Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

We Can Build Together After We Have Gone to Sleep

by WBojangles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use arrow keys to control, see README.txt for more info.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#79Mood3.83
#99Audio3.65
#380Graphics3.43
#469Humor2.55
#733Theme3.06
#741Innovation2.81
#754Overall2.97
#1147Fun2.19

Comments

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

I couldn't figure out how to get past the black screen with the bird...

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Same here. I'm curious about the screenshots though, so there's certainly more to it.

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:19am

The reveal of the town was really well done. The pacing and length of this game is very pleasant. It felt like moving sideways was pretty pointless, so from a streamlined perspective, maybe just don't even bother letting the player do that? If your game really just uses one control it's okay to own up to it as long as the game is still cohesive (which it is.)

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

I really enjoyed this. I don't quite get it, but it was a very relaxing experience.

deadarius says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40am

Bro, you forgot to add gameplay.
Very nice music though

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

I don't know. I feel that I'm missing something. This is one of those artsy games, so it is more about thinking about what the hell I just saw.
I'll give it some sleep. Talk about it with my pillow.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59am

Oh, never mind! Got it. Should have considered the theme going in. Thumbs up for artsiness.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

THEY SET ME UP!
THOSE ASSHOLES SET ME UP!

Quite beautiful the whole way too. Great work!

****
For beginning black screen you have to keep moving downward. The completely black background made it hard to tell that you're moving but it could be intentional.
****

WBojangles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Sorry about that opening, maybe I'll add a cue or two to make it less confusing

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

Very enjoyable. You should add some tiny point of reference at the bottom of the initial screen so the player knows to move downward when they naturally want to check it out.

Lost King says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

The start confused me for a minute, but then I figured it out. The music was beautiful and the mood was also really nice.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:33am

i liked it! ) great job.

King_Mew says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:15am

That was amazing. I loved how artsy it was! I was hoping there would be some actual "gameplay," but it was still a wonderfully enjoyable interactive experience.

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Wow! Your music isnt just awesome, it even vertically rearranges! :D I really enjoy such techniques.

Thank you for this beautiful story.
PS: Have a look at my old LD27 game 'The children's song'.
There I procedurally rearrange the voices and generate melodies.

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:54am

I tried a few times, but couldn't get consistent audio to play. The game was interesting, but could perhaps use some more input from the player. The bird artwork was very nice.

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:19am

Good job!

May 5, 2014 @ 4:29am

Not sure what happened at the end. But still, I got a great experience. Good work! :)

biscuitdough says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:24am

Ran a little rough on my machine, but looked and sounded great. Wish there was a bit more "game" to it, but as it is was an interesting experience.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]