Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gruffy Guertrouda

by whilefun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about empathy and attending to train cars.

IMPORTANT note about Unity Web Version:
--------------------------------------
Sometimes it loses focus so you can't click on the menu buttons. If this happens, close the tab and try again. Or, ideally, download the Windows version of the game which does not have this issue :)

Instructions:
------------
-W,A,S,D or cursor keys to walk around
-Mouse to aim reticle at things to interact with
-Space or E to interact with thing you're looking at
-X to dismount from stool or put down photo
-Press Escape twice during the game to return to main menu

See README.txt for the story, and more detailed gameplay instructions

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#189Innovation3.64
#225Mood3.45
#282Audio3.20
#551Graphics3.17
#574Overall3.17
#613Humor2.36
#1096Fun2.33
#1115Theme2.32

Comments

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Good job with the audio and innovation

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

Thanks, samooJAM!

thenmal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:05am

Long journey between each stop made losing really rough, but interesting concept.

vogon101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:45pm

I like it.

bob_fish says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Interesting idea, worth a play. Mouse sensitivity was really high though, I had to turn my mouse dpi down quite a bit to be able to play.

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Thanks thenmal. I struggled with correct length for each leg. 5 minutes seemed a bit too long, but less than that seemed too short. Something for the post compo version! :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Thanks, vogon101 :)

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Thanks for the heads up, bob_fish. I will add that to my list of post-compo things to fix. Thanks for playing! :)

Lafie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Deceptively simple gameplay, as the context provides the incentive to perform those simple actions, as well as giving weight to the success and failure states.

The graphics are appropriate, and I'm impressed with the atmosphere that a texture-less environment can still provide. The excellent audio also helps massively in creating the right atmosphere.

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Cool, moody game. Good use of atmospheric SFX.

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Also, thanks for attempting to play my game - if you fancied giving it another try it's now fixed for Windows :)

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=18114

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:16pm

great entry!

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Thanks for playing, and your insight, Lafie. I really wanted to get the environment textured, but had no time left. Something for post-compo, to really round out the look and feel :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Thanks, jhrrsn! (also I did play your fixed version, nice work! See comments on your game page)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Thanks for playing, xdegtyarev! :)

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Good atmosphere, I like the level it is really well made.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Thanks a lot, ElStevo! :)

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Good innovation. I like it.

May 3, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I can't say I've ever played a sim like this before, great job :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:28pm

thanks, MintArcade!

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Thank you, carrier_signal :)

praporomsk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Very good and catching game, I passed through all 3 levels!
But the mouse sensivity seemed crazy for me (my screen resolution is 1366x768), it was so hard to aim for the tiny garbage. Good job though!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:44am

Thanks for playing, praporomsk. I've now added a post compo version that allows you to adjust the mouse sensitivity a bit. I'm happy to hear you finished all 3 legs of the journey :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:43am

Love the graphics!

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:20am

Nice job. Good audio and lighting!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Thanks, ChuiGum!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Thanks, Boodog!

ccglp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:37pm

It's good, 3D environment is a great job!

whilefun says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Thanks, ccglp :)

DonovanWu says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:20am

Nice work! I've never seen any kind of game like this. It's innovative!

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:43am

Wow. Nice challenge, balancing fear and gruffness. Nice easy controls for a very serious game. Great work.

Sestren says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:14am

I really liked this entry. The audio helped a lot both in terms of atmosphere and as a gameplay aid. That last minute on the last leg of the journey, I had just enough time to make it back to my room after doing one last sweep through and stare at the photo of my son for a few seconds hoping none of the other passengers opened a window or threw trash on the ground (I had 7 infractions going into the last leg, so I knew I had a pretty thin margin of error left). I got +2 infractions, and just barely managed to make it. Pretty intense!

whilefun says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Thanks DonovanWu, elefantopia, and Sestren :) Sorry I didn't see these comments earlier. Thanks for playing!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]