Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hypnoctopus Beach Party ^__^

by meteo65536 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#87Humor3.59
#240Overall3.53
#310Fun3.34
#320Innovation3.41
#570Mood2.97
#718Graphics2.91
#733Theme3.06
#766Audio2.34

Comments

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Hey this game is great! Simple patter recognition it's not hard to learn once you have your fingers in the right place. At first I thought it was going to be some kind of timed thing and I'd be freaking out and smashing all the wrong buttons. But the mechanics you used for recording score, so good. It let me relax and learn the game.

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36am

So good! Made me smile.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40am

Love this game. It's simple but it really has a learning curve. Like a flappy octopus!

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45am

This is a lot of fun! I would prefer asdf... controls though.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

Adorable. The reaction of the little guys when they get tickled, hehe!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

awww he is so so cute! this game wins cute prize

VividReality says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Cute.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Fun little game! I love these typing and pattern matching games, it feels like giving my brain a workout!

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:35pm

:D I love this, the name, the graphics, the gameplay. Super simple and silly, but that's fine. Only thing I would like is a better indication of when you get 'em all, I kept accidently tickling something spiky just when it spawned

SFBTom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Exactly as adorable as I had hoped, and a really good challenge!

pansapiens says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:24am

The premise is very cute .. but I must be the only one here who doesn't get how to play it properly (or I'm seeing a bug no one else is). No matter how I tickled across those keys, slow, fast, sequential, frantic, my success seemed all a bit random. Often the little guys would die (grey splats) sometimes immediately after the starting gun.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Relentlessly happy. I wish there was an ADORABLE category here so I could give you a 5/5 in that.

Daiwen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:37pm

A game so simple i loved it. The learning scale is real. A good 15 min game.

GFM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Cute typing game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]