Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Crusade!

by jamesy012 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just a java game I made for this Ludum dare,

To play it you just need a mouse

It's missing sounds
And has my weird textures :3

I Hope you enjoy it :P

(Sorry still cant work out applets)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#483Humor2.53
#880Innovation2.63
#1051Fun2.40
#1161Overall2.44
#1163Theme2.17
#1164Mood2.05
#1237Graphics1.74
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

anthonyl says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:05am

fun and kind of wacky, i like it a lot

anthonyl says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:07am

the wall is way overpowered

abayb says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:09am

That's pretty cool, although I was defeated by the wall a few too many times...

dejant says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Damn, that wall :)
Nice game!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:12am

I liked the flavor text you get from each completed battle. Interesting idea.

Celt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:21am

I lost the battle, i couldn't finish my journey :( this was weird but not bad...i guess? :)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34am

Surprisingly fun game, the game crashed for me when killing the wall I expected something to happen. Would have been nice with an ending and some more possible choices during battle. Would also have been nice with some goal or progresscounter.

Jed T. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:37am

I like the strategy mechanic of it. But it's all based on random I think. Then I got defeated by an army wall :(

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:39am

Nice idea and interesting game certainly. But as it stands it is very random if you even stand a chance to survive the first encounter. A better progression would have been nice. :-)

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:41am

It's an okay game. The battle system is very lackluster and there wasn't much explanation on what to do. Still good and I hope it improves in the future

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Could have done with some balancing - that wall is a tough mistress :(

Fun game otherwise though.

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:15pm

the game ended after defeating the wall. but it a fun game till then! would like to play it again with more features

jestar_jokin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Hm, for some reason it doesn't work for me. I get the three buttons, but not the title screen graphic. Clickin on the "Play le game" button doesn't seem to do anything. Using Java 7 x64.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Very much in need of some instructions! It's cool though, made me laugh. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]