Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

HammerHead in the Sea of Monsters

by LTyrosine - Jam Entry

Play with mouse. Mouse cursor controls submarine direction, RMB engage engines and LMB uses selected device. Use LMB on left panel to select one.

You are aboard the HammerHead research submarine.
These seas are full of giant mutated creatures and your mission is to hunt them and discover their origin.
At surface there is the Base Ship where your submarine is rearmed, repaired and upgraded with resources from killed creatures.

Sadly no sound, no music and gameplay is not complete.
Please stay tunned for post compo version.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#77Graphics(Jam)4.28
#89Theme(Jam)3.76
#176Fun(Jam)3.33
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38
#245Overall(Jam)3.40
#283Mood(Jam)3.24
#506Humor(Jam)2.23
#681Audio(Jam)1.31

Comments

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Yeah felt a bit incomplete. Potential idea.

GresponApps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Pretty adictive! Nicely made, cool creatures! My Harpoons disapeared after buying a second one don't know why..

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40pm

good looking game, would like to play it with some audio running if you keep working on it.

Evil Scotsman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Absolutely love it. I can't stop playing. The way the harpoons thump into the monsters is so satisfying and I love your monster designs. I'd really like to see this developed further.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

This game is really cool. I like the concept and it definitely had a cool lovecraftian-vibe.

It does take a little while to be able to generate significant income though.
Uninstalling items is way too easy as well. I accidentally uninstalled my second harpoon gun when fighting at the base ship. I didn't realize what had happened though, so when I went back a second time I accidentally uninstalled my other harpoon gun and had to quit.

I was really looking forward to getting the torpedo launcher too!

jwin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

awesome graphics, and fun gameplay :). I did have a little trouble getting away from the crabs. didn't kill me just got stuck for awhile until i could get facing them

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:18am

This game looks gorgeous and plays really well with lots of replay value with the shop. Awesome job! :D

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Good concept, but incomplete Really beautiful for a compo, nice work !

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:54am

lots of potential seems like something I would play

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:57am

The strong point of this game is it's graphics. The animations of the creatures are also very well done, specially the green eelish one.

MithosKuu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:00am

Bonjour! This is Rik from the CORE Games team, posting on Mith's account.

I had a shorter time to play this one, which sucks since it's slow but obviously thought out and involved. It looks really pretty for an alpha-level Ludum game, so there's definitely that. I really dig the idea and would love to see it worked on further!

FyberOptic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:12am

I really like the feel of this one. And it looks great. I'd love to see this game fleshed out a bit more. Good work!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:00am

I killed a gyarados thing and then got swarmed by 10 other monsters. It was terrifying and awesome.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:38am

I really liked going under water, exploring strange new submarine worlds, finding bizarre creatures and then harpooning them. It was nice!

Din't get to kill the strange pill-like creatures though, even with ten harpoons.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I wish there's been more creatures to hunt and the sub wasn't so slow at the start. However the environment looks sexy, definitely potential here.

CiderPunk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:29pm

really impressed with this, awesome monsters!

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:34pm

the idea seemed pretty fun, the water effects were really pretty, would have been nice to see it a little more complete

superzac says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02am

Really liked some of the creature designs

noom says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:13am

I loved this game! Thought it had heaps of content, the AI on the creatures worked really well, the big red crabby bastards kind of scared me with their grabby arms. Good job!

May 2, 2014 @ 12:41am

While I get that you were going for a mouse-only setup (I'm guessing with mobile in mind), uninstalling and equipping set to the same action is just annoying - particularly since the controls are not explained anywhere. Shop interface should not close by itself, either.

Also, keyboard shortcuts would be welcome. While the current interface works great for touch controls, a mouse cursor is only so fast and precise; breaks the flow of combat.

Character design and behavior are good. Simple yet realistic.

All issues are fairly superficial, so it has great potential. Good work!

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:54am

Looks like a great start to something bigger. Keep it up!

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:29pm

There's the obvious additions of more creatures and devices that would better the game, but it's nevertheless quite good as it stands. The fundamentals are there, and it's great fun to explore. In other words, I can see this becoming really good post-comp.

ryangatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:01am

Stellar graphics! I liked the controls and how the ship spins about its z-axis.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Cool game. Really nailed the underwater look. Felt like I was running out of ammo all the time. Good work.

wdebowicz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Great graphic, I really like a water effect. Good idea.

DarknessFades says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Love camera :3

May 3, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Very nice, fun, addictive game. Definitely shows the large amount of work that went into it.

I really feel like ammo should be increased, or there should be more slots for upgrades, or certain types of upgrades shouldn't take up a slot. With these limitations, I was forced to go back to the shop very often at the beginning (I played for a long time). Mostly, the ammo was a problem; there was no point in being able to go for longer, deeper dives when you can still only kill 1 or 2 things. And there was no point in going for longer dives when you don't have the ammo to back it up. I felt like the balance on upgrades wasn't quite reached.

The laboratory took up a slot on my ship for far too long I think, after I got all the upgrades, not knowing I had all of them, I let it get to 500% before I realized that nothing new was coming.

I eventually managed to reach the ocean floor. It was beautiful. Nice dark atmosphere at that depth. No new monsters or piles of carcasses from previously slain monsters waiting for me though, pity.

Some bugs; I sold all of my weapons to make the afore-mentioned journey. Obviously this rendered me incapable of making any extra money for more weapons, forcing me to have to restart the game. Also, I managed to beach myself on the land on the right side of the map, leaving me unable to move.

I thoroughly enjoyed the graphics, including the models and animations. I really liked how the crab-squid thing would try to surround and grab you with both of its claw-tentacles, and pull you down. It was very frustrating, in a mostly good kind of way. Good work there.

Some music and sound effects would definitely take this to another level.

joe40001 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:57am

I really liked it but why would you make it so easy to uninstall items?!? I didn't want to lose them!

I accidentally uninstalled important things, and I couldn't undo it, and then when I restarted the game it said I had harpoons but it wouldn't let me use them.

This one is a tricky one, because with a couple bug fixes and a tiny bit of ambient audio it could have been really great. As is, it is still fun, but you are like 1-2 hours of tweaking away from having one of my favorite LD29 games so far.

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:33pm

WOW! Very nice game, I love details - so cool. Interesting gameplay. Love it very much.

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:07am

The submarine moves so slow that I got a bit impatient after playing for a while... But overall, really awesome!

alhvi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:39am

Nice graphics! I liked the water effect, bottom sea texture and shadows. It was very addictive too. I played for a long time. Please finish it. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]