Hup! Coal! Coal! Coal! Coal! Coal! Coal! Hup! Hup! Coal! Hilarious.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Well clearly they shut down the mines because they were infested with monsters.

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

COAL COAL COAL COAL ... Lol this was hilarious. Depressing ending tho! haha

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

It is possible to jump over enemies! But possibly it should be a little easier.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:30am

Coal, Coal, Coal, Coal... Cool, Cool, Cool, Cool ! :)

HybridMind says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

COAL COAL COAL! I'm glad we both made a game about mining. I wish the jump/hitboxes were a bit more forgiving, this game is brutally hard for me! Best coal collected was 470 tons out of 1000. I enjoyed the voice samples. :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Nice game! Liked the audio. Good job!

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Nice game, it feels like Lode Runner. I didn't know that the UK government sent goblins against the miners.

Also, I came here from your daughter's game; it seems that you are going to have a hard time beating her :P

Grafter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Cool game mate, well done!

dook says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Haha, I love a game with a happy ending :P

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Great job. Maybe one day you'll make a game as good as http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=31739

porousnapkin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:42am

Coal coal coal indeed.

mark.goetz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Lots of fun! I love how you had a great time putting together the art and sound effects, and it adds a lot to the humor of the game. The gameplay is a bit limiting and avoiding the goblins was a little tedious, but I definitely think you accomplished what you set out to.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:57pm

@Gazok I can only dream of the day that my game is as good as that one!

@mark.goetz Thanks, I rather enjoyed your game. Wonderful art style and an innovative mechanic.

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Political satire! I'm not really the right age or nationality to completely "get it", but I suppose corrupt/horrible politicians are a universal subject matter. I love the voice-overs and the happy music. A bit difficult, but I guess that's part of the satire. :P

Zerkruemler says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Nice voice and music. But the game is just a retro platformer. The relation to the theme is in my opinion not soo perfect.
But nice implementation. It is instantly clear how it works.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:11am

It's not the most polished game, but it's really charming. Gameplay isn't that original, but being the first platformer where Thatcher hires goblins to eat coal miners has to count for something. Thanks Maggie!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:38am

@ThingoStudios - that review really made my day!

May 11, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Pretty nice game, I enjoyed it. I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

CMaster says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Coal.

Good work, although jump mechanics could use tuning.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]