Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

You are a metro car

by fserb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a metro car. Move around stations, avoid hitting other cars.

With leaderboard! :)

The game was done using HaXe/OpenFL/ugl.
There's a blog post about on the game page.

Hope you guys enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#58Innovation4.03
#92Fun3.74
#203Overall3.58
#525Graphics3.21
#691Humor2.25
#777Mood2.74
#791Theme2.99
#811Audio2.24

Comments

smbe19 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Quite fun to play. And frustrating, I always crash in other trains ;(

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05am

I liked this a lot. Requires thinking ahead while under pressure, which is something I absolutely love in games. Well done.

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

Fun. And Innovation is really done correctly.When i am watching to design i am starting to think that this is an app for Anonymous to find the Target =D )) .

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Very fun and addictive. One of my favorite entries.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30am

I really liked it! Great idea, great execution! Good job, well done! :)

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Great idea, first time found it really frustrating, however quickly got handle on controls and had a good amount of fun.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Plays very smooth and it's a fun game, on top of that it even has scoreboard. Good work :)

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43am

Wow, this is actually a really cool game! Simple but addictive :) I got 100+ but then I checked again and my name wasn't there anymore, damnit.

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

Nice! Very hard after some time and a bit frustrating when you can't turn back and have to kill yourself, but very fun!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

Fun! If I wasn't trying to get through a lot of games I could definitely see myself playing this for ages. The highscore table is definitely a good addition.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

You guys are amazing! Thanks so much for the comments. :) :) :)

lekochen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

This is fun & addictive! Well done! But I think there are some bugs in the scoreboard coz I actually scored 273 and it listed me as 73.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:57am

Awesome idea! Nice execution. One of the best I tried so far.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59am

Simple but fully realized. I didn't get the sense that the difficulty was increasing, though I think it should.

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Quite fun once you get the flow

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Simple, innovative, and addictive!

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Graphics are really nice.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Great idea, simple and effective!

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Simple and fun. I like this kind of minimalistic graphics.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Very nice overall, a multiplayer version may be very fun. Also, I think this game would be more playable if the car was always running forward and we selected the next node with the mouse

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Im not quite sure about this game to be honest. I find the mechanics quite good which is why I enjoy playing the game, but I can´t quite connect it to the theme =\
Minimalistic graphics done right! =D

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

This is so fun and crisp! I am a little lost on the connection to the theme.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38am

Very nice, polished and addivtive. A fullscreen mode would be awesome.

jcreed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Having made a couple games on delaunay-triangulation grids like this before, I loved this one.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Very nice, good game design (and graphic design) all around. Great to see more Haxe games this time, and I'm checking out your blog+github (especially ugl, which looks cool) now!

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

First innovative game I found :-)
A bit hard, didn't do all too well. Art style matches the game. Very well done!

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Interesting concept. Cool to see a graph being used as a way of movement.

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

It's a fun little puzzle, though the controls are a bit problematic; it took me a while before I started really focusing on the purple indicator :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:22am

248!! Hands down the most fun game I've played in LD29 so far.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Very fun game, it was pretty easy to rank top but it didn't seem to save when I go back? Had 390~ish.

Will play again :D

fserb says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:44pm

For people having ranking problems: could you tell me the browser/os? Did you put your name on before dying? Did you die?

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Simple mecanism but very powerful game. Nicely polished gameplay and graphics. And you made a top rank!
Well done!

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46am

Very cool

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:53am

Nice concept!
It's pretty fun. But sometaimes I can't see the target. Maybe it should be... and I have to wait some times...

blay09 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I found it quite easy considering I could just stop wherever I wanted and other trains would always dodge me. I'm assuming the longer you take though, the lower the score? A time limit would probably spice it up a little.

alexdantas says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:56am

Loved this game.
Very creative, responsive gameplay, addictive...
The high-score thingy is awesome too!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:14am

Well, that's original take on theme. But my score didn't get saved :( Still, I enjoyed this.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Pretty game, nice concept, good job!

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Very fun game! BTW why other cars are so aggressive? :)

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:35pm

This is a really nice entry. Would like to see this on a mobile phone.

allinlabs says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Pretty cool and simple idea, well executed, and the result is really fun to play. I like it! Well done

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:41pm

nice concept. scoreboard really makes it competitive. nice job.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Hi. Once I realised how far ahead track change was happening then had a better time! Interesting and novel idea.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Simple and fun!

alexdantas says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:09am

Hello, there!
FYI your game was featured on this blog post:

(9 Gems from Ludum Dare 29)
http://alexdantas.net/stuff/posts/9-gems-from-ludum-dare-29/

Thanks a lot for making this awesome entry :)

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:08am

Very very fun. Well done!

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:47am

love the concept, great job!

May 7, 2014 @ 1:00am

Nice minimalistic approach, and it was fairly challenging. The leaderboard was a cool touch.

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:49am

Fun and unique, I really enjoy this game a lot! :)

frankd0331 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:30am

Took me a moment to get the hang of it. The restriction in movement adds an interesting feel to the game. I enjoyed it a lot.

bendmorris says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:16am

Really great idea, very intuitive controls and nice clean aesthetic. I had a lot of fun playing.

joe40001 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:54am

I just got what should have been the new highscore but I'm not on the leaderboard... Does it take a bit to update?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]