Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ore Archer

by kratorspore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a miner and the cool sort of one who uses a bow and explosive arrows. Delve deep beneath the surface of the earth and overcome creeping lava, swarms of flying bats and rockfalls as you search for the precious Magma Gem, the rarest gemstone in the world. Five levels of mayhem!

Instructions: WSAD moves your miner, aim using the mouse. Left mouse fires your bow. Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Fun3.77
#129Overall3.73
#290Innovation3.46
#353Audio3.08
#406Mood3.16
#457Graphics3.31
#473Theme3.35
#563Humor2.43
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

pretty cool! The way that sound effects stack gets a little obnoxious, but the overall gameplay is actually really neat and challenging.

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

Fun game, good playability. Loved the random-gen aspect and explosives.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

The overhead keyboard control with mouse aim takes a little getting used to, but once I got the hang of it, it was a lot of fun. I like that the different room types combined with the larger blast area forces me to choose my shots carefully.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

Shooting the arrow was extremely pleasing, seeing the explosions was icing on the cake. This is actually extremely well done for 48 hours. Good job, I'd play this again. :)

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Probably the most fun I've had with any of the mining themed games I've played so far.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Nice soundtrack

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Pretty fun, nice job!

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Pretty cool game :)

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

That was fun... The controls could be a little more polished and also maybe a map of the entire level would have been helpful.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very nice. A lake of goal maybe. Should I found every gem too finish ?
But I enjoyed killing bats, run to avoid lava, an arrow-bomb !!!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Solid entry. Well done. :)

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58am

very nice! crunchy satisfying effects. impressed with how smoothly it ran, too

Kalabasa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:29am

Fun game. The movement was a little too slippery. I like the randomness, hovewer, some levels were unplayable (surrounded with lava) and restarting at the first level (instead of the current level) made it an annoyance.

Pixlexia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:37am

The fire bomb arrows are pretty cool! The controls could use a bit more tweaking though, or maybe it's just me. Haha

Other than that the game is fun and I especially love the randomly generated maps, the explosion particle effects and the music. Great job overall!

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:41am

This was pretty unique. I had some fun, though at times I found the game a bit punishing, especially when an explosion chain-reacts to offscreen (awesome!) and unleashes a crapton of lava (not-so-awesome) that eventually owns the entire level.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Well I think I found my favorite game (after +100 games tested). Great job, I want to see more games from you :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]