Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

You're Pulleying My Leg

by Draknek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about going up and down.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#14Overall4.22
#25Fun4.03
#34Innovation4.12
#299Theme3.56
#338Humor2.79
#468Mood3.08
#496Graphics3.25
#659Audio2.57

Comments

increpare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:53am

loves it

ianh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:22am

I can't believe this is written in puzzlescript!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54am

I won't rate until I'll understand how it works. Please help me. What am I supposed to do to remove the blocks?

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

This is awesome once you get it. And so impressive for a puzzlescript game!

st33d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Pretty fun once you figure out those things are mirrors. MIRRORS - THEY'RE MIRRORS, NOT PART OF SOME WEIRD SEPARATED SCULPTURE OR SETS OF STAIRS.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Really great, but reaaaally hard.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22pm

This is my favorite puzzlescript game so far! Really nice brain teaser :)

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

one of the first games I've rated that I actually kept playing just for fun! Really great!

Aron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Wow it's great. Just finished it (in about 10-15 minutes) and it's very clever designed. I loved the fact you have to think several steps ahead to get where you want to.

Also the really clever designed reset system is nice. Even if you make mistakes or just didn't think your possible solution true (and it's actually wrong ^^) a restart brings you not to the very beginning but to a state where everything was fine and so gives you the chance to overthink the next steps again withour tedious repeating all the stuff you did before.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Oh wow, I didn't know you could do stuff like this in puzzlescript.

someone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Very cool puzzle. I like how each phase requires reusing everything.

gikdew says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

Puzzlescript?? OMG thats awesome! Nice graphics and the concept is awesome!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15am

Had me playing for longer than usual. Thanks!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37am

Fantastic puzzle!
Mechanics on puzzlescript crushed my mind as always =)
Very good job, man!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11am

there's something very satisfying about pulleys

mjau says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

This was a lot of fun! I really like how you go back and reconfigure things as new parts of the level are unlocked, and yet all that going back and forth never gets tedious. The checkpoints help a lot with that, leaving you free to try things without fear of screwing up. Awesome! =)

(Maybe mention the checkpoints in your description though? They're a lot better than undoing and i could see how someone might never dare pressing R)

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

That is a pretty involved puzzle! I liked the general idea, although I just cleared the first two thirds for now.

Thanks for the game!

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

This was very good. It took me a fair while to complete.

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:17am

Best puzzlecript game I've played so far, well done !

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:16am

Wow! One of the most sophisticated games I've seen made with Puzzlescript. Very inspiring stuff.

Still working on solving it, but it's been a pleasure to play thus far.

Seriously. Less than 800 lines of puzzlescript, which includes level data and graphics. The mind boggles.

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:52am

Nice work on this. A deceptively difficult little puzzler.

MikeyPB says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Love it! A brilliantly designed puzzle!

lekochen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Finished. What a game - WHAT A GAME!!

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47pm

The puzzle is extremely well designed. It kept me playing until the very end. I was expecting a greater reward on the end than "congrats". Good game, anyway!

Evilion says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:16am

Oh my god I finally made it ahah...
Awesome level design !

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:32am

Every time I finish one of your games, I worry about you.

Meedoc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:35am

I feel so smart now! Great puzzle game!

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:53pm

That sir/madam is some pretty awesome level design right there. Congrats!

Andy Gainey says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:45pm

It took a while for me to realize that the gray things were mirrors and the yellow background was a beam of light. Part of me wishes that this were more obvious from the beginning (maybe by having the beam already hitting a mirror at the start). But part of me appreciates the feeling of that ah-hah moment when I figured it out myself. (I was tempted to leave the game before figuring it out, though, so that's always a risk.)

The compactness of the multiple stages of the puzzle is very impressive.

I thoroughly appreciate that restarting only restarts you back to the point where you most recently destroyed light sensitive blocks. I would have quit the game out of frustration otherwise, no doubt about it.

I was briefly disappointed when, upon reaching the orb, I realized that I wasn't done yet, but wasn't sure what to do. After shining light onto the orb and accomplishing nothing, I figured the only thing left was to get the orb out of the ground, so at least I had yet another couple of ah-hah moments there (the first being a false ah-hah).

May 1, 2014 @ 10:13pm

OMG that's hard! But it's a really fine puzzle game, and the art is beautiful. It's not often puzzle games are that great, you have done a perfect level design job and the mecanics are well used.

Diptoman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:22am

Wow, this kept me for so long! After reaching the red orb, I didn't know what to do. I thought it was supposed to end there. But well, figured might as well try to get it out, was easy enough. Completed it. The puzzle was insanely well thought out. Really a brilliant puzzle game.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:21am

Wow that was hard! It took me a while to figure out what was I suppose to do, but when I got it was quite fun!

May 6, 2014 @ 12:16am

Very very fun! TOp marks for the mood as well!

Candyhandy says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Your puzzlescript level is over 9000

Zerkruemler says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Ahh extremely well done!. First confusing, but then fantastic. Such a small level can be such difficult. I like the link to the source code. Incredible small coding for such a cool game!

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:54am

Great game! It's amazing how you can get something so thought-provoking out of such simple graphics and mechanics

wademcgillis says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:38pm

so hard

Zccc says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 9:54am

Wow, I finally completed, thanks for making this great puzzle :)

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 8:22pm

A true enigma.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]