Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inspector Badass

by Elisée - Jam Entry

A rogue-like made in 72h by 7 people using CraftStudio - http://craftstud.io/

"I went on a mission, deep in the city's underground.
There, the worst criminals had had it too easy for too many years.
They were untouchable and I had finally gotten tired of playing good cop.
I went beneath the surface with nothing but my coat, my fists
and an unquenchable thirst for some sweet, brutal justice."

Inspector Badass has always been looking out for the little guy.
But now it's time to take care of what the system couldn't.
Go beneath the surface and clear the city underground from all the scum!

Gameplay video for the lazy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8waPBM_rBWA

----

On Windows: Better performances than the Web version! Recommended for slow PCs.
You'll need the XNA framework redistributable to play.
You probably already have it but just in case, the link is above!

On the Web: Chrome and Firefox work fine. IE11 seems to work but might be slow.

----

Team: @2pblog1, @Bilou844, @schouillette, Malixcel, @Matthtz, @Canardu57, @elisee

Inspector Badass is voiced by @BaerTaffy - http://youtube.com/BaerTaffy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#15Overall(Jam)4.18
#18Fun(Jam)4.03
#31Graphics(Jam)4.48
#41Humor(Jam)3.81
#51Audio(Jam)3.97
#91Mood(Jam)3.79
#407Innovation(Jam)2.93
#463Theme(Jam)2.98

Comments

Sink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

Fantastic game! It was really fun to beat dudes up. Great presentation! The only thing is that I never really understood what to do after I got 100%.

Elisée says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

Thanks! When you get to 100% evidence, you get the warrant and that unlocks the boss door... Beat it and you'll get to the next zone with a different boss!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

This is incredible! Nice job guys!

DanDias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

Wonderful job! Solid game idea, fun and great humor!

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09am

Very nice. Good use of theme in story and atmosphere. I am very bad at this game, but I want to keep playing anyway. That's good stuff right there.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

"slow clap" .... "just keeps slow clapping" 5/5

Teejay5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42am

Love the look and presentation!

"Press X to 'Investigate'" <- that killed me

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

Really cool game. Loved the graphics. I didn't get too far though; got stuck in a corner behind a box =/

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37am

Aaaaah I loved the Graphics. Overall was such a nice flowing game

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

Great entry :D, good graphics and music.
It's outstanding that the game was done in 72h.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice looking one

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:26am

Rad art, great humor, fun, and very refreshing. There are only a few negatives: 1) theme connection is a bit weak and 2) the jumping kick is far faster and more effective than the punch combo, making the punch almost useless. I very much enjoyed my tame with the game! I was scared when the last guys came out with guns but I wrecked 'em.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36am

Really good game

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

I had a lot of fun with this one. Nice look and feel. Great humor! Well executed. Great work!

robopossum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21am

Great game nicely put together. My only issues are that the animations make it unclear whether I can attack up or downwards so I end up default to attacking sideways, which can feel a bit odd. Also the transition between levels is really sudden.

eowindil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08am

Really fun to play, and quite hard to finish !
The graphics, the humor and the music make a fantastic atmosphere !

The best Beat'em all made with Craftsudio :p

deviljam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32am

Loads of fun and will become something much better in time. Add Combos and multiplayer and you might have a modern Streets of Rage.

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52am

Fantastic entry. Just amazing. A bit hard, but the graphics are amazing. Wish the levels were a bit shorter, and had more variety, but woah, fantastic.

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Loved the graphics and the humour... But it's hard !
Seriously tho, these hard pixels are sexy as hell.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Really great work !
Awesome graphics and humour !

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Holy fuck this games looks sooooo gooood.
This is awesome. Even if the game is a bit too hard and the design needs some polish, I want to stuff like that more often.
Keep it up :D

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Really polished game here. (Dat voice acting.) I really liked the art, which is why I came here since I'm following one of you guys on Tumblr. Also, is that a TARDIS? Nice. Didn't get to play past the first level since flash crashed JUST as a finished it, but I'm totally trying again if I have time later.

niculistana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:59am

Humour is awesome! Game looks polished although the voice acting could get some work.

I think you should check out my game as well, people say it's has cool music and has potential:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=35234

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40am

good graphics, and a really good approach of animation!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:25pm

It's the best game ever. What else can I say ?
The game has sound effects, music and good voice over, gorgeous graphics, randomly generated levels, punks from the 80's, multiple levels... Very polished and complete game, I'm giving 5 stars in a lot of categories. Just a fantastic game, good work team!

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Awesome job! Craft studio has sure groxn up since the beginnig. You've made an awesome job, like every time :D

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Nice graphics, I liked the jump attack, very cool.
Audio and the general atmosphere of your game is awesome.
I wish to see some blood when I get damaged, it doesn't seem there is any feedback at all on this.

Elisée says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33pm

gre: totally agree, we had some blood particle effects planned but ran out of time!

Thanks from the whole team to everyone who played, rated & left comments so far, much appreciated! :)

guillou says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:48am

Awesome game as always guys. Pixel's sketches are super cool. Makes me want to go back to creating games with Craftstudio!

Tifu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Haha, Press X to investigate was great. This is really awesome! Love the art. Very hard though, but then... roguelike... part of the point I guess. Well done!

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Awesome game! The art & sound is very impressive. The gameplay is also very solid. Great job!

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:35pm

"Investigate" haha xD
Very cool entry :)

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:12pm

So, "justice" is about beating up all the black guys and stealing their money so you can afford drugs?

Jared Sartin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:42pm

NICE WORK! HELP ME FIND MY CAPSLOCK BUTTON. I HATE YELLING.

benmcnelly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:48am

Loved the graphics and animation!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Kick-ass game! Too bad it lagged for me... :/ I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! http://youtu.be/0CjJInaKTls

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:09pm

The style of this is great, and it has a damn funny premise.

It feels a little off that the characters don't turn away from the screen when moving upward, the punching felt a little clunky (If you were able to cancel the end of the animation into moving/jumping it would feel so much tighter), and that all the thugs were black felt kinda... unpleasant.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Nice music! Good job!

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:48am

Glorious art, though gameplay could use some polish. Still lots of fun!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:50am

this was a fun game - adding to my favorites - nice job

Elisée says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:17am

GrooveMan: Thanks for the feedback! Someone on Reddit reported the same concern as you regarding the thugs. I explained what happened over there: http://www.reddit.com/r/devblogs/comments/24iss7/inspector_badass_making_a_roguelike_in_72h_with_a/ch844zi

Basically: Our bad! It's a side effect of rushing to submit in time. There are only a few different bad guys, not all of them are black, but the most common one is & that gives the wrong impression. Completely unintentional, if we realized it as the game came together, we would have fixed it! Hopefully that doesn't prevent you and other people from enjoying the game.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Very well done! Happy to see another XNA entry, but it seems like shooting yourself in the foot to deal with XNA 3D instead of just going with Unity at that point. Regardless, great game and great job!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:21pm

It's been a while since I played game made with a CraftStudio - nice job. Like music a lot.

Elisée says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:41am

Noah: Thanks! XNA is just the foundation of the tool we use (which I built), CraftStudio. It's a lot like Unity but it is very easy to use even for beginners, features real-time cooperation as well as tools to build models, maps, etc.

May 6, 2014 @ 12:18am

Lovely, lovely work. And so polished!!!

Sestren says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:47am

Really amazing sound and the style is awesome. I managed to make it to level 2 but gave up after I realized your health didn't refill and you started over at level 1 after dying. Still, this was a lot of fun to play and I would love to see a post-competition version of this.

Tuism says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Fantastic piece guys! Wow this is superb even for a team effort! Well done! :D Investigate EVERYTHING! :D

illugion says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Really well done! I love the art style!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]