Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kontroise

by edibletoaster - Jam Entry

Sure it doesn't really fit the theme anymore, but the failed prototypes and versions this went through was directly influenced by the theme.

Control the latest in the line of Space Quellers, which exist to stabilize the area around space stations using projectile drill technology.



Stabilize all 6 areas if you can!

Controls: Arrow Keys to move, Ctrl to Space Drift, Shift to Fire Drills

Works best in Chrome. Chrome includes a text to speech thing that will alert you of things so you don't have to read the top status bar. Works fine everywhere else. Never tested in Internet Explorer.


NOTE: IF YOU AREN'T USING CHROME IT MAY NOT BE TOO OBVIOUS WHEN AN AREA IS STABLE. CHECK THE DISTURBANCE BAR AT THE TOP AND IF IT'S EMPTY SEEK THE EXIT. WILL TRY TO MAKE IT EASIER IN A FUTURE VERSION


Edit: Added post compo edition which currently only adds a bit more polish and additional control options. Changelog in game


Highly recommend Fullscreen mode. Press F11 to go to fullscreen mode in your browser.



Controls: Arrow Keys to move, Ctrl to Space Drift, Shift to Fire Drills

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#12Audio(Jam)4.29
#176Fun(Jam)3.33
#272Mood(Jam)3.26
#344Overall(Jam)3.26
#395Innovation(Jam)2.96
#471Humor(Jam)2.32
#499Graphics(Jam)3.04
#742Theme(Jam)1.78

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11am

Audio is fantastic. I really liked this game. Perhaps the ship could have been a little more responsive? Slow to turn and all. Can easily see this being a bigger game with more things to shoot/dodge (need tighter controls) etc. Very well done. Ran smooth and nice, too.

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12am

I liked the use of a real voice. Also the warp effects were really nice. It seemed hard to turn the ship and shoot what I wanted. But it's always nice playing a top down bullet hell game :)

Spotline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16am

Very nice, I loved the integration of the IA voice and the visual effects for disturbances. I couldn't get very far though, as the controls were very difficult for me (and the drift stops when i shoot..)

Nyyman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26am

Awesome audio, clever use of Google Chrome features and the graphics are ok, however all the special effects are fantastic! Really liked it.

Detocroix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47am

Haha, my cat went crazy from the start of the level sound :D

Simplistic, but enjoyable :)

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03am

Really nice audio

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11am

Audio and visuals really work well together! The ripple effects also are really nice. Best game i've seen so far at creating a mood.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

The effects are really impressive, and the drift was a clever feature. I didn't find it comfortable to keep pressing shoot while holding drift though.

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30am

The audio design is awesome, the controls need more responsiveness though.

Nizar89 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Great special effects and audio! I liked to control this little ship.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Very cool, the drift was almost essential, gets a bit tricky with the moving disturbances.

Great audio, really fit well and added a lot.

Can't really think of anything to critique, the main issue I had in the beginning was finding the extraction point, until I noticed that it panned from the extraction point at the beginning of the levels.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Your graphics and screen effects especially are gorgeous, and the sound is perfect!

rojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:51pm

The controls were a bit tough for me for some reason, but the disturbances looked pretty cool, and the music set up some nice ambience.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01am

I don't think it was mentionned anywhere that shift was the shoot button, or I missed it; was ramming the disturbance until I got the hull critical message. Oops.

Half Asteroids, half bullet hell, half exploration. Dunno how it adds up, but I like it. Good job!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:40am

The audio created an awesome atmosphere. Great work overall!

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:46am

Great ... nice audio, good graphicsstyle, controlls are working ... got shot down by disturbances ... :D

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Windows keeps asking me if I want to turn on sticky keys when I press shift and I can't attack. I think you should change the keys.

Using a computer reader as a voice was a great idea, it fits with the space theme very well.

Crefossus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Great fun after figuring out how to use the space drift/strafe properly. Spot on difficulty ramp throughout levels. I enjoyed the fancy effects with nice graphics and the integration of text to speech for a futuristic game.

On theme: would be interesting to see the failed prototypes (I'm assuming the space drill was first from a digging/underground proto?)

ramoncb says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I liked what I played, nice audio and screen effects for sure !

I liked the gameplay and controls too, but can't go further;
was my fault, I'm so bad when fighting the disturbances xD

(sorry my english ^^')

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Very well done sound and music. Good sounds really pulls you into a game. Drifting was a cool idea, and seemed like it worked pretty well.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Woah this was something different.
Very nice and simple graphics.
And the gameplay really comes through...

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Very nice game. As you said it doesn't fit with the theme but who cares, the game is very fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:18pm

really like the game - i like the computer talking to you - the shift key was a bad choice for shooting - windows kept telling me i had sticky keys - everything else was good - great job

NeiloGD says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:03am

This is pretty awesome. Audio is very nicely done, controls are pretty good, visual effects fit really nicely!

Managore says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:50am

Strafing made this into a really fun game! Great work!

csanyk says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:20am

Sound is amazing. Game is difficult. I think it was a little too difficult, faster turn speed, and more inertia would help the feel of the controls

May 15, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Pretty nice graphics and effects. More particles and effects would have made it look even better. E.g. parallax stars in the background or something.

The controls could use some tweaking, and if I'm not mistaken that's what you've done in the post-compo version.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]