Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath this cool, calm exterior

by Lrnk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ever entry! And it's a bit weird.

Arrow keys to move
WASD to shoot
Spacebar to start game/wave

Works best in Firefox (audio especially)

It's a bit frustrating to play, and an awful lot of the end components were originally intended to be temporary (the endgame screen is a notable example), but as John Lennon said: "Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans"

Cheers all!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#14Humor4.12
#98Theme3.88
#305Fun3.35
#394Audio3.00
#447Overall3.29
#510Innovation3.12
#822Mood2.69
#902Graphics2.62

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50am

You sir, put a smile on my face with that music

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Fun sounds and I hope this music won't be stuck in my head tomorrow.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Hahah, amazing! The gameplay is rather simple, but the graphical style, theme and the wonderful music really made up for it!

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Funny idea, music was refreshing!

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

This game really made me smile, more than any other I've played so far today. Well done that man. Simple gameplay, but more than playable and the humour completely carries it

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05am

My feet are smelly.

First off, that thumbnail creeps me out to no end. A really creative take on the theme though, this is a great example of how the setting can make a simple game awesome. Almost wanted to lose just to see your face contort.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

That was hilarious. Funniest game I've played so far.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Why the music ended on the second wave? Nice idea

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Haha, yeah that thumbnail is pretty freaky. Nice one

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

The soundtrack is quite amazing. 9/10 would listen in my mp3 player.
But seriously, theres like a hidden message somewhere, about the thoughts that bother you. Thats quite interesting.

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I like the faces when you're losing life.

Filecreation says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I don't know about you guys, but this is the exact way how I deal with my stress and anxiety.
The gameplay reminded me quite of Binding of Isaac, but less frustrating to me. (Probably because the enemies are not trying to shoot me)

Even if most of this should have been Temp, it still plays nicely!

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

That is a game with a wonderful idea :D.

dylanigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Music was awesome.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I laugh with the game, the idea is very good, congratulations ;)

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

DA FAQ did I just play! Awesome game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Excellent! Really liked the concept. The actual gameplay was pretty standard, although i liked reading the different texts. A refreshingly different game, and a situation that I can relate to very well!

akymos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Only one word: EPIC.. XD

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

BOM BOM BOM BOM BOM BAAH :D
I was only waiting for a game using a-capella music :3
Twin-stick shooting mechanic felt very good too, first time I played a keyboard-twin-stick-shooter.
Loved the little messages.

suppi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:09am

this game is pretty good, I had one problem with it though, the hitboxes of the enemies is too small. multiple times I have shot enemies and the bullets passed right behind them without hurting them.

gj nevertheless!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:21am

Interesting take on the theme. The music and sounds, while comical at first, were definitely not my cup of tea and quickly grew annoying. Staring at that face was pretty unsettling (no offense to whoever's face it was!), but I did like that the expression changed the more damage you took. I also really enjoyed the remarks the frowny faces made, really added to the whole feeling of trying to destroy those little nagging thoughts in the back of your mind, or "under the surface," if you will.

Really wish I could've used my mouse to aim instead of awsd. Also, in chrome the music didn't start again after I died (although I didn't mind :P)

Overall, it was pretty fun, although I didn't really have any desire to try again from the beginning after I died. I think you accomplished what you set out to do in terms of theme, so good job.

abayb says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:01am

That was amazing.

bvssvni says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Bom bom bom bom bom...

PetorialC says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:04am

Ha ha nice

leo_gri says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Hilarious ! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]