Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

unllum

by adnzzzzZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Balthazar, the White Technomage, cast a program that banished you to the depths of post-Earth. Survive the terrors that await you... [Beneath The Surface] ..................................................................................................m.e.n.a.c.i.n.g..........................................................................................................

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Graphics4.50
#43Theme4.00
#45Mood4.00
#83Overall3.86
#93Innovation3.91
#243Fun3.43
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

leafo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

beautiful!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Good game.

eastes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Some 5 start for you! Love the Black and White

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

The program ran too slowly on my computer for me to kill the little red things (I assume I'm supposed to click them?) but the artistic design of this is delightful.

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Love the graphics, but found it hard to figure out how to play. It really needs some instructions, or a tutorial or something.

tchem says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Strange, beautiful, very amospheric game,,, i loved it,,, interesting adaptation of the theme... :)

sstrandberg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Gorgeous, although a bit confusing.

Clavus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Really nice! Though I found it a bit confusing. I quickly ran out of mana in the later stages. Also I think there's a bug that when you die, if you reach the next stage in your next life, your health and mana start out 0.

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58am

Neat! The controls seem a little funky and take some getting used to.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

Love the vibe and art style.

rubna says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I really love the graphics/shaders on this! Too bad it doesn't run fast enough to play the game very well on my computer :( It also really misses sound. Maybe a post-compo version with optimised stuffs? pretty please?

Great job nonetheless!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

This game looks really great but there is a weird bug that make your mana and health bars disappear sometimes. (when you change level is what happened to me the most)

The ambient is absolutely awesome, great job. I'd like to see a post compo version with music and sounds.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Oh wow, this had a really fantastic art style and introduction to its mechanics-- one of the only games that I'd give a 5/5 to in theme. It's a shame it ran so slow, because that made it kind of unplayable. But yeah, fix that, add in some nice sound, and you've got something really amazing.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:18am

Great! I love that kind of art style, looks always cool. This feels like: "I WANT to play it again and again, and I don't exactly know WHY!" Awesome work. However, you need some audio and performance optimisation.

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Beautiful, but difficult and confusing.
Nice work :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]