Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crystal Advance

by flashkick - Jam Entry

The web version sometimes gets 503 errors when loading so you may need to reload the page a few times if the progress counter stops.

To run the game on Windows run the nw.exe file. If that doesn't work try running the run.bat file or type in "nw ." in the command line without quotes.

For other platforms it is possible to run the game if you have node.js and the connect module by running "node local-dev.js" and navigating to http://localhost:32154/.

Controls:
Use the WASD or the Arrow keys to move.
Z or J to attack.
Space or Up to jump.
Shift to run.

Joystick is enabled but has not been tested.
To enable the joystick press any non-directional button while the game is in focus.
(Based on the xbox 360 controller layout)
D-pad or joystick for movement.
A for jumping.
RT for running.

The goal is to destroy all crystals in each level to advance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#216Fun(Jam)3.26
#403Overall(Jam)3.15
#450Graphics(Jam)3.18
#477Theme(Jam)2.95
#588Humor(Jam)1.96
#608Mood(Jam)2.60
#626Audio(Jam)1.95
#693Innovation(Jam)2.23

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Great game and polish! Impressive.

Galan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Nice game, but wow does it get tough fast! I like it!

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

It's great, good design

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

Nicely polished. Those darn floaty guys won't let me past! :P

Eirikir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

Nice! it's fun to play.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25am

I think you have a good concept on your hand. It's a bit too floaty and slow. I really like the damage indicators, and the player character art is cool, would love to see that applied to the crystals and enemies. Nice submission!

Fib says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Great submission. Congrats on completing it. The floaty things are really difficult :)

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice one - very slick scrolling and player movement! Graphics are pretty good too!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Very tough! Loved the animations and artwork.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:39am

The player movement is nice and smooth. With a soundtrack, this would be a killer entry.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49am

Great game, those floaty ghost things are evil.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50am

It's well balanced. I liked it :)

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

Overall, I thought it was a decent entry. When the mortars and ghosts are together, it gets really tough. I liked how it used the theme though, both of the digging down and how the next area was covered until the crystals were shot. One of the better games overall.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:05am

It's got nice flow, and I ended up liking the somewhat floaty physics, but those same floaty physics made it pretty difficult to take on the projectile shooting enemies in a better manner than "run to the crystals and keep going down!"

More audio really would've helped. It's a good game!

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:13am

Great game:), works great with a controller too:), Quite fun actually, I ended up getting swamped by at least 15 of the floating skull enemies XD Great job! my only (personal preference) issue is that I (personally) would rather not have up on the joystick do anything, I know A is already jump, so I think it would be better on its own, but thats no detriment to the game:)

oranebeast says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47pm

It was great, The crystal idea felt new and exiting!

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Nicely done! Damn ghosts, but it was somehow a new approach to classic plateformer, which made it cool. Nice title too, self-explanatory. :D

rogberth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I liked it, it was fun.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:00pm

The graphics are nice but it's too bad the bullets don't travel further.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:37pm

This is a nice entry, with good polish and level design! It's well-tuned, and I had some very exciting moments when I was trying to kill the creatures on successively smaller platforms. That said, the character and gameplay right now, other than the crystals mechanic, feel a bit too much like Cave Story and other such platformers--visually and mechanically--for me to get really enthusiastic about it. You've got great level design skills, so I hope you keep running with these concepts and bring in a newer visual direction.

(Also, add some music in a post-compo version? I think this is one of those games that it would really help out!)

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:17am

Really awsome! Nice graphics!

Cawrtz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:24pm

I can't play your game, I get "Uncaught TypeError: Cannot set property 'id' of null pixi.dev.js:5812".
Chromium (last version), Ubuntu 12.04

:/

flashkick says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:39pm

@Cawrtz: That part of pixi's code seems to have to do with the renderer type. The game uses WebGL as the renderer instead of falling back to the canvas. I'm not sure if Chromium has WebGL on by default but there might be a flag in chrome://flags for it.

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Like the sprites. Like the feel of it. I feel like you should be able to walk through the spikes instead of having to jump over them. Ghosts are pretty tough!

berunu says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:21am

good operability and good design!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]