Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stick Escape

by Jase - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi.

You're a stick man/woman.

You're being chased by something. Something.. underneath the surface.

Look, shut up, just keep running and don't touch any of the weird appendages that appear in your path, okay?

:)

** Requires .NET 4.0 **

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#302Graphics3.59
#433Fun3.15
#457Audio2.91
#470Overall3.26
#530Mood3.00
#892Humor1.96
#962Innovation2.52
#1197Theme2.03

Comments

Sannis says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 4:42pm

That is cool! Love the camera rotating. And the simplicity of the graphics.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

Awesome runner game :D

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

well this is pretty good, nice style. it was giving me deju vu or flashbacks or something... D:

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

Liked the color cycling of the environment. Simple mechanic but nice to play. Is there an actual win condition or is this poor fellow forced to run forever?

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53am

Reminds me of Vector, one of my favourite mobile games (check it out if you haven't seen it). Well done!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39am

Great job! Music is really what stands out in this game.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Well-polished game with a clean, minimalist art style. I like it! A cool take on endless runner games.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

Great game, pixel perfect timing was fun! I couldn't get enough. Art style is brilliant. I could picture this as a iOS game, swipe up / swipe down to jump / slide.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Really sweet game!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Nice. Gets a bit repetitive though :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

This is great!

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

Cool game but it's repetitive though.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Good Runner, and nice graphices. The theme is more than light though

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Very well done! I love rotation! This game is great, but it's too hard for me.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Nice that the camera is rotation. Nice game.

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Really slick presentation, simple but very effective.

Though it is a little repetitive, perhaps it should get faster as the player progresses. Though the rotation effect does break up the monotony a little bit!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]