Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under The Rig

by monkeymad2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Under The Rig you control a robot shooting at fish things that are coming out of a hole underwater.

A, D, Space, mouse to control.

Spam space to jet upwards, holding the mouse down will auto fire the weapon.

It's a very dark game so you might have to adjust your brightness.


WebAudioX and JSFX used for sounds.
Graphics done in Pixelmator.


Will have problems in FireFox till I fix some bugs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#503Audio2.86
#551Graphics3.17
#639Mood2.90
#746Theme3.04
#749Fun2.80
#922Overall2.80
#1162Innovation2.13
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I like the graphics, but after some time I don't know what's happening - don't see anything...

Erkberg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

A fun little game. The movement would probably feel smoother if you could keep going up by holding space down, not having to smash it so often. I really liked the particles. :)

Switchbreak says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:51am

Pretty fun! Great work on the graphics and sounds, could have used some variety.

xandy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:27pm

neat idea. a bit more explanation would be nice, it took me some time to figer out that you can spam space to float. the enemies are a bit too bullet spongy in my oppinion but the concept is very nice!

Waterman7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I have no idea what I just fought, but they looked kinda stylish. Also, neat particle effects!
Gameplay was a bit dull though, I just sat on the ocean floor without moving and kept shooting until I won.

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:39pm

The game mecanism is a bit repetitive and game can be finished quite fast.
But very cool graphics and audio.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:39pm

You can fire through the platform up top, meaning you can safely snipe the enemies from above. I'm assuming you didn't want this to happen.

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Cool particle effects. I didn't realize you could jump, so the first play I just slid along the bottom (mostly hid in the bottom left and shot) -- actually made it quite easy!

kevinAlbs says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:36am

Great graphics and sound. It looks like you rolled this code from scratch, which is really impressive. It seems like there is a bug where somehow you end up offscreen and only see black. Good work!

PixelFeet says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:17pm

it got a bit tedious after a while because you could just aim above the hole and spam the mouse button as fast as possible. other then that the graphics were pretty good and i liked the idea.

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:25pm

I love particle effects, especially the trail of the bullets and the explosions.

I like how you can hold down mouse or tap if things get too close, however maybe if you choose to risk being close and your bullets are getting destroyed the rate of fire could go up.

The best feeling in the game is when you're falling rapidly during that initial part. Maybe you could capitalize this in your gameplay instead of having it all at the bottom of the ocean.

The enemies got a little repetitive after a while.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]