Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sub Human

by AdamSwaggoner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control two platformers mirrored across the middle of the screen. Interesting puzzles arise from the dichotomy. I made this game with a /Minor/ concussion so it may not be totally coherent.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Fun3.73
#117Innovation3.81
#203Overall3.58
#286Theme3.58
#329Audio3.12
#414Graphics3.38
#420Mood3.14
#523Humor2.47
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Cool mechanic. Had a few audio glitches, but the gameplay was solid.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

Neat idea. Pressing that button up on the wall and jumping with the other guy at the same time gave me a lot of grief :P.

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28am

Really nice game. I had a lot of difficulty with the last level but overall I really enjoyed it. Nicely done.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Fascinating idea. Well done.

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

short but really interesting concept, need moar levels ^^ !!!

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Really good leveldesign, I'm seriously impressed.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

Pretty solid entry, like it. But the game is a little bit glitchy though, sometimes I can double jump out of the window, maybe fix it :D

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57am

nice game, fun puzzles. enjoyed finishing it. and enjoyed the music a lot more than i'd expect, for such a short loop

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Kinda cool idea, not really thematically relevant though. A little repetitive, especially the audio.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:48am

Solid entry! I didn't personally have any trouble with glitches, but I did stand on top of the sideways-facing button in order to keep it pressed down (the level was too difficult for me otherwise ._.). With the name, I had expected it to be a game about psychology, but instead... it was a mirror platformer! I like your game design. I hadn't seen any of these types of games using buttons, and it made for some interesting puzzling before long.

Artylo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:38pm

A fairly common mechanic, but you made it fun again, simple, yet challenging. The music is kinda repetitive but I couldn't ask for more from a 48 hour game. Overall, a fairly good game.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:31am

The links don't work any more. "This tracking link is no longer available."

AdamSwaggoner says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:23am

Oh, thanks for pointing that out! I'll fix it right away.

littleball says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Top game, well done.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:27am

I would have loved to have seen more of this! The concept is really good and the levels you have utilize it very well. I really expected to see more levels, though, and there is so much more that you could have done with the concept. But I'll blame that on the concussion. :P

There's also a weird bug that lets the top character double jump sometimes. Plus, the fact that some buttons in the final level stay pressed while all other buttons need you to be standing on them to stay pressed is kind of weird, and something should have marked those sticky buttons as being different. But other than that (and the length), I have no complaints. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]