Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ridiculous Glitchez

by Jeremias - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A glitch art game.

Requires .NET and XNA:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Beneath that broken surface, a swarm of fishes. Lights of stars, the waves' play of colors and shadows of sea dwellers try to irritate you. Their lights fractures on the surface and confuse you about what's beneath.

Normally I try to make things as pretty as possible, but this time I tried to break things and focused on making the aesthetics disordered and disturbing - within the meaning of Glitch Art. While I was afraid that others couldn't relate to this art style like I do, I had a lot of fun while making it! Where do you have a chance to make progress by breaking something? I gone mad. And I'm tired, now. Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#79Graphics4.16
#171Mood3.55
#340Overall3.41
#367Audio3.05
#388Humor2.70
#450Innovation3.21
#505Fun3.08
#719Theme3.08

Comments

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Love the art style. Music is nice. Mechanics not for me, but the presentation is great :)

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I love graphics

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Really nice ! Love the visual with all the feedbacks on the screen :)

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Really interesting, very hard to read what is happening, but that seems like it's part of the charm for this one! Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45am

I love this art!

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Gotta admit, my eyes hurt a little, but man, this is a pretty neat game. Love the style, love the visuals and the gameplay is also really cool! Almost a perfect compo game.:)

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:07pm

as seems to be the trend - awesome visual style. Can't help but feel you were praying the theme was "Glitch" instead of beneath the surface :P

The gameplay felt... Well, it felt like - "What am I doing?". :P But the whole time I was somewhat mesmerized by the almost drunk glitchouts the game has. Very nice art-game! :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Interesting art style. The audio seemed a bit too quiet. I love all the visual feedback you get when clicking on the fish things, makes it more satisfying somehow.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15pm

The presentation and graphics are great.

javierecf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

Interesting game, the visuals and audio effects are nice and smooth, the texts dissapear really fast, i can hardly read 3 at the same time while focusing on clicking on more, but i guess that the effect of the "glitches" as you call them.

Overall, interesting and fun.

shasharala says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:58pm

This is a really fun little game! I really like the mechanics, they are easy to get a hang of in a very short amount of time, allowing for the gameplay to take off right away.

The lack of story or anything, besides racking up points and killing those fish is refreshing, actually. It does well to support the theme of "Beneath the Surface" but in an amusing sort of way, as its satisfied, not only with fish, but glitches, suggesting all is not as it seems.

Delca says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:27am

The graphics were awesome, and I loved the gameplay! Got 303 fishes in 210 seconds. The audio was minimalist, but fitting.
Overall, an excellent entry. Congratulations!

Alex Rose says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:39am

Man, I absolutely love the easing and tweening you've done with all the effects and writing on the screen. There's so many updates too, I love a lot of features. Did overwhelm me a little, but I'm rubbish at micromanagement and choosing what purchases to get etc. (I'm terrible at tower defense e.g.

But this was really well made, visually very pleasing, you really nailed that Vlambeer game "feel", all around a really great entry. Nice one.

May 9, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Didn't Vlambeer tell you not to do clones? Go say sorry right now!

Just kidding, this was pretty great. I'm digging the graphics, and I actually also like the mechanics concept, although I'm not sure the upgrade system suits the game type. And the upgrade interface could definitely be quicker to use.

Fülo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Nice!!! keep on creating great games.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]