Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hellhole

by bzizizi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A hole has opened in front of your castle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#230Fun3.45
#266Humor2.95
#398Overall3.33
#474Mood3.07
#497Theme3.33
#572Graphics3.15
#694Audio2.50
#757Innovation2.79

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09am

Really nice idea here. Took me a while to realise range bonus also affects sword fighting. Nice variety of baddies.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

Health still reduced to less than zero, you might want to fix that :D. Other than that, its quite neat, gj!

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

Pretty cool game, I feel hopeless sometimes when a huge mob of enemies comes at me, I wish I could dodge around more.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Good idea, unfortunately the controls have a huge lag in Safari..

Kimba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

I need jump HIGHERRR!!
Good job guy i like the spells.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

Love the little imp enemy dudes and the magic power/cooldown game mechanic.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

Nice little game. I though fires in the caves hurt me at first. Also yeah, would be good to slow enemies down a little bit, now its just like "how much damage can you tank".

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

I kind of like it. My favorite part is when the critters jump on your head.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Pretty neat. All I did was spam the Breath and Force though.

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Incredibly raw result, but has helluva lot of fun!! I swear you surprised me. It has even a little humour.

3/5 overall, but 5/5 for fun!

Riding on the head of hellspawns FTW damnit!!!

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Wasn't sure at first, but the game turned to be really fun !

The game was lagging a little bit, but otherwise really fun. Btw, you can still attack when your health is under 0.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Nice job! Simple, to the point, and I really wanted to go as far as I could. I wish my dude had a bigger range or something, felt like combat was more about spamming q than anything, but that comes with tweaking. Nice job!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29pm

The controls felt really nice. Also loving the graphics. Thank you for this.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Some healing crates would increase the span of the game.

thephantom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

great game , loved the idea of adding new ability every level
i think that that the attack could be made smother though

shuanDang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

Quick and fun! I like the pixel art!

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

I didn't understand why did i like that game :)
Maybe just simple and cool... I just retry far away too much :D
So well done !

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08pm

loved using the different abilities

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Nice game, quite polished too. The 3 action start is also really nice.

CogComp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:12am

Nice game, blocking was really tricky. Good work!

Chaoseed says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:46am

Not bad, not bad. I liked the variety of attacks, although after a while I found myself just mashing the buttons, as that seemed most effective. I liked the different enemies. Graphics and sound were serviceable. The controls were very...slide-y, I didn't exactly like that. I bet if you went back for playtesting and editing it could get a lot better!

thaaks says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Cool game. Wished the improved boni would be visible (longer sword, bigger fire breathe). Some background music would have been nice.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]