Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

MANIFOLD

by microwerx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is MANIFOLD: a whack-a-mole variation of Biblical proportions. You play a character who throws his gold idol at moles to destroy them.

Use WASD or Arrow keys to navigate. Press SPACE to shoot. Sometimes the idol doesn't go in the right direction but just try the different keys to get it unstuck. Oh, one last thing...the player doesn't die.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#548Audio2.79
#769Humor2.15
#922Mood2.58
#947Fun2.55
#950Graphics2.55
#996Theme2.62
#1026Overall2.68
#1085Innovation2.28

Comments

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

chrome display a "virus alert" when I downloaded the binaries.

microwerx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Yea, that's simply because it's a new file to the internet; therefore, not too many people have downloaded it and Chrome will try to warn you of that fact (not that it may have actually checked it for viruses). I encourage you to scan it with a real virus checker to confirm that it is safe.

f7f5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

sorry, I don't have windows :(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

File is safe.

Game feels unfinished but has a lot of potential. T'was fun, but I got stuck in a wall corner on level 4. You might also want to decrease your mole counter on kill rather than despawn, as the delay feels a bit weird.

All in all, good job!

Voxnexus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52pm

It says i'm missing a certain .dll when I try to run it?

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:02pm

The shooting in the wrong direction thing really is a problem that need to be fixed. The game itself is lacking depth. There needs to be something more. The intro was pretty nice and designed exactly for my reading speed.

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

@davidB, no worries; Chrome displays a "virus alert" (what it actually says is that the file is not well known and MIGHT be dangerous) for any while that has only been downloaded by a small number of Chrome users, ie. any very new file or any file only interesting to a small minority of Chrome users.

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Fun game, really solid controls and fun gameplay.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Game was missing MSVCP120.dll and wouldn't start.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

The audio, both music and sound effects, is very good, and I liked the intro with the bible quote!

Graphics are alright, but gameplay is a tad pointless since you can't lose. You'd probably want to invest more time in that department in the next LD.

If it interests you, I hit a bug where you got stuck near a corner and couldn't move.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I like how fast the player moves, but the bug you mention in the description can get annoying at times.

microwerx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Thanks for the comments folks. These are all pretty much issues I have on my "Things I wish I'd figured out before I started" list! Hehe. It's mildy distracting to have to figure out how to make sure you don't get stuck in corners in the middle of a 48 hour contest! For example, it's missing the bats and random earthquakes and a better maze for the levels.

microwerx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

For those of you missing DLL files, please install this redistributable package from Microsoft.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Arf. Not Win32, right? Such a shame. Poor old computer... No fun games for you tonight.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

A got stuck in a wall :( But the first two levels seemed pretty fun

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Simple game but oddly fun.

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I played some waves until I got stuck not being able to control the player anymore.

I had fun playing it :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Missing MSCVP120.dll, cant run :(

VDOgamez says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:16am

I really liked the fast paced gameplay, even though it made it hard to aim. It made the game feel really fun. The game felt like it was missing a failure condition, however, something to be trying to prevent. Also, the aiming controls seem to not respond all the time to the last direction you pressed, which is a bit frustrating.

microwerx says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:03am

I fixed that keyboard bug. I was assigning the missile DX/DY coordinates when the game loop was processing keyboard input, but not when the key was being pressed...big difference.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Couldn't run :(

microwerx says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:16am

I added the DLL files to the binary ZIP. Please let me know if it doesn't run out of the box for you...Thanks!

rojo says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Cool take on the theme. The guy moves way, way too fast on my machine, which makes me think your gameplay code is tied to FPS rather than time slices. Still it was playable and blowing up the moles felt really good. Nice sound too. A little more challenge would be good (something my own game could use). Maybe limited shots or something would be a positive change.

Benjamin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Its not working here. I'm getting an error as soon as I launch the game. I'm running window7

Teesquared says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:56am

The intro did a great job of setting the mood. Good music too. I like the firing mechanic. The moles aren't much of a challenge.

JordanFitz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:41am

Fun game, I liked the effects when the moles died :P

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:35am

Nice implementation of the quote. Had a hard time whacking the moles.

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Good death animation for the moles!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]