Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PlanetoLution

by stigmawall - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PlanetoLution v1.0.3
( Planetolution is a crappy name. I know. )

Portmortem here:
http://www.piritubano.com/2014/05/04/planetolution-a-postmortem/

But heeeey, here is my LD entry. You manage a planet, avoiding him to explode with lava making him cold. But you have to me carefull, because you can freeze the planet as well.

The objective is survive as long as possible, don't lose all the planets.

Tools used:
- Unity 3D
- as3sfxr
- Firework for GUI

Updates
- v1.0.2: Music added (my own), color correction of the planet

- v1.0.1: Sfx added

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#365Innovation3.35
#469Humor2.55
#570Mood2.97
#709Fun2.85
#798Overall2.93
#892Graphics2.63
#894Theme2.83
#945Audio1.84

Comments

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Cool idea, probably much easier with a touch screen than with a computer mouse!

I should note that you can easily survive just by focusing on one planet. At least as far as I could gather.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

This would be really cool on a touch device. :D
I found it impossible to keep two places alive with a mouse. :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Yeah, I for the life of me could not maintain more than one planet for very long. Which was fine, as one planet was enough to keep the humans living.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Cool idea, but I also think it's impossible to keep two planets with a mouse >_<

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Yeah, not really very playable with a mouse! But the idea seems like it would be fun on a phone or tablet.

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

As Armanky said, you can survive forever by just focusing one planet... Something's missing for the mechanism to be complete. Still, with some more work it could become a nice mobile game.

revilossor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

had trouble with the mouse on laptop track pad, but love the idea. Elegant design, well executed. Good job!

João Kucera says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Very cool minimalist game!

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36am

Seems like this has some nice potential. Would love to see pixel civilizations and ships around the planets that migrate between worlds. Really liked playing it tho, thanks for making.

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

great style!

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

the graphics are BEAUTIFUL! Feels kinda empty without music (I know its space and all, but still...) but I still liked it very much =]

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

Good effects and design, although it does seem like you can survive by focusing on one planet. :)

maloki says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:21am

Neat idea! Could be something to play on a mobile device. :D

cavf88 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:22am

It's so hard to play it with my mouse! lol! it's very addictive

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01am

Addicting game. Very entertaining! Good work!

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:48am

I've played until 60 milleniums, didn't find more to do. I liked the minimalistic style and slick presentation. A classy entry.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Nice concept, unfortunately I couldn't handle to keep 2 planets more then few seconds on computer mouse. Anyway I had a fun.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Hard but fun game! I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Good and fun game!
Simple and direct (your criticize about god was very interesting :] )
When the new world show up, I freaking out, it is To Hard!

mortus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:06am

While the gameplay is basic and balance is almost nonexistent in this game, I still like the idea. Could be a fun game with expanded mechanics and some balancing.

FrederickK says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Simple and clever concept, I liked it!

TobiasW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Like others said, it was impossible to manage multiple planets even for a short while. An idea for improving this: Have planets lava grow at different rates, and change that over time (maybe only in short bursts), so that people have to pay attention to different planets at different times.

I liked the intro a lot!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]