Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Miner Grievance

by Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Frameworks/external code:
XNA 4.0 (everything else was written from scratch)

It's been a while but damn it feels good to be back. This is probably without hyperbole the ugliest game I've ever made, but nonetheless I think it turned out well, especially for the time.

Made some incredibly grating soundtracks and some surprisingly good sound effects for it too, which was something that people often said about my other LD entries.

It's basically a game where you collect coins and blow stuff up. The difficulty lies in not destroying the coin, not blowing yourself up (easier than it sounds) and not being shot by other players in multiplayer. I haven't tested the multiplayer with another person yet but hopefully it should be fine.

Keyboard Controls
P1: WASD to move & aim
Space to jump
Shift to shoot

P2: Arrow keys to move & aim
Right Ctrl to shoot
Num0 to jump

Both: Escape to pause
Enter to start game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#489Fun3.09
#669Audio2.55
#714Humor2.22
#734Innovation2.82
#825Overall2.91
#878Mood2.63
#950Graphics2.55
#973Theme2.67
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16am

Played it in 2 Playermod, great level destruction. The Controls are al little bit odd though

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40am

Don't know with the controller, but with keyboard controls are a little tough, great game whatever

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:48am

Yeah, I couldn't get the keyboard controls to feel great without adding mouse control, which kinda ruined the arcadey feel of the game and made it so you couldn't play 2P without controllers. I'm sure with extra time I could get it feeling a little better.

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

Cool game! The destruction is satisfying.

I don't have a gamepad so I played it on the keyboard and unfortunately the controls (WASD + Left Shift) isn't very intuitive and made the gameplay less fun than I think it could be.

Overall I think it's good though and I would love to try out the multiplayer since it feels like it would fit the concept perfectly.

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Nice, a game with some destruction mechanics involved. As others have said, I agree that control are a bit hard, at least when using keyboard. Nice game though, good work!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Can't play this, Unity webplayer is not available for Linux OS. Feel free to send me a tweet @tinyworlds if you export a Linux executable and I'll play your game.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

oups, wrong game :S

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Doesn't work on my Linux machine.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

This game crashes on Windows 8.1. I could not play it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:47am

Playing on Windows 8.1, it quit with no message. I looked at event viewer and found this:

Exception Info: System.IO.FileNotFoundException
Stack:
at LD29.Program.Main(System.String[])

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]