Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Little Viking

by pythong - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARNING: THIS GAME IS HARD, AND INTENDED TO BE SO!

You are a little viking, who follows his idols to the dungeons of Loki! Unfortunately, all the adult vikings are dead, because Loki, mischievious as he is, had lots and lots of traps in his dungeons. Will you be able to survive?

Left/Right or A/D to move, SPACE to jump


*I'M DONE. I caught a cold on the second day, but still pulled through because I didn't want my efforts on the first day go to waste. But I would have loved to make even harder levels. Have fun!*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#110Humor3.44
#342Audio3.10
#393Graphics3.41
#474Mood3.07
#654Overall3.09
#923Fun2.59
#1036Theme2.52
#1134Innovation2.19

Comments

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13am

Are you kidding me? Double spikes on a slant? ... -_- Sadly, I could not get past this jump before I rage quit. Comic style is awesome. Music seemed to be mocking me after my 50th+ try...

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17am

Nice game. Just a bit frustrating sometimes as some levels are pretty challenging. Check out my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34910

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Finished it with 32 deaths. Most importantly, it was fun! The level where you have to keep jumping up was the best.

The difficulty curve was inconsistent though - some levels I only died once, others many times.

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Great looking game, let down by the double spikes on the slant. There's hard, and then there's too hard and so early on in the game too. Would have loved to play further :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

- Love the Hägar the horrible-like style of the game and intro.
- The camera should be more zoomed out. It's hard to see obstacles and hazards along the path.
- Jump lacks control. It should be pressure sensitive (really easy to implement in unity and the default character controller already does that).

It's a really charming game, anyhow.
Kudos!

meteo65536 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Is that the keyboard cat music? :D it sounds a lot like it. I ragequit pretty early, but overall 4/5 for the voice acting/intro cinematic art.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Hi... Quite hard indeed! Lovely graphics and great tutorial, nice sound. Gjob!

anvoz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Really nice intro and graphics. I couldn't get through the double spikes.

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

liked the art & animation but just couldn't handle the 5 second wait on each death

NuvlearGames says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Good a bit unforgiving good music good graphics and animations especially the death one(of which I saw many times) couldnt get past second level, but well done

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:33am

Bonus point for the kid paddle art :)

Making a hard game may have been your intention, and I like those games, but the difficulty curve was really steep. I can't tell how many tries I needed to pass that first obstacle on the slope.

Next time I think it would be a good idea to make 1 or 2 additional easy levels, just to let the player get a hand of the controls

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:41pm

cat plays the piano? :)

javifugitivo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:18am

Nice little platform game, the difficulty is a bit high, but good job!

petey123567 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Nice little platformer! Man, double ramp spikes is rough. Want to be able to restart faster though after I die. Music is kinda catchy!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]