Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the Paper

by zzForrest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second successful ludum dare! The game gives all the information to play. Please contact me about any bugs : http://zzforrest.weebly.com/contact-me.html
Also, I failed to mention : this game lasts forever. The levels are chosen from a batch, and there are several batches that are progressively harder and harder. As such, this game is infinitely long.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Theme3.67
#258Overall3.50
#281Fun3.38
#332Graphics3.52
#385Mood3.18
#433Innovation3.24
#578Audio2.74
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

Levels should be more diverse but in other ways it's nice game. Good job

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Cute! It feels really nice! A little more enemies would be cool, though. :)

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This was really adorable, with a novel interpretation of the theme! I felt like the level design needed to be worked on, though. The central puzzle of "pull out the tacks to progress" didn't seem to be really designed around, and the level progression didn't make sense--a level that caused some difficulty could be flanked on either side with lots of easier ones, with no explanation for it thematically.

Still, it was cute and I enjoyed myself playing. Good job!

CluelessGames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:24am

This game is very simple and nice and calm I like it a lot!

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:27am

A neat idea, and surprisingly fun considering it's simple design. Well done!

pyrogames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:41am

The font is a bit hard to read, but other than that I think that this is one of my favorite LD games I've played. I love the idea of a stack of drawings and a curious sketch looking to see what's below.

pyrogames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:43am

Very fun game, one of my favorites this time around. Love the idea and the simple graphics, but the font is a bit hard to read.

JoeProgram says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:48am

A very fun entry! It's a great take on the theme, and easy to understand and play. I would have loved to see the paper theme go even further, with sheets that were torn, notes from a character, or other elements that showed us progressing backwards through time.

manabreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:53am

I tried to complete all the levels, but couldn't. How many levels are there? I got about 45,000 points before I quit. :)

The game was a nice, simple puzzler. I wonder if the levels were supposed to repeat - sometimes I got the same level three times in a row. I did however notice some progression in the levels as I kept going.

Also, the way there was some story in the first couple of levels reminded me of my own LD27 entry, which had a similar story system. :)

J.Barrows says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:57am

There may have actually been too many levels. The progression seemed really slow. I wanted to know what was under the paper, but lost interest first

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Nice entry. Like this wandering AI's. Great job.

caranha says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:28am

Thanks for not taking the "Another underground game" easy way out for this theme!

I liked this game a lot - it was simple to understand (although in the menu it is not obvious that "space" is the action key), and it was quite hard.

I like that you select levels from a batch to give it some randomness, but I think the levels repeated a bit too much: Maybe you should give levels a "cool down" after they are selected, so that they don't repeat so much?

I also loved the way the enemies moved.

Great game :-)

hbocao says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:53am

Very fun game! Also, the animations are very smooth.
I hoped there was something beneath the last paper tough.

Marcellus says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Very simple yet effective idea. I liked it !

ndebruyn says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Very very very good.

Harsay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Cool game! I think that you should change coins to pins. It would make more sense to player.

CeriseGhost says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:12pm

This game was amazing! I played it for a good 15 minutes :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]