Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yellow Submarine Treasure Hunt

by Danvil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Salvage the treasure and surface before oxygen is running out. Beware of evil tentacles!

Move your submarine with WASD. Grab treasure by lowering the hook (left mouse), grapping (middle mouse), and pulling the hook up (right mouse).

Alternative controls: Arrow keys to move and f/g/h for hook

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#308Theme3.55
#315Mood3.28
#384Graphics3.42
#467Fun3.11
#507Audio2.85
#517Overall3.21
#613Innovation2.97
#782Humor2.13

Comments

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:02am

Interesting.. Cool Idea!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

Very nice ! The graphics are impressive, the fishes all moving together, the hook mechanic, really interesting !

LTyrosine says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice game! Really liked it after learned how to control things. Would love to see it turned in a full product.

Congrats

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Interesting game. I loved digging treasure out of piles of rock!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:12pm

It's a nice entry, although a bit clumsy with controls. Fishes are impressive, and the idea is kind of fun. Too many rocks, tho!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Well Done. the sfx of the oxygen level or hull being low (the droning pulse) is a great sound. i want it.

Spaceoff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

This was actually pretty awesome, loved the atmosphere in this, and the game was simple but still pretty addicting.

Could've done with a music track though

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Surprising amount of fun. I thought it was awesome when the grappling hook whipped back and destroyed me :P. It does damage to you if you just pull it in too far, too, though.

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

hooking mechanism was a liitle hard, but nice idea and nice mood. the arms grabbing you were really good :)

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:25am

really nice! love the mood. you could totally make this into a geat mobile game

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:28am

what a great atmosphere! the gameplay and graphics were pretty charming :)

Jamcount says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Fun game, nice audio.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Good atmosphere & mecanisms !

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Interesting play mechanic. Nice submission!

pragmascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:54pm

really liked this one. very atmospheric / zen-like ;)

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Nicely stylised graphics and I like the hooking mechanism. It's a shame you can't pull the purple creatures out of the ground!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

On the web version, right click keeps bringing up the context menu. It's also really hard to see what, if anything, I have grabbed until I pull it to me, especially when the gold is buried amidst rocks.

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:03pm

@Empyrealhell: That seems to be a bug with itch.io :( Until I find a workaround, you can use the alternative controls: Arrow keys and F/G/H to control the hook.

Switchbreak says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:54am

Fun game! I got 387. The background graphics are really neat looking, though that sub could use some work.

May 2, 2014 @ 12:57am

Nice cool game. Very unique.

wdebowicz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Cool atmosphere, nice concept.

TobiasW says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:48pm

The hook mechanics are pretty cool, although I often grabbed a stone that was lying right next to the chests/crates. Great atmosphere!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]