Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Coin Diver

by VDZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Updated on May 2nd, 2014; for judging, please use the original version (first three links). The update fixes the collision issues, significantly improving gameplay.)

In Coin Diver, you dive into the sea to collect coins.
Press left and right to rotate, and Z or space to swim.
As you spend time underwater, you will run out of air.
Find an air pocket to refill your air before you drown!
Furthermore, your temperature will drop slowly; if it reaches
0%, you will die of hypothermia. Try to surface before this happens.

If you return to the surface alive, your score is doubled.
Collect multiple coins before refilling your air for bonus points.



This game is Windows-only.



Controls:

Left/Right/A/D - Rotate your character
Z/Space/W/Up - Swim

R - Restart
F or Alt-Enter - Toggle fullscreen mode
Escape - Quit the game



The high score list can also be viewed inside a browser:
http://vdzserver.org/php/coindiver/scores.php



Some tips:

- Play the game with sound enabled. The music will let you know when you're about to drown.

- Pay attention to the background color and the music; you'll be able to tell how deep you are.

- Don't just mash the swim button. Using the button more conservatively allows you to steer more precisely.



This game is public domain. Feel free to do whatever you want with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Audio3.70
#119Fun3.67
#235Theme3.63
#328Overall3.42
#457Mood3.10
#544Innovation3.08
#1034Graphics2.42
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

Tifu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Score: 240 =D
Really fun game, good challenge. Had to try a few times to surface with a decent score :) Music alerting to your oxygen levels is a really good touch.
You do seem to stick to walls a little, not sure if intended or not though.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

It is a fun and challenging game. With some improvements it could be addicting :D

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Quite enjoyable, I love the music and the swimming animation.
It's fun to play and the temperature adds the little interesting aspect that prevents the game from getting boring.
I can confirm that you stick on corners though. That's the only thing that realy bothers me since it cost me a few lifes beeing stuck right on the edge to an airbubble, not able to get there.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Score: More than 100 (Don't remember xD)
I play it a bit, it's fun, and the idea is pretty good, one of the best I play this far

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

This game was amazing! I could almost feel the adrenaline rush when the music increased in volume as I was about to run out of air. The online ranking system was also great. Look for Strandmullen at 110 points :)

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05pm

At first I thought it was like other games I have seen on Ludum Dare, but after playing this for a while I realised this had a playability I had not seen in previous versions.
The game is addictive and a gives you the 'just one more try' feeling.

And nice (and functional) music of course!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great use of music and an interesting control scheme. I didn't love how you stick to walls, but it was otherwise fun to play.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I'd be in heaven if I could surface for air, buy better swimming equipment and dive again. For hours :)

Balint197 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I'm fourth! :D I enjoyed your game, the change in music volume was a really nice touch!

Garris says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:46am

Good game! The controls are nice, the graphics look consistent, the music is good, and there's a lot of incentive to keep trying even when you die a watery death.

VDZ says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:22am

I've updated the game to fix the collision issues (sticking to walls). The original version remains up for judging, but if you just want to play, you can download version 2 by clicking the 'Post-LD version' link.

VDZ says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:41pm

In other news, fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck: http://i.xomf.com/cybdj.png

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I wish this game had some animations / better graphics to help the immersion. The gameplay and the idea on themselves are great already. You should keep it working on it!

May 2, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Nice game. Controls feel great and the music is good.

phi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:55pm

The online ranking is a really nice touch. I don't get why the score is doubled in the end though...
The point of the game is easily understandable and all the features are nicely implemented. I personally feel like the player movement is a bit too rigid, but all in all I love the game.

Sparrow says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Very addictive, still can't beat your highscore. I will keep trying to get it of course. The most problems I had were caused by the collision which you fixed in v2. The only thing you might want to change is the graphics like was said in the irc channel. Rest is very good.

VDZ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:22pm

@phi
The score is only doubled in the end if you reach the surface. If you drown, your score still counts, but it'll be only half of the score you'd have gotten from reaching the surface with that score. (It is also a viable strategy to abandon the idea of resurfacing altogether to spend more time deeper in the ocean, where you can collect more points.)

Alex Rose says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I'm just wildly incompetent at this game, I drowned going in a loop on my way to the surface, if I'd just been a little quicker I would've had a fairly decent score, but alas, I'm terrible.

Controlled really fluidly, fit the theme really well and the soundtrack was awesome too, I really like how the music changes as you go deeper, and the visuals too, you manage to make it look really sweet even just using single colour backgrounds.

Another great game, I look forward to your future ones.

Snoother says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Loving the way for music builds powerfully alongside the gameplay. The controls could feel a bit more underwater-y, if that makes sense, and the wall-sticking issue mentioned previously needs to be fixed. The graphics could probably be embellished a bit too.

But overall it was really addictive and had a quick pace that, as I said, was amplified by the music pretty much perfectly. Good work.

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Really fun game you made here and nice music! With some polish, graphics and effects this would be completely awesome! You should check out my game I've got online highscores too! :) http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=3933

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]