Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Declivity

by bushmango - Jam Entry

!UPDATE! There's a "Port" for Tablet/Mobile HTML 5. I've really only tested this in my iPad2, and it works well.

For the port, I changed:
- bugfix: staircases should be placed where you can't get to them anymore
- changes to menu screen (minor)
- input changes for touch support
- audio controls! mute and change volumes in case you don't like my sound
- general code cleanup

If you still haven't rated, I'd recommend the Web+ version just because it fixes the nasty can't advance bug. I haven't added or changed any gameplay features.

POST COMPO ADVENTURE COMING SOON

--- Thanks for playing! <3 Stevie

Finished! Wow that was a long 72 hours.

Declivity is a space mining, kitty rescue operation, and rogue-like-like. It's a cross between Descent and Spelunky.

Featuring: Shops, shields, cats, three monster types, no lava, multiple levels (around 10! I'm too tired to count), an actual ending, statistics, high scores, AN ENTIRE STORY, sadness, love, and darkness.

This was my first real HTML5 game as well as my first rogue-like. Also the most complete game I think I've ever made.

Chrome recommended. Let me know how it works for you.

Click: move and shoot and mine
Right-click: shoot and mine (so you don't accidentally run into things)

More detail is on the game page.

Feedback is greatly appreciated. Leave any bugs you find in the comments below.

Credits:
Main Design/Programming: Stevie
Additional Artwork: Lily, Oryx
Main Tester/Additional (Cat) Sounds/Cute Kid: Brenden
Additional Testing: Joanna, Lily

As always, thanks for playing! <3 Stevie

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#51Theme(Jam)3.87
#65Overall(Jam)3.77
#69Fun(Jam)3.64
#121Mood(Jam)3.67
#132Humor(Jam)3.28
#181Innovation(Jam)3.42
#332Graphics(Jam)3.49
#347Audio(Jam)3.13

Comments

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Controls are really cool :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03am

I felt bad when I lazered a cat. But using the laser on other stuff was pretty awesome.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

Hahaha love the sounds! :) Well done!

RFLG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

Congrats over this game, one of the two best games I've played on LD29! Greath depth, great theme, awsome controls, your game has it all my friend ;)

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07am

I got to "City of Gold" and there weren't any more stairs...
Pretty cool over all. Exciting when the scrolling kicked in, I didn't expect that. The cats were a good idea but they were so easy to kill - maybe not the best execution.

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

@7heSAMA -- sorry, sometimes the stairs spawn in a space you can't get to. Rare, but I wasn't able to fix it in time. The cats are supposed to be delicate, the challenge is in protecting them :)

Shmarah says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

Sounds are super cute and the gameplay is really cool, very creative! I feel like I should have seen controls like this in another game before, but I can't think of one!

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

really really great! the gameplay and graphics are elegantly simple

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17am

There's a lot of gameplay here for what are ostensibly very simple controls; I like how much trying to not-shoot the cats adds to it, and you did a good job of conveying the feeling of going ever deeper, and being increasingly in danger.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18am

It is too easy to laser things you don't mean to, but otherwise a very good effort.

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48am

I think I just shot a kitten... Oh noez.

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Really nice. Remarkably complete.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:13am

Very very silly and very very fun
Rest in piece all the cat-miners that I accidentally lazored ;_;

Phyyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:15am

you made me kill a cat. and then die from burnification. but this game is awesome! 5/5 for innovation and theme!

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:26am

Great game, with great atmosphere!

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:31am

Really nice art style. Fun to play too!

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:36am

"There better not be grues" haha that is fantastic. Having said that: worst game ever - WHO LETS ME KILL ADORABLE CATS ON ACCIDENT? That is WICKED and MESSED UP. :( I'm sorry I swear I didn't mean it kittens, I swear it wasn't my fault :(

Besides the obvious cruelty of the game, it was really well put together - I got burninated the first play through at around 3000 and decided to try again, this time cheating (because it's okay to cheat against anyone who makes you kill kittens.) I... got burninated again like 30 seconds in >< The gameplay is great, moving and shooting feels smooth (although too smooth, poor kittens) - and it's overall pretty good. Great entry with great humor!

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:37am

Definitely one of the better entries I've seen. It was definitely a harder option. I would have preferred different controls for moving vs. attacking... so often I either killed cats myself or stepped on a monster instead of shooting it. Still, it's very well done, especially for 72 hours.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice job! The gameplay is very funny!

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10am

Yeah, I was definitely the leading cause of death for these kitties.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Really neat rogue-like. Very fun to play! I kept shooting cats, ahhhhh

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:41am

Nice game :)

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:45pm

The poor kitties died so easily. I am scarred from killing the first kitty that appeared because I thought it was an enemy. Now I can't sleep at night. The dreams haunt my slumber in the space mines.

davidwparker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:43pm

I dig it. Good use of theme, controls were good, graphics and sound. Liked it all overall.

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

Haha I love the sounds, I killed a kitty by accident though :(
fun game!

DraKlaW says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:20am

perhaps left click could only fire on hostil or neutral tiles, not auto fire on kitties. Very fun also.

loxo says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Great game with lots of details, nice graphics, audio and atmosphere. The game fits the theme well and is fun to play.

udo says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:57am

Love it! You made the kind of game I wish I could have made...

klianc09 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Really fun, but also traumatizing.

NO KITTY, WHY DO YOU HAVE TO DIE?! :(

thaaks says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:17pm

I like this game a lot. The laser sound is a bit annoying but everything else is well done.
The controls, the graphics, enemies - all fit nicely.
Great idea for the given theme.

jesse0michael says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:17am

Wow! Had a lot of fun! :)

jsmars says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:55am

Really nice job, I accidentally killed a kitten! :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:02am

Fun, and challenging! The level generator is a bit buggy, so things spawn in walls. It's scary when you go down a level and hear the kitties dying.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]