Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Surface Shape Shifter

by sP0CkEr2 - Jam Entry

In another dimension the Shifters play with Time and Space using Colors and Shapes. They bend the very fabric of Time by continually altering their existence. Living for thousands of years but what seems like seconds...blah...blah...blah...oh whatever!

Thank you for considering to play "Super Surface Shape Shifter". This is a simple game where the object is to change the shape of your player by penetrating the surface with other shapes that match in Shape or Color. Powerups and Bonuses help you get super high scores.

What level can you get to?

What will your high score be?

Hi Scores and Levels are saved using Scoreoid.

Thanks for Playing!

Team Hocker

Edit 4/29: fix a major bug that was causing the game to crash. sorry!

Edit 5/4: Took down Win/Mac/Linux link until fixed.

Warning: Don't pause the game if you dont need to. There is a serious glitch in the pause system. Fixed!

Note: Linux/Mac/Windows Version are almost complete.

Note Dos:
This game gets very hard at later levels. If you have an Adroid, try playing on that using the APK provided.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#222Fun(Jam)3.25
#240Audio(Jam)3.35
#344Innovation(Jam)3.07
#382Humor(Jam)2.53
#387Overall(Jam)3.18
#603Mood(Jam)2.62
#630Graphics(Jam)2.66
#739Theme(Jam)1.83

Comments

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Interesting, could have been a bit faster paced though. Or gotten faster as the levels progressed.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

it does get fast after level 5

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

Great music! and a really cool star field! Nice work!

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

very different mechanics. I didn't expect that from the images but they were intuitive nevertheless. I also enjoyed your particle effects

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

It was a little tough to figure out what to do. It needs instructions. Once I figured it out, though, it was all right. The graphics and sound were kind of simple, but they fit perfectly.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31am

Nice job. It's quite addicting! I kept playing until level 6 at that point I didn't feel like it got any harder. I kept trying to juggle multiple objects, but I didn't feel like I was rewarded for doing that. The challenge I feel should escalate maybe a bit more. Does it save your score even if you don't die and just quit by accident?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59am

thanks - no you have to submit your score - I did not feel like making it too hard until level 10 - maybe I should rethink that - adding combos was thought of, but no time to work the mechanics in - thanks for the feedback

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

I had a pretty good time with this actually. I didn't pick it up right away, but a quick trial and error made it super early to learn. I kept trying to save shapes for later, but it's tough. The difficulty curve felt a bit slow, though, overall.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

This is addictive!
Nice idea!

pikkpoiss says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05am

This was fun :) I do wish the controls were more obvious though - took me a while to realize I could drag the entities, and I should have read more carefully because I didn't quite get that I had to match shape or color right away. Felt like my wrist was getting pretty tired playing on my laptop trackpad so I feel like a mouse is very much needed for this game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08am

better yet tablet - glad you enjoyed the game and thanks for the feedback

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Played the card game Blink before, by any chance? :D Really cool!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27pm

thanks - and no i never heard of it before. i just looked it up and very similar. i hope its not on itunes!!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:18am

It starts off a little too slow, but once it picks up it gets a quite fun.

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:19am

Very cool idea. Who would have thought that just matching shapes could be so much fun or interesting. It's fairly addictive, and the music is a big help there. Very nicely done.

JavadocMD says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:28am

There was something oddly very satisfying about this game. Well done! I like the soothing nature of the sound effects, good choice there. I would have kept trying for a higher score, but I think the star background was making me a little motion sick. Could just be because I need sleep.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Nice idea, simple game but quite addictive, I liked the audio too! :)

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:59am

The wildcard-star won my heart ;)

2HitAdam says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Pretty good all round, could have easily started at round4 and I would have liked it to be 2 - 3 times as fast, not very challenging as is. Still, very cool and polished entry, great music and visuals, well done! :)

May 2, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Quite the interesting game! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:19am

thanks for the review - sorry the screen was too big for ya.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:54am

Star field effect was very cool. Love the shape spin flourishes when I fling them off to the side. Felt like I was waiting a very long time for shapes I cared about to drop sometimes. One suggestion I can offer, maybe if the shapes drop in waves of 3 or 4 at a time, then you have the challenge of picking a sequence of shapes that you can shift into in quick succession for a higher score? On the whole, good work. I enjoyed trying this one out.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:17pm

thats funny i was thinking about adding waves last night - great minds - glad you enjoyed the game - spread the word - thanks

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:36am

I kind of though this was going to be a bit repetitive at the start but I ended up playing it for ages, I REALLY liked the audio, the music sounded like 80s electro pop music like new order or something, and the sfx were sweet!

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:04am

The game is definitely fun, but I'm not sure how much it relates to the theme. I know you say it, but I think it's a stretch since it's pretty much just shape matching. That said, it's the jam, so it doesn't matter SO much and the game is still a lot of fun.

I liked the music, I liked the gameplay, and I enjoyed how it sped up. The art could be better, but that's sort of expected. A few of the menu options were empty, so I probably wouldn't have included them.

Those are pretty much all of my thoughts. Nicely put together, I think if you kept working on it this would be especially fun on phones so I'm glad you've already gone that far. :)

Lyje says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:30am

Took me a while to figure out the mechanics but after that it was fun for a short time! I like the music and then screen shake effects.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:55pm

The Desktop download link throws the following error:

"The requested URL /ld29 was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request."

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:06pm

thannks @RickHoppman I will get that fixed - sorry folks

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:20am

Good work! Nice music!

copain says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:50am

good idea, but i'm not sure that the drag'n drop is the best mechanics for this idea (or maybe on mobil...)

SoupWithBits says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:35am

Looks and sounds pretty cool, gets a little slow after a while.
All in all, pretty sweet game.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:18pm

I really liked the bells and whistles. Oh and the audio too, I could listen to that all day. Great job guys!

Waterman7 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:10pm

The gameplay was surprisingly compelling, well done!
Pacing was a bit too slow for my taste, it never really got hard on me. I only died because I never knew when invincibility ended and got screwed right after.
Anyway, great job!

capnramses says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:03am

i played the android version on a nexus 10. it works really well. the music and audio are spot on for that sort of game. the touch controls work really well. i felt like it could have been a lot more challenging - or perhaps the easy levels can go by more quickly. the graphical effects are excellent. the high scores list is nice.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Sure, it's simple but a lot of fun and quite polished.

Gwinnell says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Highscores? Neat! Nice transitions on the menus, but the options and about screen are missing! Music reminds me of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pg9DBCZdTTc , which is to say it's awesome. First two levels were a little slow, and it seemed to reset the sector/level when I paused/unpaused the game to write this comment. :( Oh, and good use of Unity Cartoon FX pack. :p

edibletoaster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Music's pretty great. Played the game for 10 stages and it didn't bother me at all. Nice easy to learn mechanics and overall good design. Was a bit too easy I feel, difficulty could be ramped up a bit earlier than it was. Keep working on this.

woodenrabbit says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:53am

You put in a ton of nice little details! I really got into it the more I played.

I really liked the music as well. Definitely a fun game. I played it on windows, but I bet it'd be a ton of fun as a mobile game. If I had an android tablet I would have tried it out.

You should put it on the android marketplace!

caranha says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:44am

Really fun, got up to level 10 and 200k points before giving up. The basic mechanics and the sounds are really solid.

I wish the game got a bit faster at higher levels, and vertical orientation might have been a better choice. Also, sometimes it felt that the touch hitbox for the enemies was smaller than I was expecting.

The flip animation when tapping an enemy was a nice touch.

IcyLava says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Really unique, I like it and it's pretty fun. The music and sounds were good and I liked the simplistic graphics. Good work :)

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Nice game, lot of fun playing it :)

Btw you can test our patched version of underwater engineer :)

TeamFlare says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Cool idea and a really fun experience. Could play this all day long. Great!

conormn says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:43am

Really great game, mechanics for sure lend themselves nicely to touch screen. Well done.

illugion says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Really solid and cool, would be great to play on android !

Zanzlanz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:16pm

What a nicely polished game!! If the gameplay was balanced a little more (more threats, a bit faster paced), this would be a perfect game to market ;) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]