Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Threading

by fakeyou - Jam Entry

Threading is a simple puzzle game where you connect the colored dots. The twist is that when you connect a dot you continue on the opposite side of the board. Here you continue to thread the dots until all the dots are threaded.

Are you up for the challenge.

Click any dot to begin the threading, click another dot that can be directly connected without overlapping any other dots or lines to thread a dot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Innovation(Jam)4.29
#115Overall(Jam)3.64
#189Theme(Jam)3.52
#195Fun(Jam)3.29
#616Graphics(Jam)2.70
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Mamma-mia! This is hard!! Love it!

7elephants says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I liked it. Good concept. Downside: Not that replayable.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Grats on the game! I won, but I found it pretty hard to keep both card sides in mind at the same time. Can't say I really knew what I was doing. Didn't have any problems running the game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Very smart game. Hard, frustating, but fun! Simple audio would improve the mood.

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Interesting game, I felt like I didn't really know what was on the other side which limited the fun for me (made it more random and less interesting). I guess I could have focused really hard, drawn diagrams, and tried to figure out where to move next.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:31pm

That's a clever mechanic, I like it. Is there a way to peek on the other side without actually making a move? It feels a bit random on the first move, and you need to plan ahead if you want to complete a level

fakeyou says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I'm planning to make a more polished version with a way to look at the other side before making a move

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:47am

Great idea and nice execution. I hope to make a puzzle game a good as this one one day.

pLaw says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Very interesting and innovative concept. I like the minimalistic presentation. Nice work!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:29pm

This was a really fun challenge. It seemed so easy to start but the last moves can be tricky. Great concept, although it might only connect to the theme with just a thread. A few of the circles showed up as 2 half circles, and it took a minute for me to realize that didn't have any gameplay effect.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Really great and smart concept!

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This is a tough puzzler. Very well done. Really good incorporation of the theme, and fun to keep playing.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Oh, I won! wasnt sure what I was doing untill halfway through but thats a nifty little mechanic :)

May 3, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I really like this concept. I noticed a few times it would tell me I'd lost when I clearly had at least one move left. Other than that, really cool puzzle game.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Very interesting idea, but I felt like most puzzles were actually unsolvable (unless I'm doing something wrong). The backside always is missing 1 circle, and sometimes (all the time?) that forces you to lose. I even had a board full of greens and a single red before, when it asked me to connect the red, of course I lost. Either way, it seems like there is always going to be an odd number of some color.. Is this actually beatable?

I also noticed, after a while, that there is white text on the screen after you run into a losing move. Pretty much impossible to read, only noticed over the bits of the colored circles.

Great idea that could turn into a really fun and unique puzzle game. Some relaxing music once this is polished up would be a nice touch, I think.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Very innovative use of the theme.

Photon says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Managed to beat it once. Definitely a cool little concept you have here, although personally I found it a bit more dizzying on the memory than I may have liked. Still very creative theme usage and gameplay though!

monsterkillu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

At first i was skeptical about how it would fit the theme. Then i played it. Wow. very interesting puzzle game. One thing i recommend is to add a button or something so that i could flip it as much as i wished to see the possible moves (or a faded preview of whats on the other side etc).

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:02am

Clever game.

Managore says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:03am

Wow, what a great game! I absolutely love the idea! I wish it was possible to look at both sides at once, but I know that's something you're looking to improve.

oldbean says ...
May 22, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Fantastic game! One suggestion: I love the puzzle aspect of it—is there any way to keep it from starting a brand new game? I would love to go back and retry a failed attempt and beat that particular manifested scenario than just trying a new one each time.
Thank you, this is such a cool, great game! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]