Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In Hiding

by Sheepolution - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hiding in the basement, waiting for her husband to return, is a woman with her 2 children. She was instructed by her husband to remain silent. But the children are young, and need food and love. Can you take care of your children, while making sure not to be found?

Controls
-Right mouse to open menu
-Left mouse to do action of menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#6Mood4.51
#35Theme4.06
#65Overall3.90
#100Innovation3.89
#118Audio3.60
#354Graphics3.47
#385Fun3.22
#734Humor2.19

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15am

Very moody! Liked it, made me tense to play it, and an interesting concept. I was intrigued to know more about the situation, and managed to pass a round but still got caught in the end. Sure if I played it more I could get better, but my time with it had me on edge.

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Oh boy, this is super tense. Really interesting game.

Ravetcofx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

Good man making the Linux version :D +1

Ravetcofx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

And Oh man that is a tense game, 10/10

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

So tense. Poor baby. Poor woman. Poor kid.

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

Very good tension building! I really felt like I was at my wit's end just as the husband returned. I was extremely relieved. Great mood.

Rednas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Very good job, really like the overall feeling off the game.

SK16Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Very creepy, and dramatic :O

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Wow! That was tense! Loved the use of sound and hints on what things would happen next! Great job 5/5 mood fun and overall

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Wow, this is really good, really stressful too.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51am

mini heart attack when the steps are coming

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04am

2edgy4me

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

Oh man, when the "choke the baby" option came up I started shaking! So many feelings in such a simple game, this game is super good, the feeling of always being close to getting caught is there throughout the whole game, amazing job! I didn't choke the baby by the way!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17am

Well done! The concept is great and the tension is great.

Tifu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

Whew this is tough, I couldn't last more than a few investigations despite a few tries, don't want to choke baby to make it easier D:
Very tense, great concept!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

really interesting

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Oh god.. "Choke the Baby".

Dude, your stuff is always epic, you have such a way of making awesome narrative. I can't believe you got me so emotinoally invested in such a small play area. With the lights out, I got that feeling I get playing Amnesia, but I'm really bad at games like this, I hide forever. My damn kid though.

This game is really awesome man, I'm gonna play it a few more times and see what I can find. Nice one. You should definitely win mood btw.

baboum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Pretty intense, and great storytelling!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Interesting game :o

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Very good! Some people above complained that the situation should have been more explained, but I think this would detract from the experience: imagination is a powerful tool, which evils are they hiding from, there are so many options, the nazis, the mafia, etc. Very good indeed.

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

I found it a little too tense to play! Especially while my daughter sleeps in the next room. :)

Great game though! I'll explore it more when I'm feeling a bit braver. ;)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Wow, that's dark. Nice job sheep! <3

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32pm

HO-LY FFFFFUCK. That was intense... Very impressive you can call out those emotions with so less!

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

I want very much to try this out, but I can't seem to extract the Windows download successfully. I've tried both 7-Zip and WinZip.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12am

@Everyone:
Thanks for all the feedback! I'm very happy to read that the mood does its job!

@Sestren:
Hmm.. no idea what that could be. One thing I can think of is to download Löve 0.9.0 on http://love2d.org and download the .love file.

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:16pm

5 for audio because of the way it's used.

Lrnk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Oh wow that was so cool. Really glad I didn't have to resort to choking the baby! Art and sound expertly applied. Loved it.

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08pm

This was intense. Gosh, it got really tense when those steps got closer.
I liked how you used the theme. Though it's in the usual sense, you really focused the gameplay around it. The sfx really helped with the immersion. Also, the simple graphics felt nice. =D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Sweetie I'm back... Where's the baby? D:
One of the best takes on the theme I've played so far!
Great work!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Very cool game. I like how you can give the daughter the baby or a hug or some food. Its pretty awesome and fits the theme very well. Nice job!

WetDesertRock says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:47am

The way you set up this game is amazing. It is super intense hearing/seeing the steps and waiting. Hoping they don't find you.

Probably the most solid entry I've played thus far, good job.

monika says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:59am

Time to go all M*A*S*H on this story and mentally replace the baby with a chicken so I can cope.

Wait, that might not work with this wording.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:56am

Very moody and creepy. I've yet to be rescued but will keep trying. Made it the the 3rd visit. Reminds me a little of Gods Are Watching Us from a past LD. Very nice job.

Sheepolution says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:07am

@GeorgeBroussard:
Thanks! I wasn't directly inspired by Gods Will Be Watching, but I agree it has some similarities.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:46pm

This is a very atmospheric game! :)
I tried several times but did not manage to finish it...
I just love how tense this is. You had me listening to all sounds very closely, waiting to turn the light off the second I hear those footsteps again.
This is truly amazing! Great job! :D

Managore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:01pm

A brilliantly dark experience. Fantastically done.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Really nice mood, the sound effects are great, the game was soo intense!

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Daaaaamn, this is some next level tension! I love what you've done here, this is so often what people SAY games can do, but rarely actually accomplish, that is, making the player really feel the moment. I was right there the whole time. Brilliant.

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:43pm

So intense. I can almost feel their fear. Great game.

Harsay says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I love the mood! It's a hard game, but very interesting. Very good use of sound. Good job and you should make a next version.

Tuism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Moody as all hell, I love that you conveyed a massive range of oppression with such a few things. Comparable to Papers Please. And such a mystery too! Well done :)

soy_yuma says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Such tension! At the beginning I thought the woman was actually a dude. It was a bit weird when I fed the baby...

Wertle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:43am

OMG :O

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:22am

I liked this game a lot for its intense atmosphere. I actually revisited it after a day to finish it because I had such a hard time finding the light switch in the dark first :)

Sestren says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:59am

I was finally able to play it. Great job on the mood, it was pretty tense.

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:07am

Nice job! :D really tense, makes you feel you are actually there! great graphics and sound effects.

euske says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:11am

I wondered what the clicking sound was, but then I realized that it might be her heartbeats.

Sheepolution says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:12am

@euske:
The main beat is the hardbeat. The other sounds are footsteps of you and the man.

Sheepolution says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:32am

heartbeat*

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:54am

Dramatic, intense. Poor baby ;(

Daveloper says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very well done, kept me hooked to find out what happens. Exceptional mood

Andy Gainey says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:03pm

The experience that this game generates is rather unpleasant. But then, that's kind of the whole point, so in that regard it is very well done. Any suggestions I might have would probably detract from that mood.

For example, I would have liked more feedback about the effect that my actions had, especially feeding and hugging. Also more feedback on the effect of the noise we were making. But I bet more feedback and clearer mechanics would have reduced the significance of the mood.

It's cool that you aren't actually given the details of the story; the player has to imagine what's going on. But a sense of progression could have helped. For example, a carefully crafted interest curve could do wonders.

http://marvinhawkins.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/a-word-on-interest-curves/

TobiasW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:46pm

After watching this game a few times on streams, I had to try it myself. And wow - this was an incredibly tense experience, and after that, the words of my husband actually filled me with relief.

The minimalistic audio worked really well to convoy what was happening, although I could've done with a bit more. On the other hand, the visual audio cues were PERFECT. I've never quite seen anything like that.

I also quite like the serious topic the game is alluding too - something that's really hard to tackle in 48 hours.

Gameplay-wise, it was a bit too simple for me (maybe because I've seen people play it before, although I never watched anyone beat it), but as an experience it still worked out really well.

So, all in all: Fantastic job!

PS: I love your logo.

Crefossus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:03am

Loved the lighting and floorboard shadows as well as the heartbeat that all set the mood. Very intense options and decisions although in the end.

A viewer on twitch said I should say "I couldn't even win when I choked the baby :(" Which is true.

VDZ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Good atmosphere, but other than that I didn't like the game very much.

Though you'll inevitably screw up the first couple times, once you understand what to do there is no real challenge to the gameplay. Fetch food, alternate between hugging and feeding. At first I turned the light on and off, but eventually I noticed that it takes less steps if you just keep the light off. Once you get into the pattern that allows you not to get caught, it's just a matter of repeating it again and again and again without any variation. The people searching for you also keep doing the exact same things, which makes no sense and only adds to the repetitiveness. I finished the game, but only out of sheer coincidence - by the end I was so bored I just turned on the light again and decided if I didn't get the good ending before I'm found I'd just stop playing.

I didn't like how you didn't get any context to the situation at any point in the game. I know imagination is the strongest context and blah blah blah, but you could also just give people a blank screen and tell them to imagine something exciting happening. I understand I'm in hiding, but why am I in hiding? And how does the husband returning solve any of it? (Wouldn't he just be executed/deported/whatever terrible fate awaits us as well?) Why would I meekly wait in a basement if people are trying to find me and I have no reason to believe this situation will end even if the husband returns? I at least wanted to reach the ending in hopes that it would explain at least *something* about the situation, but no such thing.

The sound eventually felt very grating as well; there's no variation in the sound and the sounds aren't pleasant to listen to for long stretches of time.

Sparrow says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I like this game and it's an impressive endeavour for the 48 hours you had. The graphics are very good and I loved the hugging, it gave me a good feeling inside. There are a few things you could fix up in a post-compo version. I wanted to have more information maybe like a happiness or hunger meter because I hugged the daughter gave her food and then walked away to get the food and she would be screaming "mommy! mommy!" and it didn't feel like that should've happened. I also would've like to hear some kind of music because it's quiet a lot.

Sparrow says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Instead of being game over when detected you could make it so you need to hide behind some boxes while the bad people come down to give a little more chance to evade detection. Just an idea that popped into my head when riding the bus, thought I should let you know.

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Sweet Game. There is a smooth feel somewhere. Like i'm on clouds.

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Creepy game! Good art. I liked the captions for sounds.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Really nice concept! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

mcapraro says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:15am

wow, what a feeling you convey in this game. i was on the edge of my seat the whole time. great atmosphere, great story, great concept overall. kudos!

JavadocMD says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:29am

Powerful. The only thing I want for here is more complex ways to interact. There is something nice about the minimalism of the threat and the options given to you to avoid the threat, but additional options and variation would have been even more immersive and emotionally gripping. This is a very small nitpick, though.

meszka says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Interesting idea. Gameplay is very simple yet very engaging. The background audio is also simple but effective (speed increasing when the situation gets dangerous, nice!)

alvivar says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great +innovation +mood +graphics. I liked a lot.

The only thing i can recommend is probably more sound fx.

Good job.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Ok, this is pretty unique! Good job, I've really liked this even if it's simple and minimal :)

rojo says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Really good job with the mood. As far as I got whatever was upstairs only walked in and out of the house. I think it might have been a bit more engaging if they had some different movement patterns to let my imagination run wild with what they're doing up there.

Eniko says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Really atmospheric. Kinda funny, it was kind of like playing my own game with the heartbeats and the "They're here!" if you get caught.

Had the same issue someone else mentioned not being able to extract the zip. I used the Windows explorer to open it and copied the files that way and it worked. Recommend using 7zip to zip up your files from here on out. :p

Aske says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:29pm

My heart was beating through the whole game

VDZ says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:05am

@Aske
If it weren't, you'd be dead by now.

May 19, 2014 @ 10:28am

Well, seeing I've played this earlier and even talked with you about it.. I should probably rate it also because I forgot. Hah. ANYWAY, I really like the atmosphere, it is quite engaging. As mentioned above, though, it gets repetitive after a while which is a bummer seeing it has a lot of potential for variety. Especially with the whole "don't get caught" aspect. Even though many people say there's a lack of sound effects I actually like the lack. A dripping sound effect of water or something like that would be very cool though. Also, if you let the light flicker a bit that'd be absolutely awesome. Overall a great game and good interpetation of the theme!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]