Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warpigs

by sorceress - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About
========
My take on the theme 'beneath the surface' was to harvest a resource that's sparsely distributed underground, and for that to be the basis of an economy.

I chose pigs foraging for truffles, because I thought it would be hilarious seeing an army of pigs strip mining the land!

Alas I didn't manage to write all of the features I wanted in the game in 48hrs, so the following things were left out:

- Minimap does not function.
- No fog-of-war / visibility mask.
- No base construction nor repairs to damaged buildings.
- The range of sound effects is limited, and sadly I didn't have time to add unit responses "yes m'lord?" etc, which I really wanted to :(
- No pathfinding about the environment, which meant no collision detection with the environment either, otherwise the CPU player would get stuck.
- The AI for the CPU player is too simple and easy to defeat.


Controls
========
- Mouse, and Keyboard for the camera


Things to note
===============
- Diverse array of animated units to play with.
- Move/Attack orders can be directly targeted at other units, or targeted at world points. Auto-attack behaviour for idle units.
- Buildings allow purchase of units, upgrades to unit stats, and unlockable spells.
- Combat system sees weapon damage reduced by armor. Reload timers for weapons. A simple particle system shows projectiles, impacts, and unit death. Screen shake is added for cannon fire.
- I spent about 20 minutes at the end trying to balance the game better, and arranging the buildings more logically.


Notices
========
- This application uses FMOD Sound System, copyright (c) Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd.

- I really enjoyed making this game, as I always enjoy Ludum Dare. I hope you will all enjoy playing it! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#45Overall3.96
#60Humor3.74
#72Fun3.81
#78Audio3.70
#231Graphics3.72
#254Mood3.40
#544Innovation3.08
#935Theme2.75

Comments

papazoot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Your game link doesn't work.
I get "Error 403 It seems you don't belong here! You should probably sign in."

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

I think you don't give it free.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Game looks great, but the download link doesn't work. Was looking forward to seeing another RTS. This one looks a lot more full-featured than my RTS!

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I get a 403 error trying to access the build :(

sorceress says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:47am

Fixed. Dropbox does normally give me a dl.dropboxusercontent.com url. Don't know how I ended up with that other. :/

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34am

Wow pretty cool. AI rushed me with a huge army though but had fun

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09am

Haha thats a nice take on the theme :) Also the first rts Ive seen very well done!

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03am

great job! really so funny =) i liked

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:19am

Nice game! I didn't quite understand what i was meant to be doing though :(

Jed T. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:22am

Very impressive feat! you're probably the most productive dev in ludum dare you've made so many assets and mechanics in 48hrs

j_peeba says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:33am

Very nice game! It's very challenging but it's okay: I still want to play it again to see if I can beat the enemy horde.

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:36am

This game looks really interesting, but it's really unbalanced. There is no way to survive the first 5 minutes. Also, it's not really linked to the theme, the only thing underground is the pigs' nose.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:36am

A surprising amount of content here for 48 hours work. I wasn't very good at the game, but then I never was very good at Warcraft 3 either. :)

I found the controls a little awkward (having to scroll with the arrow keys), and the 'g' hotkey on the farmers didn't seem to work.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:41am

Really liked it, looks great and is fun to play!

sorceress says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:55am

Thanks for the feedback :)
Tititesouris: I disagree that the game is so imbalanced. It is fast paced though, so you can't hang about!
cageinabird: Unfortunately not all of the hotkeys were added.

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Where's the source code ?

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22pm

The first games are frustrating, but once you understand the enemy AI the game is nice (a little bit too easy ?). I really liked the speed of the game, you can't spare a minute. Congrats !

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Great entry, especially since Warcraft is one of my favorite game!

whendricso says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Wonderful! Loved this one!

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Loved the music, and there is an impressive amount of stuff to do, but the game itself dumped you into the action way too fast without any explanation. A gentler, event based ramp would definitely be better. Tutorialize! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Lot of work on that game.

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:36am

So... you just coded a WarcraftII clone in 48hr?

If I might say so, you're over-leveled for this compo. Please go code elsewhere. This is a place for beginners and dabblers, not ... code-wizards like you!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:52am

Oh my god this is amazing. An entire rts, classic-warcraft-style. The level of detail in this is amazing.

Plus all the nice creatures and enemy AI and there's a sorceress! :D

Excellent work. Seriously, this gets 5 stars in a lot of categories :)

dector says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Very nice entry. What about easy AI settings for noobs like me? :)

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I had a very hard time playing this game. I think it should be a bit slower, giving a chance to the player to actually learn what it's all about. Still fun, but hard!

camlang says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:39am

Nice one! Classic rts feel, but strange choice of control scheme - the need to switch to keyboard to move the camera is frustrating. Overall fun to play!

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:49pm

This was really great! I'm amazed you managed to make a Warcraft clone in 48 hours. It's missing several important features of course, but it's still quite impressive. Also, that music was awesome! I played it twice, and beat it the second time. For anyone having difficulty, the key is to make enough gatherers in the beginning to get your economy going early enough. There were a few quality of life features that would have been nice to have, mainly a better interface, and some things could have been sacrificed in order to have time to add that (for example I never made siege units, they weren't really necessary). But overall, this was really well done, nice work!

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:15am

It was very ambitious, and you make a lot of things, impressive!
I like the idea of people who eat only truffles.
A good entry!

Moosefly says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:02pm

This was awesome. +1/+0 Fighter rush kekekekekekekekekekeke!

Joona@MooseflyGames

Ace says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Really, really impressed with just how much artwork and mechanics you've got done for this.

May 8, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Sadly lacking in witty selection one-liners. "Poink me in the right direction!" Cough.

Neat idea with the truffles as a resource, but unless the tiles "respawned" after a while, it would lead to obvious strategic issues. Good enough for the blitz warfare we've got here, though.

Overall fun, fast-paced and challenging. As is, almost feels like a puzzle: "Find the holes in the AI's behaviour!"

May 11, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Really nice graphics! I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! :) http://youtu.be/7oB_8pUypJo

bucketh3ad says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Surprisingly complete and well executed given the scope of the game. The enemy AI could be a little less aggressive, as I found myself overwhelmed early in my first two attempts while I was still trying to figure out how to play. It is difficult to manage units without control groups, so I usually end up making a large patrol for defense and sending out smaller raiding parties. Still, in spite of any issues, this is a great casual RTS.

May 15, 2014 @ 12:35am

Loved the art, very complete game, lot of work for 48 hours congratz!

Jason Lay says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:35am

Wow, you put a lot of effort into this in a short amount of time. With a little more polish this could be great!!!!

dertom says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:46am

Nice game! cool graphics and music! I actually did suck playing but it was fun! Good job! Too bad you get disqualified due to not providing sourcecode.

udo says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:16pm

That was probably the best game I've played this LD, well worth firing up Windows for! Only the mouse pointer was a bit sluggish, though that might be due to me running it in a VM. Everything, the graphics, the music, the animations, it was perfect - and all that as a compo entry!!!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Cute and funny artwork!

May 15, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Very ambitious goal, and a nice job at achieving that. Definitely needed some kind of communication of what you were supposed to do at first. It also seemed way too hard to me, but I think that mostly came down to me not really understanding how the pigs worked.

bushmango says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:52pm

I'm amazed you were able to get so much done in 48 hours! Also where is the src!

soy_yuma says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Great game. Really really good! I don't want to calculate how many hours did you sleep during the LD... but the result is awesome! Well done!

May 21, 2014 @ 4:12pm

You are featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XHVUTcGVqg

joe40001 says ...
May 22, 2014 @ 10:38am

Because of the youtube video, I tried out the game...

Um, it is by no stretch of the imagination easy. Who thought the game was easy? It is just about impossible. :O

sorceress says ...
May 22, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Harvest as close to the market hall as possible. Get about 13 pigs asap. Then buy 5 archers. Then send them to fight! Don't let units die. Always remove injured to safety and let them heal. Buy replacements. Mix it up with other units to see how they work in combination.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]