Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shifter

by Spaceoff - Jam Entry

A dungeon-crawl/block puzzle hybrid game.

Ended up shorter than intended, so you'll have to forgive the sudden difficulty space-elevator at the end.


Controls:
WASD/Arrows to move
Z/Shift = shift
X/Space = attack

Credits:
Josh Coughran (Maple) - mapledev.net
- Artwork, sound, music
Rory Higgins (Spaceoff) - spaceoffz@gmail.com
- Programming, level design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Overall(Jam)3.65
#128Mood(Jam)3.64
#150Fun(Jam)3.41
#161Graphics(Jam)3.94
#212Audio(Jam)3.41
#273Innovation(Jam)3.24
#334Theme(Jam)3.24
#544Humor(Jam)2.13
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Loved the graphics. Those blood splatters were really cool!

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

I enjoyed it, though i am terrible at it. The transitions between underworld and regular were tremendous

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:26pm

I gave up on the first level after the tutorial - getting the red things into the alleyways towards the buttons was really hard and every time I would finally get them there they'd either get pushed slightly too close to the fire forcing me to re-do it, or I'd walk into the fire and die. Maybe there is a trick to getting them through those but since they slide so much they just slide right by the doorways :(

Other than that, it's a fun and competent entry. Good job!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Really interesting puzzle mechanics here. Took me a bit until I understood how to make it work, but the implementation is solid so it helped me not to get stuck. Graphics are a blast although some contrast on important stuff (like buttons and statues) would be welcome. The audio is pretty nice too!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Interesting take on the block puzzle concept. Easy to retrieve blocks that I accidentally push into corners, too.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33pm

The two-part puzzles are awesome! I also really liked the blood-spatter. Normally, I'm not into the gratuitous depiction of blood, but it works here.

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Very polished looking game. I felt it was sorta cheap to keep the player from shifting during some combat moments though.

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Wow great mechanics,very solid concepts here! had a little trouble killing things without getting hit but maybe Im just bad :p

XenosNS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:37am

Very nice. Love the atmosphere, music and look of the game.

xevozfighter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51am

Really nice game. Quite enjoyed it.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

Some of this is really tricky because of the collision with walls and such, but other than that... really great game! The art and audio create an awesome mood, and like others have said, the blood splatters are great. Good job on the fire/water animations. The light/dark switch is also a cool way to link the theme. Good work!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:36am

nice take on the theme and the artstyle/animations look good

Blokatt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:31am

I really enjoyed this.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Very nicely made. Love the general smooth feeling this game has to everything you do and interact with. Most of my points go to fun!

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:18pm

nice Idea and Game

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:17am

I liked this very much. It has a lot of cool stuff (fighting monsters, solving puzzles and shifting between worlds) and it just plays and looks good.

Melondonut says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

I love the graphic and the idea was good.

Gwinnell says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Controls are a little slippery. I could hit the enemies through walls too (though that was actually to my benefit). I couldn't get past level 3/4 (the symmetrical level with the two slimes and two fire things) - stuck. :( That said, the art is a bit awesome isn't it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]