Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from the Catacombs

by Sichuan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are stuck in the catacombs of paris. You have to escape before the battery of your torch runs out.

------------------------------------------------------------

There isn't as much play in this as I would like, but it can still take a while depending on how scared you are. I certainly am scared, and I made the monstrosity...

Web player is available, but I recommend downloading the client for full pee-your-pants pleasure.

WASD - Move
E - Interact
Shift - Sprint

- Removed water that looked like a missing floor in favour of dust clouds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#32Mood4.07
#133Audio3.54
#424Theme3.41
#425Graphics3.36
#603Overall3.14
#731Fun2.83
#912Innovation2.59

Comments

skymarionsky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

nice scary atmosphere!! I like it and wish play more.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24am

Nice mood and I loved that FOV effect. There was floor missing in the room with key.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27am

Nice mood!

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

Tough to know what to do, I found the fire so I just decided to roast myself in it. :)

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32am

too scary xD
Personally I do not like this type of game but the atmosphere is very accomplished, very good use of theme.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

The atmosphere is really great!
And graphics are good!

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I found a key... what now? how do i pick it up? can I pick it up?

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

nice atmosphere, was that water by the key or ground missing?

Sichuan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

You can pick the key up with E, and the 'missing floor' was supposed to be water, but didn't have a material for it :D

Sichuan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Removed the water floor in favour of a dust cloudy thing.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Great game, super moody and creepy. Nice work! I'm going to have to give you a 1 for humour though.

jomacel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

Nice scary game ;)

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

Great scary mood, good ambient sounds, if it weren't day and sunshine outside i'd have been scared to death, hehe :)
Very claustrophobic feeling, nice!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16am

Woah, creepy. I especially loved that effect when you went into the room with the furnace.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Really nice looking game, but I am not really sure what I needed to do :P I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

vilya says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Very atmospheric and creepy! I found the key and the fireplace with candles, but unfortunately got stuck at that point. Also, why use 'e' as the interact button instead of something obvious like the space bar?

Sichuan says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:18am

The way onwards is not left or right, forward or back, instead look for up or down. Also I chose E as the interact button, for it is by far the most commonly used key in games for 'Interact'.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]