Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rain Dance

by 7heSAMA - Jam Entry

Hey... at least I finished. Play as a lone samurai wandering an abandoned village, killing little green squares with your sword and defective gun that actually just lays mines. It's a feature! Learn to use your imagination and control frustration! No install, just unzip. Made in XNA using my collision engine (and some reference), everything else was scratch. Hint: Enemies won't spawn inside the bounds of buildings. Note: Will get laggy after a while; reset the level with R.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#391Innovation(Jam)2.97
#528Humor(Jam)2.17
#616Graphics(Jam)2.70
#626Audio(Jam)1.95
#651Overall(Jam)2.65
#670Mood(Jam)2.37
#716Fun(Jam)2.10
#729Theme(Jam)1.93

Comments

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

Had a bit of trouble playing it but I really love the visual effects etc

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Thanks for playing EdibleToaster, was it a problem with the controls or some kind of bug?

bushmango says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

my son really likes it

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Game was interesting, overall the graphics, while simplistic were actually somewhat nice and smooth to the eye. The interface was clean and easy to understand. Not bad.

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I did not manage to use my sword so I just laid mines all around. I had some trouble to keep my score above 0 this way :p

jomomomo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Can't play windows games, any chance we could get a web version?

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Bushmango: glad to hear it!
MunkeeBacon: Thanks. Happy to hear graphics didn't grate.
tuxxilla: Yeah, I made some mistakes with the combat system. I'm still working on it and it's improving.
jomomomo: Sadly can't on the web version; it's made in XNA which can't be run in browser. :/

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

I didn't find a link to the theme.

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Hm, couldn't get it to run. I'm on Win7 64bit if that helps at all.

Makai says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:16pm

You made a game! :)

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:21pm

pumpkin: I was hoping to have a vague plot that would tie into the theme, ran out of time.
mimic: Thanks for trying, it's probably because you don't have the XNA redistributable but I'm not entirely sure how that works. I'll edit in a warning though.
Makai: I sure did and I couldn't be more proud! *^v^*

Makai says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22pm

What are katana and cannon?

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Couldn't get to run. Same setup as the other guy/girl Win7 64-bit

May 1, 2014 @ 12:00am

nothing happens when i launch it for some reason.. win8.1 64bit

May 1, 2014 @ 12:11am

ah it was the XNA i didnt install.. should of read it ;p anyways i found it quite hard to do anything ..constantly dying ..quite like the gfx tho..good job :)

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:25am

Got a score of 97 by surrounding myself with the dots. I was a little confused by the controls (not the controls themselves, but more specifically what the weapons were doing). I had a cannon and a katana, but all that seemed to happen was I would drop little dots that acted like land mines.

Now that said, you did get a working game made, which is an awesome achievement, and perhaps just some terminology changes in the game would have made this make a bit more sense (which you did kinda address in the description). It's also really cool that you put the whole thing together from scratch rather than use an engine or a lot of prebuilt stuff.

7heSAMA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Makai: The weapons, release space to charge with your Katana, hold space to charge up your cannon and then you use that till you run out of power. It's confusing, I know.

mjrevel: Sorry about that :/

howieV: Hey thanks for installing it just for me. It is pretty hard, glad you liked the graphics though.

dalbinblue: Yeah, I didn't mean to make the cannon/mines the only viable option but that's how it turned out... anyways, thanks, hopefully the post-compo version will be better.

jtpup0 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:11pm

neat

May 2, 2014 @ 8:25pm

The visual style is cool, however, my WASD doesn't work for some reason. I can't walk.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:41am

Controls were really difficult and the enemies very fast. I liked the graphics and the feeling though. With a bit tuning it could be very fun ! (I didn't understand the link with the theme at all)

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:33am

Im not sure what Im supposed to do, I press space and the camera moves up then goes down again and the names below say error...?

CodeNMore says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Interesting, neat game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]