Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

White Warriors

by Muu? - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In game you play as a white blood cell, trying to prevent an infection inside a soldier's body.
See the above link for controls and details.

I made it in roughly 10 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#449Humor2.58
#579Mood2.96
#733Theme3.06
#807Fun2.74
#810Innovation2.71
#879Audio2.07
#912Overall2.81
#950Graphics2.55

Comments

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Took me a second to figure out what was going on, then after killing 3 skull icons my entire browser completely locked up.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I really like the flocking behaviour, but it took me a while to get how things work.
PS: I love the intro! haha :D

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Thinking you spent only 10 hours on it, it has some great potential.

Muu? says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

The "third skull hangs the whole system" game breaking bug is now fixed in all builds. Sorry for the inconvenience.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

It was really satisfying watching the ripple as I moved through a bunch of cells, nice work on that behaviour! The same sound effect got annoying though and enemies continued to spawn after it said I had won. Not a major problem though, nice work ;)

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I like the game. I appreceite the fact that you managed to develop a functioning AI.

starfeesh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

The swarming was pretty cool, impressive for 10 hours.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Good job! I think I hit critical mass on other white cells after a few skulls though, they basically took over and handled things for me but it was fun to move around with them.

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Like the concept, but game balance could be tweaked a bit, after defeating 2 black skulls I had so many allies the game played itself.

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Nice little game, I agree the game balance seems to be quite in the players favour, I barely had to do anything. Great stuff though! Good job.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Crashed my browser before I could even play. :( Sounds interesting though from the other comments.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I especially liked the cute intro, sets the mood for the game nicely. Differing from the other comments, I found the game to be quite hard, getting me killed sooner or later... :)

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

The intro was awesome! The game itself is a bit easy once you understand what to do. Still fun though.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:37pm

That voice qcting :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:18pm

very nice!

littleball says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I like the take on the theme well done!

porglezomp says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Yeah, I had exactly the same experience as popogames.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]