Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Down

by Lost King - Jam Entry

Woo hoo, just barely made it in.

This is Down, a pixelated platformer. Production was pretty hasty, even with it being for LD so I had to drop some ideas. To be expected I guess.

Controls:
Move Left/Right - Left/Right Arrow keys
Jump - Space
Interact - Enter

Audio credit goes to my friend Kwaze.
Coding and design was done by myself using Java with LWJGL.
*EDIT: Seems it is working on Mac, might mean it works on Linux too, still might mean it doesn't work on everything, sorry if it doesn't work for you.
Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#268Audio(Jam)3.29
#296Mood(Jam)3.21
#388Theme(Jam)3.13
#465Graphics(Jam)3.15
#512Humor(Jam)2.21
#587Overall(Jam)2.82
#671Innovation(Jam)2.29
#716Fun(Jam)2.10

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

an interesting game, I got stuck in the room with the guy asking me why I had come there.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

That's the end. It's a little shorter than I was aiming for, and I didn't get around to making a game over screen. I was a little pressed for time during production.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27am

wow, very interesting! the graphics are to my liking, and the music is preetty greeat!
very mysterious :D

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

Game felt like it needed a bit more testing, there's a few bugs (you can cling and permanently hover in the air if you hit your head on a wall and hold the jump button doing so, and I ended up getting stuck at a portion where the ground was turning to grass, my character didn't seem to spawn or appear). The music was nice, but overall it was a little bit simple. It's not a bad thing! It just feels like it could have used a little bit more in the game (unless more lies beyond the point I couldn't progress). Cheers for the game!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

Music was interesting! Not sure what the blue haired character was about, kept it mysterious.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

You know, I'm a big fan of wandering through caves, but there may have been a bit TOO much wandering through caves. I think some of the middle could've been cut. I guess I made it to an end, though I don't know if it was the right one? The atmosphere was quite nice and the music was great.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

love the mood, nice music, very emersive,
looking for something scary to happen

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

I'm not sure exactly what it is about it, but I love the graphical style here. The MSPaintyness of it doesn't hurt it because of the interesting poses the characters have and the great color pallet used. Also the music is neat.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Wow, this was a really cool concept! The mood was great, and the system you use where you can't quite tell who's speaking is a really interesting narrative choice, especially in the final room. That warbly, ghost-like clarinet solo and chants in the background gave a certain pizzaz! However, I didn't feel like there was much game in your game, if you know what I mean. There was a lot of concept, but I would have enjoyed more of a challenge.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:21am

Mixed feelings on this one. I liked the visuals and the atmosphere, but would have liked to see a few more paths to explore or something to provide a challenge.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56am

This was awesome, I liked the atmosphere. The music was awesome, reminded me of gnomish music from WoW. The graphics were nice, although animations would've been appreciated. There's also some bugs: I was able to levitate in multiple places by holding space down, and I had to stop playing because when going to a room, the player character never appeared on the screen.

Keep up the good work! :)

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Neat but Beautiful graphic ... but a little bit confusing

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39am

Kind of ended abruptly, but other than that, the mood was awesome

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Beautiful art. Great game.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

The art was great. I especially liked the use of varying vignettes for different parts of the cave, and the backgrounds were very well done.

I'm not sure if I got to the end or not, but I was stuck in a room with a guy. Overall it was a solid game, but a little confusing.

Note:
To get it to work (on Mac OS X Mavericks) I had to rename the native file "liblwjgl.jnilib" to "liblwjgl.dylib" maybe this will help someone else.

frankbsad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:09am

I don't know if I finished it or not :s

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41pm

This looks promising ! I was exploring the cave but at some point my character didn't appear on the screen (where there is an old naked guy ??).

hissssssssss says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:06am

Like others have said, there are some jumping glitches (able to stick to the walls and ceiling, jump height seems to vary).
I wish that some of the middle rooms had been cut in favor of working out a few of those glitches.

broepi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:26pm

love how I can stick and sweep on the ceiling.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]