Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Whistle

by AhNinniah - Jam Entry

A point & click horror adventure about secrets lying beneath wonder city.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Mood(Jam)4.15
#37Audio(Jam)4.03
#98Graphics(Jam)4.18
#181Overall(Jam)3.50
#370Humor(Jam)2.57
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#423Innovation(Jam)2.88
#540Theme(Jam)2.79
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12am

Oh my god! Creepy, wonderful, unsettling, really nice.
Great job!

Potartz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I like the visuals, and having the characters be pose dummies is a great idea, but the background music was much too loud and it was hard to tell where to go at times.

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

WOha this is so creepy it scared me! I love it!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Maybe a little short, but the game is very interesting. Nice job. The sound effects are very well sync with the actions.

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Great atmosphere and super creepy. I especially liked the audio on this one. No idea what was going on, though ;)

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

I had no idea of what was going on
But I loved the sound work
:)

bazld says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Creepy, beautiful art, atmosphere.
Not sure if I discovered everything yet...

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Damn, that was creepy and awesome. Too bad it was short, but is understandable for the time you had. The art and the music were awesome too! great job

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

That was fantastic! Very unnerving.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11am

great job guys! awesome atmosphere, but too little game for me..

Nelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:31am

Amazing! Это шикарнейше!! А где брали саунд(скрипы и т.п)?

AhNinniah says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55am

Thank you very much for all the feedback! We are really appreciated. We just wanted to say, that there two endings in this game. In Posto Compo version there will be the third one, as it was initially planned.

AhNinniah says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:00am

Nelly, Wind, Window, Door and Swings SFXs are from free sounds banks. All the rest ones were made by ourselves.

Kuchalu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:18am

Really creepy! Super nice artwork and animation.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:39am

i love the concept. Nice graphics, sounds and really creepy. I love it. Good Job!!!! :D

May 1, 2014 @ 11:44am

Very good game, I liked the graphics a lot. The only thing I did not like was clicking 'leave' to end a conversation. In my opinion if the user clicked anywhere else onscreen when a conversation is open, then the conversation should close by itself. But that is just my preference. Other than good work.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:14pm

love it! great entry, congrats!

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:21am

I don't know if point and click lends itself well to jump scares (though suspense and dread is harder to write), but I like the style of this. The whistle-as-mouth thing was genuinely creepy~

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:30am

Very strange p&c game...
But art and athmosphere is good.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Hi. That was most strange, I regret what I did with the whistle... creepy guy!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice game, I played it twice in order to understand it... Oh, I think just now I got it... hmmm strange, but also quite creepy... Good!

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:19am

Really lovely game. Not sure what I was doing sometimes or where I was supposed to click. I expected the cursor to have some sort of feedback since some cues came up at times, but I felt stuck every so often.

Waterman7 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Wow, great job on the mood! Really unsettling...

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:58am

Hahaha omg that was weird in a cool way

Rzial says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:12pm

It fullfils it objective in a very good way.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]