Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Moon Has Monsters!

by KunoNoOni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello and welcome to my entry for Ludum Dare 29, The Moon Has Monsters!

Theme: Beneath the Surface

How to Play:

Left/Right Arrow Keys to move
Space to shoot. Hold for Rapid Fire
Pick Up Hearts to replenish health

I hope you all enjoy the humor in the game. Don't forget to read my post mortem when I post it to find out how this game came into being.

Oh do please leave feedback, I can only get better if you let me know what I did wrong :) Thanks for playing my game. I had a lot of fun making it!



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#149Humor3.29
#424Audio2.96
#746Theme3.04
#770Mood2.75
#932Graphics2.58
#971Overall2.74
#976Fun2.50
#1134Innovation2.19
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46am

Funny prologue. :) Cool little shooter, I liked the feel of zapping monsters in this... those guts that jump up out of them!

mjau says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

The game itself isn't too interesting (i mean, all the levels are basically the same even if the monsters look different), but i really liked all the text! Sets the mood nicely =)

The background/foreground tiles are a bit busy and very obviously tiled. A few alternate tiles to break up the monotony can do wonders =)

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27am

Nice effort. The game feels smooth and the audio works. Gameplay definitely needs some tweaking. I made it through every level by holding down space and alternating between the left and right keys. Could have beat it without looking :)

igwb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

The game may not be very complex, but you did a wonderful job at writing and the idea is very nice. I like it. A lot!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Appreciate the feedback. Yeah Gameplay is lacking some challenge, looks like this time I'm at the other end of the spectrum usually I'm told me games are too hard. I will admit the tile are a little busy, will work on that in the coming months as I get ready for LD30! Thanks again for the feedback.

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31pm

congradulations on fighting the moon monsters and doing ludum dare all in one weekend

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

It's a bit too much on the easy side. You can pretty much hold space and win.

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

The controls work great and the prologue is funny. The epilogue is so slow, though! Easy game with hilarious writing.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:51am

Fun setup and I like the graphics. There wasn't much challenge to killing the monsters though.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I think everyone's pretty well covered the gameplay situation (in particular the tiling and difficulty level), so I'll say first--sweet audio, which actually meshed pretty well with the chill feeling of the game, and I really like your monster designs, too! The main character could be similarly made a bit more individualistic, however.

As for the narrative, I think you could improve it some by cutting text. It's a game, not a novel... though it's seriously awesome that you could include this much story in your entry, the job of the writer in these games is to set the scene and let everything else speak for itself, sort of. And, in this case, I think there was a bit too much text. Not too many ideas... just that you could cut some verbiage and have a shorter, sweeter story.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34pm

that was ok. in every level i didnt see 1 monster because all i needed to do was shoot left and right constantly. So it was very easy, and nothing new. but it is a good effort!

ZQMony says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:43pm

A nice little game, but all three levels are basically the same.

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I really enjoyed the graphics, the audio and specially the narrative, it's classic and well done, but the gameplay could have some improvements, something like: level 2 - two hits per monster, level 3 - one hit on the back, something like that. And one little thing, you can limit the shot range to the screen boundary, because at this point you can just stay in the middle of the map shooting to both sides without moving around. But that's just some tips. Good job.

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Well, it's pretty basic but it's solid. Would be nice if at least later levels monsters had more life. But considering you evidently had to both visit moon and make this game in just 48 hours, it's fine overall. :D I liked the narrative a lot also.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:59am

well that was show - funny text tho - thanks

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]