Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface (tm)

by Jed T. - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath the Surface Entry (sorry I forgot to think of a name)

As an orphan you always wondered why your uncle took you as his real son.
Even though he's lived his entire life as a poor fisherman.
He made sure you had something to eat. But now he passed away.
Give him a proper wake, a coffin, and a lot in the cemetery
these will cost to you 3000 gold coins. Use your uncle's boat and
dive beneath the surface of the ocean to catch fish using your spear.
Remember, you must take care of your self - eat and rest
Instructions
On land: Use WASD key to move around and SPACEBAR to use objects
On water: Use the mouse to set the orientation of your boat
then use the WASD to maneuver it around.
Press the mouse button to use your spear.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#530Mood3.00
#719Innovation2.84
#928Audio1.90
#1014Humor1.70
#1019Fun2.44
#1023Graphics2.44
#1036Theme2.52
#1036Overall2.67

Comments

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:30am

Pretty cool :)

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

I became very emotional while playing this game *tear*

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Depressing story. I liked the mood established by the game, but there wasn't much to it gameplay-wise. I always sailed right next to fish then jumped out, fired, and jumped back in immediately.

Jed T. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

thanks, I didn't really plan initially with this type of mood I guess I just couldn't find a lighter goal.

ix, As for the gameplay, you're right and there is lot's of of room for improvement. But I was really disappointed to myself with the the pace of development.

For example, I was not able to hit some of the milestones early and that caused some of the other elements to be abandoned. One mechanic that was abandoned were sharks.

Zed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Really nice idea. The story was lovely, although the ending was very 'abrupt'. Also, after upgrading the boat once, I felt like I was just sort-of doing the same thing over and over again, and spent most of my time waiting for the fish to respawn.

Very solid, though. Enjoyed it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Where exacly is "Under surface" part?

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I'm constantly running out of fuel D:

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

I like the slice of life-ness of it. I would rather the controls had been keyboard only, though.

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:41am

Good idea. The controls are a bit fiddly and the fuel went out a bit quickly, but overall a very good entry.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:54am

cool game liked the concept not to much gameplay wise but a nice story makes up for that

bob_fish says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Pretty fun, collision and controls were kinda annoying at times. Maybe make it take a bit longer before you starve. Nice game though and story.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:10pm

This game relies too much on waiting, since you need to wait for the fish to respawn all the time there isn't much to do. The diving controls gets bugged out all the time as well making the game more or less unplayable.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

Very well done! The swimming and spearing mechanic was very clever!

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:47am

really liked the graphics, got kinda confused by the "hunger" bar getting smaller the hungrier you are :p

May 1, 2014 @ 10:00am

Charming graphics and interesting story! I'd love to see more complete version of this with the things you didn't have time to put in, like the sharks you were talking about!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I like the story and the atmosphere. Perhaps adding some tutorial might help, as I'm not sure what to do and why at the first play. :)

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Well, I starved to death because I was having too much fun spear fishing.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Neat graphics, funny concept!

kikaz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Very solid gameplay, interesting concept, too sad for me, otherwise, good entry ! nice job !

Rock48 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:46am

Pretty neat, sad story, nice graphics, bit too difficult. If you want, I'll compile it for linux for you, though it seems to run pretty well with wine.

Rock48 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:48am

I was impatient for you to answer so I did it anyway: here's a linux version:

https://db.tt/PnCOzNRl

you'll need libsfml, on ubuntu/similar it would be:

sudo apt-get libsfml-dev

OR if you're really up to it you can install each library individually.

Rock48 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:48am

oops: sudo apt-get install libsfml-dev

Jed T. says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 8:00am

Thank you @Rock48! unfortunately I can't edit the page anymore. But I appreciate your help :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]