Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

How deep can you dive?

by bebopbraunbaer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

# How deep can you dive? #
A very simple game about diving

## Notes ##
You jumped of the cliff into the water. The goal is to dive as deep as possible without drowning (save some air to return to the surface)

### ctrl ###
press SPACE to start the game
press S to dive deeper
press W to surface
reload the browser (F5) for another try

### FAQ ###
Not showing the current air left was a design decision. (if it was a good one is up to you ;- )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#803Theme2.96
#843Innovation2.67
#1029Audio1.48
#1035Humor1.63
#1118Mood2.24
#1155Fun2.16
#1223Overall2.21
#1238Graphics1.73

Comments

CapsE says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:09pm

It would have been nice to see the background get darker the deeper you get. And the "S"-Key seems much better fit to start the game instead of an extra Key.

There is also a bug when pressing Keys that are not Space key before starting the game.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Cute concept. What's the high score?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

@CapsE
fixed the bug! thx
i will try to implement the darker background for the jam submission (- :

@cr2crstudios
haha thx! how dare you to call my impressive art skills "concept" (- ; the highscore is unknown but i will try to build one for the jam submission

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Well, I managed to surface and die at the same time. (At 1895.5.) With perfect key presses, I'm guessing the highest possible would be around 2000.

The idea of having to surface would make a pretty fun game when coupled with the old "Use points to upgrade stuff to go further" mechanics.

Good work!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Well, that certainly did what it said in the title! And the answer would seem to be, not as deep as I thought I could :)

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

A nice, simple game that could easily be developed further by adding some features which actually let the player have more control over how deep they're able to dive, rather than just having them press one button spastically until they know that they won't get any deeper.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:23am

...if...only...I...could...dive...just...a...bit..deeper.....

Died every time, too greedy I guess. :)

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00am

Hehe, nice idea, got a bit dizzy from the oxygen deprivation :p (1453)

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:54am

Didn't understand the game play...

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

@Crooksister
thx for the feedback (- ; my entry has now a desciption where everything is explained in detail (i hope)

thx for trying!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Press F5 to try again? Clever girl...

Cool concept!

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Nice idea! Looks like the main character is a SPACE key :-)

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

You should point out that this is a button smashing game (otherwise it's hard to know what you have to do to be better in this game)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice concept, but needs some work. It would also be nice if there was a timer or something telling you how long you have until you drown. First couple times I was clueless to how long I had.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:25am

1514, nice concept, could be a bit better polished though :P

TeamInCharge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:42am

Wow, it's shocking how addictive this skatter-brained-button-bashing-baby is. Love the addition of the two eyes. Makes you feel more guilt when you drown him/her.

I don't think I'd be able to make a game like this all by myself in 48 hours (since I'm an artist lol)

But seriously. It's simple, but great gameplay. I actually panic when swimming up. Well played sir.

(1629 returning alive) (2631 sadistic drowning death) :P

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Please play and rate my game!

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:09pm

...again!

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:08pm

You can download now.

Catman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:33am

Cute game, but I would raccommend to show something, anything about the air. I understand that you want the air amount to be hidden, but you could do something between having it and not having it at all: a flashing hint, an animation. :)

May 3, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Neat concept.

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:50pm

A very simple game, indeed. Graphically very simple as well. The fact that you have to balance multiple tries to get the best depth without drowning is a nice touch. The decision to not show the amount of air left is crucial to that, so I think that was the right call to make.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Super simple game, but kind of fun! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]