Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Earth.

by miwuc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dig to find out what's beneath the surface. HINT: once you have a tool you can click and drag instead of clicking repeatedly.

This is my second Ludum Dare entry. I'm fairly happy with the result even though I had lots of ideas that I didn't have time to implement. As it is, it's a bit too reminiscent of minecraft though.

Made with jquery and lots of divs (I should really learn HTML5 one of these days). Completely untested on windows/IE, please tell me if it appears desperately broken.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#12Theme4.17
#401Fun3.20
#402Innovation3.29
#420Graphics3.37
#425Overall3.31
#595Humor2.38
#639Mood2.90
#691Audio2.51

Comments

vinull says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I love the idea of digging past the crust of the earth. I had fun playing it.

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08am

That was an awesome game. I love how you find the tools after digging around for awhile and the fossils are great.

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

I liked it well enough

lessmilk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

OMG, dinosaurs! Great game, it perfectly fits the theme.

FelipeTavares says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Nice idea & beautiful art! LOVED it!

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I had fun. I was really close to quitting when I got to the end, maybe if there was one more slot for a final artifact to signal the end of the game it would have kept me looking for it. Overall good sense of progression, though.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Neat idea, even if it has similarities to minecraft. I like the graphic style.

maffydub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Nice idea, and the fossils are very cool. It's good to have audio, but the sound did grate a little after a while.

Is there a kind of ambient occlusion lighting effect on the blocks? It looks it - very clever!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Bravo, this is very impressive seeing as you just used jQuery. Definitly look in to Phaser.js(http://phaser.io), you'll feel right at home looking at your code for this. ;)

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Great little explore and discover game, don't care if it is inspired by minecraft, I loved it. Definitely needs a mute option however, as the sounds quickly get annoying.

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

The game is so simple, but I kept playing until the end of it because the game is designed not to be boring (for example, last tiles of the previous layer gets removed automatically). This is a nice use of the theme, and it's quite entertaining. And it's JavaScript :D
Good job.

BigRat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

It's really cool to play and i really loved to hover mouse and destroy everything in my way.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:59am

Nice idea

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Pretty nice and casual game! Maybe needs a pressure element to up the 'game' factor a bit - like damaging the bones when you hit them with the wrong tools; get less points. :)

May 1, 2014 @ 3:04am

Wonderful use of the theme! It's surface after surface and unveiling the stuff beneath.
Totally killed my index finger though :D

mtinkerhess says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:20am

I like the way the blocks burst and fade out when you break them apart. Also how each level will fade out when you have pretty much cleared it out. The concept is great too.

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:30am

That was a nice idea. Graphics and gameplay is cool!
Dinosaurs!

Nezzhil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:11am

I love it!!!

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:17am

It was fun once I started finding stuff, until then I wasn't sure exactly what I was doing. Then I was like "Oh, archaeology, cool!" Maybe a bit of a hook would help - like a backstory or rigging it so that the first block dug always finds something, then the game returns to normal.

myachin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:38am

very good game! nice ideA

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Very pleasant experience! I kept expecting to find some scary deep-earth horror, for some reason!

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:16pm

That was really cute! I half expected to dig too greedily and too deep so I'd unleash a Balrog :).

vinull says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:53pm

(Previous comment was my daughter's) - Enjoy digging up the fossils and don't know if this was intended but I was able to "speed dig" by clicking while rapidly moving the mouse. Every now and then a layer would vanish on it's own though, don't know if that was part of the game.

The museum should be happy with my work!

mattrified says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:38am

The dig sound with the initial shovel sometimes overlapped in a way that became grating, but overall, nice job, :)

miwuc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:03am

Thank you all for your comments!

@vinull, yes, the "speed dig" was intended (otherwise the hand and the shovel would do the same thing), but completely undiscoverable, I should really have added a help message.
The disappearing layers are also intended, I didn't want it to be too grindy so a layer disappears when there's under 20% left of it.

Also lesson learned about the sound, I'll add a mute button next time!

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Wish there was some type of challenge in this game. The idea is really neat, though! I liked it.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I loved the sense of light flooding down into the depths. Very engaging if not super challenging. I don't see minecraft connection -- this is quite original.

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Cool take on the theme, and I like the graphics. A bit of challenge could have added to it - maybe hide bad stuff underneath some tiles à la MineSweeper?

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:44pm

good take on the theme, the digging feels pretty good and i like the bone sprites :)

Caridorc says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Overall this game is solid and can be expanded.

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Top down minecraft was fun

Seme says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:34am

Good game. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]