Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bunker 29

by Rose - Jam Entry

You control the last bunker on a dying planet, and it's time to go. Wake workers from cryosleep and prepare your spaceship as fast as possible. Be careful, though - if you run out of food or breathable air, you're doomed. Use your workers and manage your resources carefully to escape from Bunker 29!

How to Play
- Click on a room and use the (+)/(-) buttons to assign workers.
- Rooms with workers in them produce resources - but they also consume resources.
- You win when the meter on the spaceship is completely filled. You'll need to put POWER into it.
- Workers consume AIR and FOOD. If either goes to 0, you lose.
- Happiness increases worker productivity up to 2x. Your percentage happiness depends on number of workers.
- You start with 3 workers. Click on the cryo chamber (bottom right) to wake up or put workers to sleep. Waking up workers costs food, but having more workers will let you get more done.

Tips:
- Start with 4 workers and staff the Air Filter, Rec Room, Garden, and Power Plant. This should be a stable arrangement that gradually nets you some resources.
- If you have a surplus of some resource, you can temporarily move a worker elsewhere - but make sure not to dip too low!

Art and design: Rose Abernathy
Programming: Robin Keller

Made with AngularJS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Overall(Jam)3.65
#128Fun(Jam)3.46
#198Theme(Jam)3.50
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38
#203Mood(Jam)3.45
#205Graphics(Jam)3.81
#222Audio(Jam)3.40
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Really cute graphics and a decent soundtrack! Loved the animation for the ticks. Would have improved with a bit of an 'upgrade' system or something.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

So tightly balanced, I was not able to solve it in several attempts.
Nice idea and good implementation. Well done!

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Eek a tight balance. PRetty intense stuff.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Difficult! I was able to do 50% energy after lots of tries haha
Nice graphics

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13am

Cute game! The graphics are nice, and the game was easy to understand. Fairly difficult too.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Wow cool team level, nice game, nice idea!

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

A number balancing game - nice, been a while since I've seen one here. It took me a few tries to win the game (running out of atmosphere was my favourite apparently). There was a fair bit of waiting involved sometimes, but mostly I was busy and had fun.

The art is really cute, and the GUI looks nice!

The music was good at first, but got old after a while. The tick sound effects should've felt far more repetitive, but for some reason they didn't - well chosen! :)

Easy to understand, a challenge and nice to look at - good work all around!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Took three rounds, but then I had a good run :D

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

nice design, interface and music, game is very intresting and quite hard before you fully understand it. Too bad having one worker in each room is almost instawin, reached 9 workers just for the fun of it and game becomes really interesting there. Good job.

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Oh man! AAALmost made it that last time. Good stuff, love the general vibe and mechanics. Excellent!

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nice game about resources management. However, I felt like this kind of game lack innovative for that many other resources management games had the same style.

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Nice game. I needed some attempts to solve it especially as I totally forgot to ready the spaceship :p

I had my bunker neatly organized and started to wonder when this game will finish until I noticed the unstaffed room :D

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Fun game. Really dug the audio and graphics. :)

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:23am

a very nice design and original take on the theme
catchy music too

GFM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:49am

At first, I liked the song... but it got tiring after so many iterations... But the game was quite nice and interesting. It took me a few tries until I was able to power the spaceship.

May 5, 2014 @ 6:36am

Cool game! The difficulty is spot-on, and I like the graphics and soundtrack. Some kind of storyline/upgrades/other variation would have been nice (if you have the time of course). It would also have been better to make the workers non-selectable (they are selectable like text now).

HybridMind says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Took me a long while to figure out how to survive but I liked the challenge. Gets a bit tedious in parts. Also, I couldn't figure out how to get 'putting someone to sleep' to work. I had an unassigned worker, but the 'put to sleep' button (though enabled) did nothing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]