Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Captain's Holiday

by Gazok - Jam Entry

A Twine game (http://twinery.org)

The post-compo version features edited text to make the game gender-neutral, with slightly better flow and a few more jokes. One drum pattern has also been slightly modified.

Both versions have had a font change due to inconsistent appearance across browsers.

BUG: In Internet Explorer, the text may render in the default Twine font.

Written by Andrew Collins (@10010010010112)
Styled by Jamie Bayne (@GazokMes)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#140Humor(Jam)3.24
#186Mood(Jam)3.48
#212Audio(Jam)3.41
#252Overall(Jam)3.39
#272Graphics(Jam)3.63
#295Innovation(Jam)3.18
#428Fun(Jam)2.91
#599Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48am

Fantastic work with Twine!

Twine CAN be more than just white text on black background and here's proof!
Liked the overall styling and it's fun to see more people working in pairs on Twine games where one does the CSS and one writes. Good combo!

A bit short maybe (or did I play it wrong?)

But keep it up!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

One more playthrough made me discover that some images are/seems to be missing.

It's just the little "image missing" icon showing.

Just a heads-up as I always like when people help me out...

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Nice use of multimedia and css effects. The prose was decent and the mood and tone fitted well, especially some of the more sardonic humour.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:22pm

I like the graphics in the background :)

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice work! Fun game.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The graphics were really cool, and although I wasn't a fan of the audio, It reminded me of older games about space.
It was relatively well-written too. Nice work!

pumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I just played some minutes. It's hard for a non-native English speaker to play this kind of game. But at least it's original.

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Really liked the style and the audio.

veltas says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I liked the story over the different paths, and the writing flowed well (better than my comment). The art and music tied really well into the game.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Great job on the story!

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:11am

interesting! this is a great text adventure game, with amazing visuals! nice job

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:33am

This has nice graphics and visuals put together, and I liked the diversity of the endings. The captain's voice was also nice--not narratively obtrusive, but still well-defined.

However, I didn't really feel emotionally invested in any of the outcomes, and I could occasionally tell that there was no possible answer that would answer the challenge before me well, which was frustrating and eroded my sense of agency.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:41am

It was a super cool game, but I felt a little torn. The look and feel were telling me to go one way, but the story itself was heavily geared to go the other. Does that make sense? The art and music were telling me, "relax, this is a game about chilling on an alien planet and being jive." Trying to do that, though, lead to the end pretty quickly.

I think the branching factor could be a little higher too (I mean, I understand jams are short and all). I just sometimes felt like, every branch lead to death or the next choice.

Don't get me wrong! I'm only going into the nitty gritty of my experience because I really enjoyed the game. Good marks in most categories!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:36am

Hey Gazok.

Must say thanks for the proofreading you did on my game.
I've updated based on your feedback.
English isn't my first language so some mistakes are missed.

Just wanted to thank you.

Glad that you liked my game!

jeffz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:56am

I love that this Twine entry has graphics and music. Well done!

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:56am

Great job! Music is nice and the story has a lot of different paths, which is always a plus.

flatgub says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

Really nice! I played it a few times to see how far i could get. Its really well written, the graphics are nice and the music suited!
-Flatgub~

Sergraz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:21am

Very nicely done, jokes reminded me of Space Quest a lot. A lot of choices, nice storytelling, The thing with leg/eye and shoot/tackle is great.

May 2, 2014 @ 9:23pm

An awesome entry with nice writing. The visuals and music are cool, too.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Strangely it reminded me of FTL, which is no bad thing.

lorniebear says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I like the story!

Draknek says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Really hard to read with everything all in caps. Might be okay, but also the comma and period look really similar in this font.

The justified text is also occasionally awkward with massive spaces.

In the cavern, the textbox bg should be over the white silhouette?

Lots of content here! I really have no idea how much story is hiding away.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]