Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

FishCopter

by minism - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game isn't quite as involved as some of my earlier games, but I'm happy with how it turned out with considering I was on the fence thursday about whether or not to compete in this LD.

This game is a realization of a dual-object mechanic idea I had several years ago but never had a reason to do, and it happened to work well enough with the theme that I figured I'd try it. The idea was to split the screen into two areas that you need to pay attention to but with a singular control interface. I'm happy with how the feel of the physics turned out...it actually feels pretty weird to have "weight" on your mouse.

I tried to make the game super silly and fun at the same time, but fair warning that it is probably very hard. I am bad at making games that are fair :(

Congrats everyone who finished, looking forward to playing your games!


CONTROLS / MECHANICS:

Move and shoot with the mouse, no keyboard required. I do recommend using a desktop mouse instead of a touchpad if you can.

Catch as many fish as you can in your bucket without dying. Don't let your bucket bump into those pillars in the water or you'll lose fish. I'll be impressed if you can get over 1000 pounds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#60Fun3.85
#193Audio3.41
#208Innovation3.59
#240Overall3.53
#305Humor2.86
#385Mood3.18
#607Theme3.21
#718Graphics2.91

Comments

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

That was hard to focus on all these things at once :D
Touchpad would have been impossible. Nice game mate!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

I love it. Feels like an old NES game except for the suspension line with it's fine rotation. I especially like the music. I gottta get some chiptunes going.

Kiyaku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

This feels so nostalgic even though it's brand new, i love it :D Nice idea, very smooth gameplay, awesome music!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

Nive tunes & game mechanic.

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

384 pounds was my best in 5 attempts. Great mix of simplicity and difficulty. My only wish is that there were some more realistic physics with the rope. Nice work!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

I like the combination of being a shooter and dealing with underwater tasks at the same time. Like others have said, it has a good nostalgic feel to it, especially with the music and sounds. Despite the nostalgia, the controls are perfectly modern, very smooth, and the physics of the bucket and everything is a nice touch. Good job all around.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really proper enjoyed that, reminds me of the sort of game I used to try making on the Amiga only better done. A good old-fashioned arcade game, plays really well. Loads of fun, really put a smile on my face. Good work!

agmcleod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00am

Was trying with a touchpad, not gone well lol. Still, a really neat idea. I think this could work well with touch controls & a shoot button.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21am

Split focus was handled really nicely

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52am

Pretty cool, simple and very fun. Music is very catchy too, I liked this a lot :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28am

Very nice game. Had fun playing it. Although the graphics on there own were fairly low quality, I thought the game all together had a very pleasing look.

Nice job.

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:36pm

hha! That's fun. OMG bumping a column is BRUTAL... was on a good run when I found that out :) Feels like a classic game that never was. Excellent work!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

I ended up being surprised with how much I liked the controls. Water animation and missles were great too!

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:27am

I enjoyed playing this game. It's almost like it's two games at the same time, that you've put together in a very solid manner. Good job, keep it up!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:12pm

neat and funny!

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Fun little game. It is a bit expensive way to fish, but a fun way!

May 4, 2014 @ 2:55am

This is a fun game. Hard to control with just a touch pad though, and I don't know that I can shoot :v Keep avoiding those copter with misiles until there's 5 of them :v

Troy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:01am

A simple but unique take on the theme. It actually becomes way harder than you first think. Great job!

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:14am

hahahah this was great!! my favourite game so far! i tried really hard to beat 1000 points but i couldn't. i think it's very well balanced, easy enough to get addictive, hard enough to brutally destroy you when you think you're doing alright. really well done (why does everyone that uses love2d seem so pro?)

josefnpat says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:50am

Screw those sharks! Nice job! Fun theme, great mechanics!

GlowingSnail says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Nicely original. But yeah it's hard. I keep bumping into the water. :(

TobiasW says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Interesting controls - I feel like games like this are usually controlled by keyboard, but the mouse worked really well! The whole thing felt strangely physical, I like it. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]