Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Dead Beneath

by Myyyvothrr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A small game made with Impact (HTML5 / JavaScript).

Kill the dead!

Controls:
* Move: A, D / Arrow left, right
* Jump: W / Arrow up
* Shoot / OK: Space

Note: If your browser window is larger than 1280x960 the game will upscale to 2x. On Game Jolt and itch.io the game is always 1280x960.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#278Audio3.21
#302Graphics3.59
#340Mood3.24
#535Fun3.04
#563Humor2.43
#564Overall3.18
#909Theme2.80
#1198Innovation2.02

Comments

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:31am

gotta say I love the splatter effects;), nice job:)

tinykidtoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

The graphics are nice and I love the splatter.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

some of the weirdest rain I've ever seen :) nice game tho!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

This is pretty nice. You did a great job on the graphics and particles. The audio worked out well too. I did get some stutter out of the sound at times, but it's nothing that affected gameplay. It's also kind of a small window by default, which made it hard to fully see your nice artwork, but luckily that's easy to resize since it's HTML5. Nice work overall!

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Fun game!

Colthor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I really like the particle effects, especially the raindrops. The grave spatter is a good trick, too.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Great shooting action! Only I think this game needs a better goal. Right now you can just sit in one spot and patiently shoot everything that spawns in front of you. How about making the player run around to collect things?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Graphics are greats. Sounds too. Enough too create a coherent atmosphere and universe. Gameplay is quite simple but i like it.

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Really nice particles!

Mstrp2ez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

I liked it alot! A few more weapons and more distinct bullet graphics and i would have been hooked for hours.

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49am

The music, the thunder and the graves create a nice creepy atmosphere ! The graphics are not bad, overall really fun to play. Maybe a little too easy ;)

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

Neat game :)

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Great job setting the mood, I love the soundtrack. What it needs now is some progression of difficulty. The zombies don't seem to be hard, but I guess you could add a timer.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Did somebody noticed that the rain washes away the blood from the tombstones? That shit's neat.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nicely executed: the game looks good and plays well. The game could definitely be more challenging though.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I liked the tombstones being splattered with blood, haha!

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Very nice graphics !

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02pm

The thunder, lightning and rain was cool, and the splats of the enemies and player death too. I would have liked to see more intelligent enemies and some more weapons!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The game looks great there isn't much gameplay though. Need some depth, some challenge and some goal.

alexdantas says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Liked it. Actually fun, made me waste a few minutes without even realizing.

- The details were awesome - rain and particles. Are those default to ImpactJS or did you programmed them by yourself?
- The bullet trajectory was simple and effective; you could shoot from the other side of the screen, calculating to hit zombies while escaping the place.

You should definitely work on improving this game.
Here's some things you could do:

- Spawnable Power-ups/Mutators/Whatever. They could both benefit and downgrade your progress
- Different behavior for the zombies; Like some could run after you, others could jump... You could even copy from L4D or somethin
- Other weapons/equipments; grenades, machineguns... The sky is the limit.
- Co-op; I think 4 to 5 people playing at the same time (cramming the keyboard, I know) would make a great hit.
- Multiplayer; if you're feeling brave, mess up with websockets, rev up a server and turn this baby into a huge thing!

Congrats!

whalebot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Pretty nifty little game. I liked letting the zombies build up on a platform and then just tear through them like a boss.

devince says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Really fun & neat. Just not enough challenge.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Pretty nice graphics and a good game! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:18am

Very boring =(
But visuals are nice. So if you add bonuses and weapons, this game become standard survival shooter.

StrykerKKD says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:34pm

nice game although the zombies are too easy to kill.
The rain and the splatter effect is really nice.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:20am

Thank you all for your feedback and suggestions! :)

alexdantas: The particles were made by me (all code in the "source" zip is), but Impact makes it really easy to move things on the screen...

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Particles! I love particles! Can't say I'm fond of the very liner jumping but I'll make an exception for the wonderful particles everywhere.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Lots of small details in this game, I like that. Good job

alexdantas says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:09am

Hello, there!
FYI your game was featured on this blog post:

(9 Gems from Ludum Dare 29)
http://alexdantas.net/stuff/posts/9-gems-from-ludum-dare-29/

Thanks a lot for making this awesome entry :)

jeffz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:42am

Classic. 184 points. You could probably expand on this into more areas. Well done!

DonovanWu says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

Nice rain drop effect!

alvivar says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Cool graphics, particles and mood. The game lacks a challenge (i am guessing time issues) but I can totally see this game becoming an arcade (every time harder survival kind of game).

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:08pm

The game seems to miss some goal, otherwise this game is very well polished with awesome graphics and great music!
Audio is incredible.

loxo says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 3:40pm

You made a really nice game. I like the pixel effects very much. But it would be nice if the game was a bit more challenging. Nonetheless a great start, you should work further on this.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Nice and crisp action but no challenge. Increase the spawn rate over time, make ammo limited, or do something to make it so the game will eventually end. I absolutely loved the rain effect!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]