Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ripple Runner

by DDRKirby(ISQ) - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Post-Compo version is here!
Link: http://tiny.cc/ddrkirbyripplerunnerdluxe
Changes so far (v1.22):
- New stages! Added 3 new stages so far, for a total of 6! These new levels are quite a bit more challenging than the first three, so be prepared!
- New level backdrops! Different backgrounds for every level now!
- New algorithm that should hopefully lead to smoother camera scrolling (less jerkiness).
- Pause using Escape or P. You can exit a stage this way.
- Better lag compensation for mp3 playback delay (audio was ~10ms behind before).
- Ctrl, Tab, etc. no longer activate menu choices (you must press Enter).
- Camera repositioned to put the character a bit further to the left, to give more read-ahead visibility.
- More alternative control schemes (right-handed, etc).
- Tutorial now tells you to use F and D instead of R and E (both work).
- Level tweaks for better difficulty scaling/continuity.
- Tweaked "wavy" reflection effect -- now acts differently on different background layers.
- Animated preloader sprite!
- Prettier Jukebox!
- Lowered ripple sfx volume as to not overpower the corresponding music elements.

Download the extended soundtrack here: http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/ripple-runner-deluxe-original-soundtrack

=====

DDRKirby(ISQ) here, proudly presenting my LD48 compo entry: Ripple Runner!

It's a rhythm game with retro-style game boy graphics, and AWESOME CHIPTUNE MUSIC!

Let's say that one more time: Rhythm game with chiptune music. YES!

Run through 3 levels, using your water-bending "ripple" ability. Obstacles are synced to the music! If you were a fan of Bit.trip Runner, you'll love this!

Download the soundtrack here: http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/ripple-runner-deluxe-original-soundtrack

*Playing through a level without dying unlocks a medal. Collect all three to show your mastery of the waves!*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.55
Audio4.84
Theme4.30
Fun4.44
Coolness57%
#17Mood4.23
#69Graphics4.20
#86Innovation3.94
#199Humor3.12

Comments

7Soul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

Sweet game mechanics and music ;)

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32am

<3 I love your music <33

Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

I absolutely loved it. Five stars all around! <3 You should definitely think on more level designs, and more pushing the envelope for making this a real game! :3

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:47am

This game is really good! It sounds great, it's got a really nice design, and it's a really good interpretation of the theme. One of the best I've played so far.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

This is. . . This is so good. Can we have more?

AsixJin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

I love this game and how the music is handled is amazing! Kudos sir!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Thank you for all the positive feedback so far! I'll be working on a post-compo version with more stages, so please stay tuned for that!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Really great music! :D

hampa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21am

Wow, great game!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

Of all the games you made, this is my favorite by far! great job!

I couldn't find a way to pause the game, was that done intentionaly to keep us playing? :D

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Just finished the 3rd stage.
Phenomenal! I do not believe I have ever played a Ludum Dare game that was this good. I love that you make the player be part of the music, and it still sounds great!
The levels have a great difficulty curve. My only complaint is that there is not more of them.
Seriously consider a full commercial release.

HernanZh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Wow this is amazing! I love the music! Best game I've played so far.

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Absolutely fantastic! really love this, favourite game so far. Great job on audio!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

Best game I've played so far, really really good job.

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25am

Man, I just love your music! It' so friggin' awesome!

The simple graphics were a great choice for this game. This, with the ripple effect on the "non-current side" and color swaps made the game beautiful!

Gameplay is really fun! The music matches up perfectly with all the obstacles and this, together with your great music, made this so enjoyable.

Can't wait for the post-compo version. =D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01am

Awesome music! The controls position are weird

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49am

@pinkmoneyhead: What would you suggest?

You can also use F and D if you'd like, or V and C. You can even use Ctrl and Shift, if that floats your boat :)

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

the music and the level design feel really match

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26am

Wow you've outdone yourself! Awesome music as always, very fun gameplay!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

WOW! This game is fantastic! I love everything about it!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Lovely little game. I made a runner game with the same flip mechanic once but it was nowhere near as good as this. :)

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:18am

It is perfect!* I'm loving it!

It's simple (a runner game) but original (E&R mechanic). It still looks like something quickly made for a game jam, (I mean, not like those discouragingly good entry from pro dev that manage to pull a complete polished game in 24hr), yet super good because you had just the right ideas and the right chemistry.

I guess you already know how delicious your music is, considering you put ingame jukebox + download links.


* except that sometimes my pressing of space is ignored.

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:19am

I'm a fan of music based games. Solid mechanics and some really good audio.

kill0u says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:39am

Loved it!

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36pm

What a great game. I will come back to play this again and again. what a soundtrack. Really thank you for that entry. awesome. My favourite by now.

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Fantastic game, loved it. I'd love for this to be on a phone somehow, I'd get it =]

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Really cool game. Love it almost as much as the music :)

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31am

Ugh. Just an ounce of your musical power. That's all I ask for. JUST AN OUNCE!!! This is easily one of my favorites this time around. It's just so wonderful in every way. Really, really, really tight and responsive runner that sounds better than anything else out there... all in just 48 hours. POST COMPO PLEASE! 5/5

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:01am

Wauw... People who want to know how to make a good runner should te notes.

belstres says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:28pm

The graphics are so stylish and music is really nice. Good job!

May 1, 2014 @ 7:55pm

ARGHHH OMG So frustratingly addictive. That last level made my fingers sweat. Incredible.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:56am

So good. Def needs a pause button though.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Awesome game, I love rythm games! The changing atmosphere is excellent, the musics fit perfectly the game, I want more! :D

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:47pm

The beat synching and sound effects on this are really great! I love the color shifting at checkpoint, too. Sometimes I struggled to map when I should ripple and when I should jump under pressure, maybe consider some extra feedback for which one you need to do (platform shapes or colors or something?) Otherwise it was fantastic!

geekdrums says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Great! It's perfect for me. I was also surprised the way you put sound effect into music and musical element into sound effect.

I wanted to play better, but I think some more level will helps. I mean I want to play more!

Raiyumi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I think this is my favorite LD entry so far. Great job, and fantastic music. I'm a sucker for rhythm games. :D

Lyje says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Probably the best sounding endless runner game in the world

TobiasW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:35am

Wow. Wow! I was prepared for the awesome music - after all, I'm still sometimes listening to the Hyper Furball soundtrack. I was NOT prepared for this perfect blend of gameplay and music. The endless runner genre is sometimes a bit stale, but your mirroring mechanics work well, and the additional mechanic in level 3 adds a lot more difficulty. Oh, and regarding difficulty: Well paced, I liked the steady increase, although some some parts could've had more checkpoints in my opinion. Add to this: Stellar sound design and simple graphics with an adorable main character, and you get this game. Amazing job, really well done!

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:25am

Awesome awesome awesome! Best in audio!

Muciojad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:56am

Amazing work it's very rhytmical and I very like chip music ;] I want play post-compo version, good job!!!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Ladies and gentlemen; the best game of LD29.

I wish I could give this game's soundtrack much, much higher than a five.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:47pm

The switch up on the level with the music is really cool.

Quite hard with the mechanics to get used to in such a condensed time frame. The ripple mechanic is a pretty good use of the theme.

Looks and sounds great, good job!

Flopster says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:10am

Wooooah, I am blown away.
How do you make such amazing music? TELL ME YOUR MAGIC D:

mortus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:53am

Impressively well made and polished game! Music is great as always, gameplay is so much fun too. However, while new mechanics are great and assuring that the game won't become dull and boring, I've started to be confused with controls on level 3. Maybe moving E button action to Down Arrow button instead could help it, as it's much farther from R and more intuitive perhaps.

Daveloper says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:11am

A creative and well presented idea. The use of sound as feedback for executing platforming correctly works well and makes the experience more engaging. Excellent work :)

wdebowicz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:48am

Good game, great concept and well done tutorial.

zkenshin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Outstanding. Great work. :D

Moosefly says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Really awesome what you managed to make in 48 hours. It looks good, it sounds good and it also plays good. There's a good amount of different mechanics and the difficulty was also spot on thanks to the generous placement of the checkpoints. And ripples are cool http://img1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130104190712/jjba/images/8/83/Joseph_using_Ripple.png. I think @mortus is on to something about the controls, even if inverting with R might make them somewhat counter-intuitive if they were bound on the arrow keys for example.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Yword says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Innovative gameplay accompanying with incredibly great musics! The overall mood is fantastic, and I like it very much.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Very cool game! Apparently it's not Chrome friendly, since the framerate is kinda jumpy.

flavio says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Really nice entry !
I like the mechanics and the graphics !
The tutorials works very well too !
Good job

FrozenCow says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Like always, really good uplifting music. The synchronized music+gameplay made it especially awesome. It made for a really good mood through all 3 stages. The tutorialization (is that a word?) was nicely put together and the new mechanics kept keeping things interesting. 3 stages was a good length for me (were you planning on adding more mechanics too?)... Anyway, awesome game, very very good job on making it all fit together.

Sestren says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:55am

Holy crap, this is such fun to play! I love the music, too!

Rahazan says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:34am

Very awesome, 5/5. A better bit trip runner.

miwuc says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:24pm

The level of awesome is hard to describe. One of those games that you can't believe are compo. Loved the mechanics, the music, the changing colors, how you restart without skipping a beat after dying... And of course it's tons of fun to play. Great job!

matt_j says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Incredible polish. Excellent tutorial. Excellent job!

radmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:59am

Ahhhhh your music is always so good! Love the music, love the unexpected long jumps, love the melody changing as you hold E... this is amazing. My only complaint is that I think having all the controls effectively on the same hand makes it a bit hard to get used to, splitting them up more (or controller support!) might make that aspect a bit better. One of the best games I've played this LD. Bravo!

JwowBMB says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:14pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBrlCkST2es

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:50am

Omg. Awesome game m8 ! Nice !

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:29am

Great gameplay, amazing music, all around great entry that fits the theme quite well. :)

idovingx says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:40am

oh man, so fun and the music was great!

Erkberg says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Wow, what an amazing game! Nice visuals, great gameplay and even greater music and sounds. Awesome overall!

IAmSpencer says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Holy flying biscuits this game was stupidly difficult... but still amazing. The graphics were cute, nice music, and overall great game, great job!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Wow, i did not expect something like this in a game jam. It's very impressive how the audio is perfectly synced, especially considering the checkpoint breaks. Great work!

MrSoupy says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I created an account just to say: THIS GAME IS AWESOME!

GFM says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Just played the post-compo. (v1.2.2) =D

The new backgrounds are really cool. And the new songs are great!! I specially liked that jazzy one (fourth stage).
Level 4 and 5 are somewhat harder than the compo ones... but level 6 took the difficulty to another level. I almost did rage quit. XD

Oh, and by the end of level 6 I got some noticeable choppiness on the camera... Since I only got that by the end of the level, I can't help but think if it's because of float point accuracy...
That or the game is running at 30 fps, and the players/stage was going too fast...

Anyway, it's really fun! Great job! =D

May 19, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Fantastic game! Amazing music (best I hear in 100 entries, probably), nice art and mechanics. Really well done.

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:41pm

fantastic game!

Pitzik4 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 4:03am

This is absolutely stunning. You should port it to Android/iOS, I bet it would be quite popular!

niculistana says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 6:40am

Love the way some of the levels had music that went with how you play the game... you can really tell the game was well thought! Great job man! Now make millions :)

DragonXVI says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 8:17am

Nice! I've made 48hr rhythm games before and it's no easy task! Excellent music and great spin on the ol' Bit Trip Running idea. Congrats! :D

May 20, 2014 @ 1:05pm

well done man ..love the music sync :)

stqn says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Fantastic! In two days you made a game 100 times better than Bit.Trip Runner 2.

May 21, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I expected it to be something lame... I was so freaking wrong. Epic game man.

shasharala says ...
May 25, 2014 @ 3:36am

This is really impressive. I love the use of sound/music in response to the user's actions.

dwikarya02 says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 11:14am

i cant say anything because this game + music is awesome :D

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52am

Attention! The URL for this game has moved:
Post-compo version is now at http://goo.gl/fZm4DK.
48hr version is now at http://goo.gl/ymfok0.

Rustam says ...
Apr 28, 2017 @ 5:46am

TCL Mobile of Twin City Liner offers a wide range of information about timetable of both our boats cruising between Vienna and Bratislava. http://gettorrentsfrommyblog.blogspot.com In einer eigenen Rubrik widmen wir uns dem Thema Mobile Business.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]