Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital Burrow

by Make A Game - Jam Entry

"Orbital Burrow" is a game about fending off waves of moles from outer space!

You are a Planet and you're getting invaded by moles and spacedrills!
Use the power of the elements to change your ecosystem and extinguish the threat!
Or bash their ships with your Moon before they land!


TIP!
Press 1 to switch between 640x360 and 1280x720 resolutions.


WARNING!
There's a bug that causes an invincible drill to spawn.
We apologize if it happens to you and we're doing our best to fix it.

We really recommend that you download and play the Windows version if you're able to, thank you!


How to Play:
- Press Left or Right to move the Moon.
- Double tap Left or Right to make the Moon dash.
- You can dash into incoming spacedrills!
- Use W, A, S, D to destroy the drills with the power of the Elements.
- Protect the core of the Planet or it's Game Over!

Known Bugs:
- Drills might ignore if another drill is already digging and try to land on the same spot.
- If a drill lands on the same spot as another drill, it will be invincible to attacks.
- Some sounds may repeat themselves, others might not even play.
- Used Elemental Attack doesn't show on the Combo bar on the bottom right of the screen.
- HTML5 version has some particle issues.
- HTML5 version doesn't properly reset the music, it's best to refresh the page on each restart.


Missing/Disabled Features:
- Elemental Attack Combos.
- Experience Orbs and Elemental Attack Upgrades.
- Mole interaction and Terraforming.
- Points and Score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#34Innovation(Jam)3.90
#40Graphics(Jam)4.45
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#48Overall(Jam)3.85
#82Fun(Jam)3.60
#110Mood(Jam)3.72
#121Theme(Jam)3.68
#126Humor(Jam)3.32

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

Amazing game! I had to actually read your listing before I understood what was going on, so perhaps some kind of in-game instructions would be nice. But man, I really love this entry. Fantastic job, and it looks beautiful.

Nimmrod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

The moon is too powerful (Perhaps a slower charge time for the dash would be good) and the spawning for the rockets should definitely increase over time as it seems to plateau. Otherwise I really really liked it, the music and art was awesome and the controls were spot on.

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I also missed the ingame instructions! It is a great beautiful game! Very good job.

Make A Game says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Sorry everyone, we're adding the game instructions as planned. Pop back in a few days so you can take full advantage of all the bug fixes we're working on. Thank you so much for playing the game!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

A bit too difficult since the elemental attacks didn't seem to work very well (they didn't activate much, despite being ready).

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:15am

SO arcad-ish style, I love it!

DecayConstant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:51am

It looked great and the music fit well. Once you got the hang of it, it was fairly simple to go on forever. I'm sure the disabled feature would have made it more challenging/fun. Nice work :)

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:47am

Super cute graphics!

I really liked it. Some more information on when powers are available or not would be nice in the game itself. Also, what's the combo-box for? All in all, would love to see the next version of this game.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I made it to 3:03. It becomes suddenly hard, also I didn't really understood the rules about climate change, sometimes it seemed not to work. The art style is splendid, everything moves well, dashing into spacecraft feels very rewarding.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Great visuals, congrats!

Make A Game says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Thank you everyone for playing! I hope you liked it enough to try it again since we finally fixed a bunch of bugs!

Menus are now accessible, screen now shakes, particles finally work, and we ported the game to HTML5!

Have fun!

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:11pm

very cute :D

pbsds says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Love the graphics and the general artstyle, a highly addictive game

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:25am

Great game, but really hard!

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:28am

great job. it ran slow for me (maybe my connection issues) so that kinda got in the way, but it's a great looking game

zdonkeyx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:29am

Great entry, I really love that you put the dashing mechanic in this game. It felt really good to knock the drills away.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:49am

Nice game. I want to play it more :)

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:20pm

@sharpcoder & @renatopp: We got the How to Play screen working now! :)

@Nimmrod: Yep, we'll be looking into tweaking all those numbers for a post Jam version.

@LukeZaz: It might have been because of an input buffer we had when you'd be able to do element combinations, which was on when it should have been off, since the combos aren't implemented.

@Jod: Our plan was to give the player the power to combo elements to create natural disasters and terraform the planet slices. We got too ambitious. :D

@MrShoestore: Actually, we just found a bug in the HTML5 version that keeps the game from resetting properly. Might have been be that. Sorry!

May 3, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Outstanding game, very polished and quite fun. Great job.

Zccc says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:55pm

That was amazing! Once you finish it will definitely be more fun, good job!

nesis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Solid, fun game with plenty of polish. A lot of work must've been put into this!

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Great little game! wish the feedback on which weapons are ready was a bit clearer though. I don't like having to look away every second to see how much they've all charged. great raphics, sound, gameplay, and all that. Really well done! Would make a good mobile game.

Pixlexia says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:04pm

This is one of the best entries this LD! Gameplay is unique and fun, art is really cute and well-polished. The controls feel really good as well. I especially like the theme use in this one. Awesome work!

Junber says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Very cool game. Seemed to freeze at the restart screen but sound started to play.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I lasted 3:41! The audio and graphics were fantastic. I hope you finish implementing the rest of the features of your game. The WASD defenses felt a bit arbitrary after a while, as I got a little button-mashy. Still very fun, and the music was great. Nice work.

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Pretty damn near perfect. Five stars on all fronts.

borrismoose says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Such lovely presentation, I hope you get the chance to take it further and do more with it. The only gripe I have is some balancing issues but that's often the case with such a short deadline.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:11pm

@BrothersT: Good point, we forgot to add the sound for when each button is ready to be used.

@borrismoose: Yeah, it needs a lot of balancing, right now the drills just keep on spawning faster and faster until they hit a fixed speed value. Our best time is around 6:40 but we kept losing to that dumb invincible drill bug.

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Really cool game! good job! :D

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:02am

Fun game! I love the graphics, and the utilization of the 4 elements. You did a great job, though I do agree with a lot of people's comments about the plateauing difficulty.

Monoquartz says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:06am

Beautiful game ! I love the graphics and music. Nice job ;D

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:52am

Really cool game, neat graphics, the gameplay was fun and quite original too! I lasted 3:27!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:04am

I really like the visual presentation of the game, and I felt like the choice to display some things as HUD and some things as visual cues worked quite well.

I think that by completely ignoring the dash mechanic you can essentially play forever. I was simply using my four powers to stop the innermost drills and then waiting for the next batch to get close and my powers to recharge. It was working perfectly and then I decided to play around with dashing... needless to say it ruined the tempo I had going and ultimately ended in my losing the game. :)

kristof says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:26am

The visuals, sounds and music feel very polished. Very good work. The gameplay itself got a bit boring after a while. Maybe add some random events to keep things interesting. Also the game slowed down quite a bit at the end. Could I have done something against the hordes of people on the surface? Still a fun entry!

soy_yuma says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Great graphics and great audio! I finished letting the planet die at minute 7.30 :-(

TijmenTio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I loooooove those visuals!!!! This could really turn into something great!
As of now, the gameplay does get somewhat stale after about 5 minutes. But I saw what you are planning in the how-to-play screen and it looks promising ;) Also, cool take on the theme and I really liked the music, but the mole sound effects did get a bit irritating after a while :p

Anyhow, great job, one of my favorite jam entries!

May 6, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Really nice game! Awesome graphics as well. I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, If you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/xKijfGbEYtc

Candyhandy says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Amazingly beautiful game, i like everything about it, most specifically the theme.

epiplon says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

It's pretty and well done, but I didn't like it. Drills keep coming faster and faster and you can't manage the resource's recharge speed. Dashing also have cooldown and doesn't help that much. You just wait until it goes to an inevitable defeat and you feel powerless as time pass by.

Luis Anton says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:46am

Great idea, but difficult as hell!! I am seldom able to destroy a spaceship with the moon, then things get hectic! XD Awesome.

frogcheese says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Cool idea, great graphics and a sweet tune. And crushing invaders with the moon is really cathartic! I managed to keep going for almost seven minutes. With a bit more development, this could turn into something really awesome.

mortus says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:55am

I love the visual side of the game and all the small things that are not working right now but were, presumably, going to work in a full game. I would like to play this game after some more development, nice work!

mcapraro says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:39pm

i really like the mechanic in this game, well done!

shadow64 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:22am

I really enjoyed playing this. I thought it was well put together and the art style and sound were both great. If I could make a suggestion it would be to have their be some kind of noise to let you know when each power was ready to use again.

I sort of picked up skills as I went, so I didn't realize you could bash things with the moon at first, but once I did, I enjoyed it. Overall I made it to 3:33 which I thought wasn't too bad - reading other people's scores, it seems I did quite well.

Nice game, well done. :) Thanks for sharing!

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Incredible work. Awesome graphics, concept and audio.

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:47am

Fun, but it was a bit confusing at first. Also I was confused which direction to double tap to make the moon dash. Probably just me though. :P

rincewind_cz says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:49am

Good looking entry. I've had to read the manual first, but then it was fun.. :)

TeamFlare says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Wow great jib. This feels like a really round game concept. Louged the art and the way of presentation.

May 15, 2014 @ 8:47pm

A bit dull at first, but once it gets frantic it's pretty fun. I never quite understood when I could use the different powers, as it seems the meter didn't have to be full to use it. Also I often dashed by accident, and at first I didn't understand that you can't use the elements right after dashing, which added to the confusion. Apart from that, it's very polished. Good job!

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Amazing game! It's really fun... and so pretty! The gameplay is already a lot fun, can't wait for the post compo version. =D

At first I didn't understand what the tornado does, I thought it wasn't implemented (after reading the tutorial), but that is a nice power, since it's different from the others.

Managore says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:03pm

This game is absolutely amazing! I hope you continue to develop it.

mechabit says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:08pm

lovely graphics

illugion says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:38am

Man, that game is hard haha but I love it ! The graphics are really nice !

jsmars says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:40am

Really sweet game! Awesome graphics sound and concept! Not sure if I completely understood.. would be cool if the different elements did different things to certain types of terrain, and maybe didn't work with some.. (ie earth+water would turn sand into forest.. earth doesn't do anything to a missile in forest, etc)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]