Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

UHP Undeground Facility

by NiceAlexanderAS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* All the instructions are in the game (:

* This game needs .NET Framework 4.0 redistributable and XNA Framework 4.0 redistributable (im guessing the redistributable thing), I added the XNA in the ZIP (:

* Report any bugs immediately (also sorry for any typos)

* I have a fear that my game is going to run slow in some computers

This game took me almos all 48 hours X___x im so tired. But anyways thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#166Mood3.56
#263Audio3.24
#425Graphics3.36
#517Overall3.21
#607Fun2.96
#685Humor2.26
#935Theme2.75
#956Innovation2.53

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34am

This game is sick! Those graphics/art made the game every better! Keep it up! GameGrape Corporation: http://www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

Awesome atmosphere and ambiance!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28am

Good atmosphere. Seems really good for 48 hours.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

nice game! a little slow, but looks very polished. kinda difficult too. good job!

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

This was terrifying. Really good game

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27am

Nice looking game. But the gun doesn't seem to be working even after I pick up the items on the second screen. (on win7)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:43am

On the second part there is no guns, only ammo and health (for decoration) thats why xD

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09am

art so cute! ) awesome! great job

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

The gun seems to have almost no effect, but that made using the chainsaw better :P

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Yeah i forgot to mention that you need to hold fire to make the guns work xD

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Good graphics, really nice sound! AI is quite simple, and I'm really bad at the game :P

May 2, 2014 @ 5:11am

Nice atmosphere! The graphical style fits it well :)

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:05am

Great idea!!!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Love the ambience!

ccglp says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:38pm

This is very good, reminds me a lot to Hotline Miami

Crefossus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Interesting combat - as I found multiple tactics to overcome your enemies. I like how initially you learn that avoiding can be useful. Perhaps slightly less ammo overall so spending it or finding ammo is more meaningful. You can have that moment when you're like OH CRAP out of machine gun bullets... switch to pistol. "I'm such a smart player".

Nice particles and the rotating/facing you floor tiles are neat. I will say I thought that floor near the green floor tile was a wall at first.

Movement is a little boring - not sure if it's just slow or what. Sprint maybe (and you can't shoot then?)?

Great job with the difficulty considering the length of the game, although for me it depends heavily on the oldschool game design of memorize what's coming. That's valid though and it does this fairly effectively.

Pretty amazing what you accomplished in this time span! I had fun watching your timelapse :)

Cosine says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Stupid Norton, won't let me play. :(

iiechapman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Great mood going on here, the atmosphere was really tense. This felt like if you took Hotline Miami and make it scarier and more of an adventure game!

May 3, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Very good atmosphere. Movement could be "pepped up," seemed a little slow. Very impressed by how much you were able to pack in with such a short timespan!

mneubrand says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Nice game. Great atmosphere and graphics. Also not a straight forward shooter but you have to think about how you're going to approach the next enemy

kikaz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Great job, good atmosphere, nice graphics, just to hard for me :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:14am

chainsaw - nuff said

goerp says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:09am

Good mood, good sound to go with it.
There was a decent build up of difficulty and starting out without weapons is a nice touch. I think some sound effects for the weapons would have helped.
I was surprised I couldn't go back through doors and was also surprised that I got killed. Some audio feedback would have helped there too, to give me a indication how much I got hit, how much I hit etc.

Otherwise, nice game.

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Pretty cool, but I would have preferred if the movement controls were relative to the player's facing (i.e. W always moves the player forward), and an aiming reticule to replace the cursor. The movement was also very sluggish which made it difficult to dodge. I really like the atmosphere and backstory though.

michelfontes says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:37am

Great tension!

Jason Lay says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:30am

The graphics were awesome. However I did find myself getting hung up on some corners, possibly due to the collision detection.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Nice game. It was surprisingly difficult to survive encounters with the gun-toting enemies.

ElStevo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:13am

Really nice, hard enough, but not too much. Nice design, classic mechanic, easy to get. Good job.

May 17, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Has some balancing issues (rate of fire for enemies is WAY too high, and it definitely needs some checkpoints), but otherwise feels like a very complete game. Thanks for taking the time to make this worth the while, this stands out from the crowd in terms of polish (not innovation though).

Favorite part was that you met a guy with a weapon before you even had a weapon, that was great.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]